We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fitzwilton Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fitzwilton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fitzwilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,264: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 May 2014

An older hotel but the staff were very friendly and the rooms a good size and the bed was very comfortable. The shower was over the bath which was very deep and a bit hard to get in and out of. There was limited car parking and if you arrived too late in the day you had to park out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trish06_11
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Myself, my sister and two children stayed one night over the Easter holidays. The hotel itself is easy to find with a large car park to the rear. Check in was fast and friendly. Our room had a lovely feature window overlooking the beautiful church opposite and with a view of the river and bridge. The room was clean, comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dsim007
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor. I was very glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and that you managed to take time to absorb the relaxed atmosphere of the "Met Bar". We look forward to welcoming both yourself and your family back to the Fitzwilton in the...

Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, lovely food staff all very friendly will defo be back. The only thing was staff was abit slow food was lovely. Grand size car park. And rooms were so big and spacious. We could open are window for a bit of air. We stayed for 1 night was ment to be 2 and a family emergency came up

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amykimkelly
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor. I was very glad to hear that you found our bedrooms to be "big and spacious". We are undergoing refurbishment of all our accommodation areas, so it is very much appreciated when our guests make such positive comments about the rooms. We look forward to seeing...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We visit Waterford once or twice each year and for the last three years we have always stayed at the Fitzwilton. Excellent location, easy to find from all main routes - 5 min walk to town centre. Spaces have always available in the clean and tidy private covered carpark which is well laid out with security barriers. Staff at reception...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colm23250
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor. It is always very nice to hear such positive and kind comments from our regular guests. I was pleased to read that our generously sized rooms meet your expectations when you stay with us. Our housekeeping staff pride themselves on delivering repeated high levels of cleanliness...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed with some friends in April,after my stay I spoke with the Manager at reception as I had a few issues,the first two were minor,like no sugar in the room for your coffee and no batteries in the tv remote,but the worst was the stink of cigarette smoke outside my room and in it,it was disgusting,I informed the manager...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dean s
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor. I would like to start by saying that we at the Fitzwilton Hotel operate a very strict no smoking policy. This does not unfortunately mean that people abide by this at all times. Our procedures in these instances are that we notify the offending guests, that...

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a two night stay with dinner included. Our room was nice, furniture a bit dated though. breakfast was self service the usual fried breakfast. Had dinner in the restaurant was very nice also. The scones in the bar are fab well worth a try! The car park has very limited spaces so we parked at the quays just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maud11_12
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor. I was very glad that you took the opportunity while staying with us to try our award winning restaurant "Chez K's". Our chefs take great care in preparing all our pastry's and scones freshly on a daily basis. It is then very much appreciated when such...

dublin
Reviewed 15 April 2014

we returned for a second visit to the hotel to see had there been any inprovement the check in was fine and professional the room was very good we decided to go for the penthouse as it was on special offer and was glad we did was real treat the last visit we had here we had problems with the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DublinBilko
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on trip advisor. We were very glad to welcome you back to the Fitzwilton recently, and that you allowed us an opportunity to improve on your initial impression. I have passed on your kind comments regarding the service and quality of food that you experienced whilst staying with...

Ireland
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hotel is ok, but certainly no 4 star. Average 3 star at best. The rooms are clean but very small, we had "larger executive room". Hate to see the average or small one .. Breakfasts was ok not a huge choice and again 3 star hotel standard at best. Car park is very tight and limited spaces

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrekIrish
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed recently on a Sunday night on a deal. Warm friendly welcome from the lad on reception. Room nice and clean and very good showers. Bar quiet but it was a Sunday night. Good selection at breakfast. Value for money and would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JRWexford
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel on trip advisor. I was glad to hear that you received a warm friendly welcome upon check in, and I have passed your kind comments onto the reception team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Dominic Operations Manager

Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived Saturday as part of a Groupon deal. Check in was smooth. Room was small but we were told at check in. We had a 2 year old with us which when we unpacked all his toys and stuff it made the room smaller. To be honest it didn't bother us at all as we have stayed in smaller. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Discsaber
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford on tripadvisor. I was very glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us. We have designed our breakfast buffet to make the most of local and homemade produce, including all our own homemade breads and jams. I was also very glad that you found our staff...

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (192)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
1.3 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,074 reviews
0.5 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,197 reviews
1.1 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,103 reviews
4.3 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.1 km away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Chez - K's Restaurant
Chez - K's Restaurant
Cuisines: Irish, European, French
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Price Range: $86 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fitzwilton Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Ennis, Ireland
6 months ago
4 months ago
5 months ago
Dublin, Ireland

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Fitzwilton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“always check your bed sheets to see if they have been changed when you arrived.”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Look for top floor”
 of 5 bubbles Tony19602013, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are first class all ensuite with Tea/Coffe facilities”
 of 5 bubbles terrycT4944VM, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check when there are functions and if so ask for a room up and to the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles LizM30, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 401”
  • Finish around the sink
  • Poorly finished shower fixings
  • Poorly finished shower fixings
  • Broken socket beside the bed
  • Finish around the sink
  • Very bright TV light
 of 5 bubbles Token-Irish-Guy, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5