We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fitzwilton Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fitzwilton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fitzwilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,275: English reviews
dublin
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night for New years eve, check in was fine and the bar seemed quite lively as you would expect for new years eve, we went to our room which was perfectly acceptable, clean and fresh and nice bathroom although missing that nice 4 star look. Room a bit warm so needed window opened. Went down to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank suzykDublin
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Suzy, thank you for your review. I am happy you found the bar, your room and check in to be fine/acceptable. I am sorry however that you were left disappointed that there were kids in the bar. I have checked our numbers and we had 7 kids in house that night. That said, children should not be in the...

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Lovely room, bit warm but you would get over that. Loads of fluffy towels, very nice receptionist checking in, bar is awesome serving some lovely cocktails that tasted amazing. Taking a point away as the room was boiling.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SMinihane
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Reviewer, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford. I am sorry to see your room was too hot for you and hope this did not infringe too much on your stay/sleep. I am happy however to see that all other aspects of your stay were pleasant. I will be delighted to...

cork
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here for the weekend with our two children. Room was clean & fresh. Breakfast was great plenty of things for the children to eat. We asked for extra pillows and got them no problem. Staff very helpful and friendly. Waterford was great went there to meet Santa at wintervale. the children had a great weekend and we would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa1cork
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Lisa, thank you for your glowing review. I am thrilled to read that the entire family enjoyed their visit to the Fitzwilton Hotel and also got to experience the wonderful Winterval Festival. I will be more than happy to pass your kind words to all of the team here. Thank you once again for taking the time to review...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Just back from one night stay with dinner and breakfast amazing hotel great location walking distance to everything. Food was lovely sticky tofffie pudding was delish. Staff were very helpfull. Room was very modern and clean. Alot to do in Waterford museums are a must see. Great time of year alot of Christmas activitys. Will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SarahDublin92
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing stay at the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford. I am delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to the oldest city in Ireland. I will be more than happy to pass your kind words to our helpful staff and also to our team in the kitchen....

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Basically the worst hotel ever, very poor customer service, they wouldn't feed us, management refused to do anything about it even we though we were paying guests. A four star hotel doesn't have torn and shabby bed linen and uncomfortable beds or sockets in the room that don't work and showers that run hot and cold with a dirty curtain....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matt M
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Matt, I am sorry to read your stay was so disappointing for you. I am aware we were very very busy at the time you requested a table with Christmas parties and such (which is no excuse) so I do sincerely apologise you were not served shortly after your request as this is not acceptable from our point of...

tipperary
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here last night in room 112, The overall hotel was nice but I wouldn't say its a 4 star. In our room there was 2 toilet rolls that only had a few sheets left in them, the shower head was fixed way too high up on the wall, There was no biscuits or sugar in with the kettle...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tipperarymartin
jeffd2009, Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Martin, thank you for taking the time to review your latest visit to the Fitzwilton hotel. I am sorry to read it was not to you expectation. With regards to your condiments and toiletries, these are refreshed after every departure and it is disappointing to read this does not seem to be the case in this instance. I am...

Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 4 days ago, the staff are so so friendly, nothing was a problem, we were going. To a wedding and needed some last minute things, reception staff helped us find the best shops etc we done it in no time. Very good location, and the price was brilliant. Has a bar and a separate restaurant, we went...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fionamarienolan
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Fiona, Thank you for your wonderful review of the Fitzwilton Hotel. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your visit and will be more than happy to pass your praise to our friendly and helpful staff. I will also let the kitchen know how much you enjoyed your meal. Sorry to see the parking was not available to...

Enniscorthy, Ireland
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed Saturday night with my wife when taking a show at theatre royal. Booked an Executive room, as the web site says "Treat Yourselves". Entered the room to find a standard double/twin room, nothing executive looking here,unless maybe the bathrobe and slippers were executive.2 complimentary mini bottles of wine and water but no mini fridge to keep them cool or...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ted923
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ted, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read your stay was not to your satisfaction. Our Executive Rooms come with all the trimmings to make your stay that little more special and I am sorry to see they did not have the desired effect. Also, I am disappointed that the bathroom was not properly stocked as...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed in the Fitzwilton Hotel with friends of ours to celebrate a birthday. The hotel is in a great location with ample parking. The staff were excellent on check in, got us into our room early. The room was spacious and clean. We ate in the restaurant, the food was great but the staff were excellent! We met our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jackie C
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to see that what started out as a pleasant visit and evening with us was marred by a few individuals in the bar area. I am delighted you enjoyed your dining experience and thank you for your kind words relating to our wonderful...

Dublin
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here for my hen party, the accommodation was lovely, there was good craic in the the bar the breakfast was good bar food also good very close walk to all the main streets etc, we really enjoyed it

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 5starsdublin
jeffd2009, Director of Sales at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford City. We are delighted to read you and your colleagues had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed all aspects of your visit. I will happily pass your praise of the bar food to our hard working team in the kitchen. Thank you...

224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (192)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
1.3 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,084 reviews
0.5 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,211 reviews
1.1 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,109 reviews
4.3 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
0.0 km away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Chez - K's Restaurant
Cuisines: Irish, European, French
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fitzwilton Hotel,is located in the heart of Waterford City Centre and only 50 metres from the city's main train and bus station. The hotel also offers free on-site parking and FREE hi-speed WI-FI. All the city's main attractions are but a brief pleasant stroll from our doorstep. The hotel comprises of 90 sumptuous rooms and suites, each individually designed and decorated to the highest of standards. Many of these large spacious rooms offer the unique feature of floor to ceiling windows which give stunning views of the river Suir and the cityscape. Dining at the Fitzwilton is an easy option - Restaurant Chez - K's, as originally proclaimed by the Bridgestone guide to be a "must - do restaurant" in Waterford is simply not to be missed. Renowned locally and further afield for its stunning dishes and most famously for its mouth watering steak dishes, this restaurant will satisfy the most demanding of palettes in the most comfortable and enjoyable surroundings. If you fancy an after dinner drink, relax and unwind in the funky Met Bar. With soft leather lounges and modern lighting and art features, the Met Bar serves an array of quirky cocktails, international wines and beers and serves a delicious bar menu throughout the day and evening. The hotel is located in the very heart of Waterford City so everything you need is but a short walk away. So if you are coming to visit the world famous Waterford Crystal factory, walk the beaches of Dunmore or simply want to explore the delight and history of the 'oldest city in Ireland' you can be guaranteed of doing it in style at the Fitzwilton Hotel. "We look forward to welcoming you." Room Description: All rooms at the Fitzwilton hotel are en-suite and come with shower and bath facilities. Boasting some of the largest rooms in the city, the hotel offers a variety of rooms types such as: Double Rooms - comprising of large double Bed, Twin Rooms - comprising of large double & Single bed, Triple Rooms - comprising of three single beds. All the above rooms are extremely spacious and among the largest in Waterford City. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fitzwilton Hotel

Address: Bridge Street | Waterford City, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Price Range: $88 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzwilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fitzwilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilton Hotel Waterford
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fitzwilton Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Ennis, Ireland
7 months ago
5 months ago
6 months ago
Dublin, Ireland

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Fitzwilton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“always check your bed sheets to see if they have been changed when you arrived.”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Look for top floor”
 of 5 bubbles Tony19602013, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are first class all ensuite with Tea/Coffe facilities”
 of 5 bubbles terrycT4944VM, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check when there are functions and if so ask for a room up and to the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles LizM30, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 401”
  • Finish around the sink
  • Poorly finished shower fixings
  • Poorly finished shower fixings
  • Broken socket beside the bed
  • Finish around the sink
  • Very bright TV light
 of 5 bubbles Token-Irish-Guy, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5