We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Portree House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Portree House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Portree House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend whilst visiting to run in the Waterford Marathon having booked on line based really on the price is it couldn't be beaten and the location. Greeted with a warm welcome on arrival by staff. The twin room booked was adequate, a little bit dated if I'm honest but again for the price and location it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
Ciaran M, Owner at Portree House, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words Mark. It's always nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay and we look forward to see you back if you're in Waterford again. Best regards Ciaran

Reviewed 26 June 2016

The standard of customer service is superb! They went above and beyond to facilitate us. I ran a marathon in Waterford and they provided me and family with everything we needed and more including breakfast made to my specification before the run.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wiktor S
Ciaran M, Owner at Portree House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the kind words Wiktor. Hopefully we'll see you and the family down for next year's run also. All the best Ciaran

County Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

Rooms very dated, carpet on floor very dirty , under beds not cleaned as my children found no of items eg plastic cups, tops under the beds. Bunk beds in room not stable we were afraid to let the children in sleep. Payment required upfront more hostel than guest house very expensive for what it is would expect it to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank karen m
Ciaran M, Owner at Portree House, responded to this review

Apologies Karen regarding things being left under a bed by the cleaning staff - that definitely shouldn't have happened. Our bunks, where they exist, are reinforced with steel screws and are completely safe. The bunk did feel loose when I checked it and apologies for that but these issues could have been resolved very quickly had they been brought to...

Cavan, Ireland
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

Myself and two of my friends stayed here on a Saturday night recently. After reading a couple of reviews we were a little weary both coming from hotel backgrounds and working in the industry. Firstly the staff are extremely helpful couldn't fault them in the slightest even when I wanted a bottle of water at 4 in the morning. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James L
Ciaran M, Owner at Portree House, responded to this review

Thanks very much James. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we'll see you back again some day. All the best Ciaran

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We stayed in this hostel/b&b for one night and found it adequate for our needs. It is located around a 6-7 minute walk to the city centre as well as being quite close to both the bus and train stations. The room was comfortable enough and the staff were friendly and welcoming. There was free wifi in the room which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dockabros
Ciaran M, Owner at Portree House, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive review overall. I do think our breakfast is well priced (I've never heard of anywhere in the city that does a full Irish for the Eur 5 you've referenced), but given our size and low volume for breakfast it wouldn't be cost effective for us to match that price - (the cheapest breakfast in the city...

Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

The reviews for this place are great so I was excited when I saw the location and how cheap it was. My husband is a first time traveler and was not thrilled with us staying in a hostel but went along with it anyway. This is truly a hostel. They call it a b&b as well but we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taylor F
Ciaran M, Owner at Portree House, responded to this review

Hi Taylor. Thanks for your feedback and apologies if some things weren't as you expected. I do feel I need to address some of the points you made though as they aren't entirely honest. On the breakfast - when you booked you were given 2 options - 1 without breakfast (which you chose) and another with breakfast for Eur 7...

Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

The place is really cozy and the prices aren't bad. The staff is really nice and helpful and the possibilities of making new friends while staying there are big. The hostel isn't too far away from the centre and it's easy to get everywhere from there. Definitely going to stay there next time I visit Waterford.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pirita H
Ciaran M, Owner at Portree House, responded to this review

Thanks very mich Priita. Was great having you here and you're welcome back any time.

Roscrea, Ireland
Reviewed 6 May 2016

This little gem of a guest house is just off the Main Quay in Waterford so it quieter than we expected (a good thing), it is also in the process of being renovated but is mostly finished. The decor is bright, homey and clean; while obviously aimed at a slightly younger crowd (I think they still have one room set...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melodig17
Ciaran M, Owner at Portree House, responded to this review

Thanks very much for all the kind words. It's great to hear a guest has enjoyed their stay. I hope we'll see you back again! All the best Ciaran

UK
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed for 4 nights in a private double room - it was basic but had everything we needed as our 'base'. The bed was made and new towels provided everyday. Tea and coffee facilities in the main lounge was a bonus. The guesthouse is just behind the main quay front; a short walk into the town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob_and_Weave
Ciaran M, Owner at Portree House, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. Very happy to hear you enjoyed our place. I hope the rest of your trip is going well. All the best Ciaran

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 22 April 2016

The Portree has both private rooms and hostel facilities. I stayed two nights in a private room. First, the location is excellent, just across the river from the train station and a few minutes from the bus station. Most of the attractions visitors would be interested in are within 15-20 minutes walk. The room I had was on the small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan C
Ciaran M, Owner at Portree House, responded to this review

Thanking you Brendan. I take your point on the showers in a couple of the single rooms but happy to hear you enjoyed your stay nonetheless. All the best Ciaran

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
1.3 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,085 reviews
0.5 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,213 reviews
0.3 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,055 reviews
0.0 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,302 reviews
0.1 km away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Portree is an elegant, city center townhouse situated in a quiet cul de sac, yet just a few minutes walk from both train and bus station and all amenities such as shops, restaurants, pubs,theaters, cinemas and clubs. It has 22 en suite bedrooms, a large guest lounge and private free car parking for guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portree House

Address: Portree 10 Mary Street, Waterford, Ireland (Formerly Portree Guest House)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Price Range: $52 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Portree House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Portree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portree House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Portree House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room number 3 the only on the main floor is the most accessible and it's also very spacious, comfortable and cosy.”
  • Clean and spacious. The electric shower works perfectly, good pressure and temperature
  • Room number 3, the most accessible, is spacious, cosy and comfortable
 of 5 bubbles Helena_Nogueira_Abad, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“maybe away from street, a woman talked loudly on her phone for ages in late hours”
 of 5 bubbles LindaFiona, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book well in advance if you're going, Waterford is a very popular tourist spot.”
 of 5 bubbles ciar_no166, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Be prepared to be disappointed if you get that dorm room downstairs on the right side of the hallway.”
  • Wall above bed 1, dorm room
 of 5 bubbles AKLynne, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“upper floor is very nice”
 of 5 bubbles 451wiktors, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5