We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Save
Share
Traveller (193)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (19)
Overview
Hotel website
E-mail hotel
Vale of Avoca, Arklow Y14 XT95 Ireland See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
3 Star accommodation
Additional information
Visit Hotel Website
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (844)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveller rating
370
272
104
42
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
370
272
104
42
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel golf course woodenbridge golf club small balcony wooden bridge oldest hotel residents lounge lovely location next morning both nights old world charm single bed bar food stayed here for one night sunday lunch irish hospitality family wedding
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 810 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Enjoyed 1 night stay here, but would have liked to stay longer., so looking forward to return soon. Beautiful location, autumn lovely time to visit and weather was lovely for walking in the nearby hills.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leixliplady
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely old hotel with a homely atmosphere Friendly and helpful staff I stayed in the newer block which needs updating. The rooms are big and look onto a beautiful river with well kept grounds. Very near to beautiful Avocado.

Thank Phil G
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is 20 miles from my home and we have been going there for about 10 years a fet times a year and we find it good.They have a good selection of food and we have tried most of it,We have never had a complaint,food...More

1  Thank deasy2005
Response from Tanita B, Front Office Manager at Woodenbridge Hotel & LodgeResponded 2 days ago

Dear Kevin, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you have had pleasurable dining experiences with us. We do not cut corners when it comes to our food and the same can be said for our service. Leave everything to us! Thank...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is basic and a little dated but has great charm , if a few things like the breakfast, working of shower etc and supply of black pepper mill all would be good as price was very good. The atmosphere at night is good...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cenna1958
Response from Tanita B, Front Office Manager at Woodenbridge Hotel & LodgeResponded 2 days ago

Dear cenna1958, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us while exploring Wicklow. We will work on the issues you have raised, thank you for letting us know so we can improve for our guests. We hope you will...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called for four nights 10th Sept with my wife along with my mother and father in law We had booked online with no pre payment clause so on arrival the receptionist asked if she could swipe card as per usual and guided us to ours...More

Thank confirmation
View more reviews
About
Description
Situated in the vale of Avoca, one of Ireland’s most beautiful locations, and established in 1608, Woodenbridge hotel is the oldest hotel in Ireland and one of the few remaining family-run hotels. The hotel More itself overlooks the vale of Avoca and the amazing Woodenbridge golf club, while Woodenbridge lodge is adjacent to the main hotel and is surrounded by peaceful gardens on the banks of the Aughrim River. All of the rooms are en-suite and with complimentary wireless access. Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Golf Course
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Spa
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
69
Price range
US$72 - US$132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Woodenbridge Hotel Arklow
,
Woodenbridge Hotel And Lodge
,
Best Western Woodenbridge Hotel
,
Best Western Arklow
,
Arklow Best Western
Location
Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
69
Price range
US$72 - US$132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Woodenbridge Hotel Arklow
,
Woodenbridge Hotel And Lodge
,
Best Western Woodenbridge Hotel
,
Best Western Arklow
,
Arklow Best Western
Location
Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Photos
Traveller (193)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (19)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Location
Full view
Contact
Vale of Avoca, Arklow Y14 XT95 Ireland
E-mail hotel
Getting there
Dublin Airport66 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lorraine C
Hi there I would like to leave a message for the hotel manager if possible. I am very disappointed with the treatment I am getting regarding an upcoming booking. A friend of mine is begging married in 2 weeks and I booked 2 nights in this hotel earlier in the year. Due to unforeseen circumstances l am unable to stay for 2 nights so I have tried to contact you regarding this and asking to change my booking to 1 night. I made this request last month, so plenty of notice and I received a very abrupt and impolite message telling me “they have a 2 night minimum policy”. I understand these policies and circumstances however I provided plenty of notice and do not see why I should have to pay for a room which I’m not going to be in. This hotel appears to have a very good reputation so I am very surprised. I’ve tried to contact them again explaining my situation as it’s a very personal reason and circumstance for me and I was told it would be looked into. I went onto bookingcom and they are allowing me to book only 1 night so the policy is clearly something the hotel directly are putting on. I would rather do my business with the hotel directly. I would really appreciate if this could be sorted for me as it’s causing me a lot of stress and giving the hotel a very bad name. Thank you.
August 6, 2018|
Answer
Response from Lorraine C |
I received a response so thank you so much again.
0
Votes
Martina F
July 23, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sarah1305 | Reviewed this property |
When you check out
1
Vote
mollieNorthEast
October 11, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from paddy b | Reviewed this property |
Yeh it’s over the bath, but a good pressure
1
Vote
Room Tips
"We did not stay in the Hotel"
deasy2005
1 week ago
Read review
"Has an elevator"
Linnie60
2 weeks ago
Read review
"Ask for a quiet room"
331waynef
3 weeks ago
Read review
"If staying in lodge a view over the river is recommended"
C1494RVgerardm
3 weeks ago
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing