We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

560 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 541: English reviews
County Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent a wonderful weekend in Avoca staying in this hotel. We stayed in the lodge which is directly across the road it is a beautiful scenic area an amazing setting for a winters wedding. It is a three star hotel so it is a little dated needs some small decorating fixes, but it is homely, cosy and warm. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachel012
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, it is wonderful to receive your feedback on your recent stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and character of the hotel, and I will pass on your comments to all the staff. We will make sure to address all the issues you have raised, it helps us make it a...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unknown to many, the Woodenbridge Hotel has hosted many international meetings with participants from all over the globe over the past twenty years. The hotel is the venue where many difficult problems have been resolved in the finalization of technical standards for radio technologies and consumer products in the European Union. The unique combination of excellent meeting facilities and accommodation,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronaldstorrs
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your 5 star review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The entire Woodenbridge team works hard to ensure every stay and visit is a special and unique experience and they will be delighted with your comments. Hopefully we can welcome you here again very soon. Kindest regards,...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed just one night for a break from the city. The hotel is in a beautiful location and our room in the main part of the hotel was lovely. Nice balcony and very comfortable room though the wooden furniture is rather cheap looking. My complaint is we were expecting an old fashioned country bar to match the lovely exterior...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Teri-OLS
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we always love to hear from our guests. I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. We are currently refurbishing all of the rooms in the main hotel, after the busy summer period. I have to agree with you, the Wicklow countryside adds a wonderful ambiance...

County Meath, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here after we booked into wonderful old coach house b&b We ordered chicken fajita and fish and chips After almost 50mins(we were advised the wait was because everything is cooked fresh by a non too pleased waitress) I received one wrap and a sizzling plate of uncle bens sweet and sour unmistakably bitter tangy sauce with a few bits...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank correna1
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, all of which will be taken on board. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal, which many of our dining guests do. We have built up an excellent reputation in the area and our food is normally received very well as can be seen from numerous positive reviews. Our meals...

ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 night package, bed and breakfast and 1 dinner. The hotel is set in the Vale of Avoca in County Wicklow, a beautiful setting. A warm welcome was given to us on arrival. The hotel itself is old world, our room in the hotel was really nice, very spacious and spotlessly clean. It had everything you would need....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernadette48Ireland
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we are glad you enjoyed it and found it a relaxing experience. We do our best to make our guests feel like they are at home and I am pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay. I have to agree with you, there is so much to...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at Wooden Bridge Hotel for a wedding during the Summer of 2016. Not a bad hotel at all, surrounding area is a thing of beauty and hotel benefits from its location. The Bar food is second to none and the Bar at night is a nice place to be. One major concern is the Bedrooms, they really are in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rtmb1247
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while you were attending a wedding celebration. I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and character of the hotel, and I will pass on your comments to all the staff. I am sorry that you did not find the bedrooms up to the...

Arklow, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After visiting another local hotel about our wedding we came out disheartened and let down, we decided to go and visit The Woodenbridge as a possible venue. After meeting with them we booked them straight away. The team and all staff make you feel so welcome and as if they are only accommodating your wedding. Nothing was too much trouble...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PamelaDoyle82
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is wonderful to hear from you, all of the staff here at Woodenbridge were delighted to read your wonderful review. We are thrilled to have been part of such a wonderful time for you both, it will be one of your most memorable! I am glad both yourself and your guests enjoyed the atmosphere and character of...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A beautiful location. Perfect for hill walks. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. One of my favourite places to stay (I've been twice now). The food is good and the atmosphere in the bar and restaurant is really pleasant. Quite a busy little spot, but never too noisy. I would highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elainecolley
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your invaluable feedback, it is lovely to hear from you. We here in the Woodenbridge Hotel and Lodge were delighted to receive your review. Walking in the area is very popular, especially considering how beautiful Wicklow is. We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits to Woodenbridge Hotel and Lodge. Kindest regards, Ciara...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely Sunday lunch dinner with the family here at woodenbridge. The food is always tasty here and plentiful and the hotel itself is so warm and welcoming it's just a wonderful place to go for food. The addition of the updated restaurant really adds to the place and I would recommend anyone to go here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Squirke33
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly, I would like to thank you for your feedback, guests' reviews are very important to us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening out here in the Woodenbridge Hotel and Lodge. I have passed on your lovely comments to our Chefs. The quality of our food is very important to us, and our ingredients are...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Anybody looking for a cozy , quirky, picturesque hotel venue for a wedding or even just to escape to another world, the woodenbridge hotel and lodge in the vale of avoca arklow is a must see ... Staff are excellent and go above and beyond to make your stay memorable xx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ciara A, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was an absolute delight to read your tripadvisor review, it is wonderful to receive such superb comments from our guests. Guests are our top priority, and all the team here in WOodenbridge Hotel and Lodge work hard to make sure your stay is memorable. I will be sure to pass on your review to all the team...

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (127)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arklow
7.0 km away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
618 reviews
35.3 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
924 reviews
30.7 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
933 reviews
30.1 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
465 reviews
21.5 km away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the vale of Avoca, one of Ireland’s most beautiful locations, and established in 1608, Woodenbridge hotel is the oldest hotel in Ireland and one of the few remaining family-run hotels. The hotel itself overlooks the vale of Avoca and the amazing Woodenbridge golf club, while Woodenbridge lodge is adjacent to the main hotel and is surrounded by peaceful gardens on the banks of the Aughrim River. All of the rooms are en-suite and with complimentary wireless access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Address: Vale of Avoca, Arklow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Price Range: $78 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodenbridge Hotel Arklow
Woodenbridge Hotel And Lodge
Best Western Woodenbridge Hotel
Best Western Arklow
Arklow Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago
Ardee, Ireland
over a year ago
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles rtmb1247, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we had a room at the front of the lodge, the music from the hotel was very loud request a room at back of lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles ciarad524, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“River view in the Lodge”
 of 5 bubbles HoPip, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We prefer the lodge as the rooms are more modern and it's nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles paddiec2015, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“when booking make sure you ask for one of the refurbished ones.”
 of 5 bubbles rockie222, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay