We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wolohan's Silver Strand Caravan and Camping Park

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wicklow
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wolohan\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wolohan's Silver Strand Caravan and Camping Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 60: English reviews
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We've just arrived back from a weekend at Wolohans with our two kids. We had a great time. John and other staff were really welcoming. The facilities were clean. The campsite is on a cliff overlooking the sea. We chose a spot at the bottom of the hill leading up to the cliff edge where it would be less windy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thesuperscotts
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

This is a spotless, friendly and well maintained campsite. The location is stunning. There is private access to an amazing beach. The staff are friendly and efficient, with a no nonsense approach, exactly what we were looking for. The amenities are basic but clean, all you need. The camping shop is really well stocked and prices are far more competitive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gmorrin
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights camping with a tent on an in serviced site . Staff etc friendly and site nice location however what makes me do a review for other campers was we were disappointed to find only ONE washroom / toilet for WHOLE site , with 2 showers of which you have to buy tokens for (€1) for 3-4minute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John209944
John W, Manager at Wolohan's Silver Strand Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the review and your kind comments , there is a second toilet block available on the park near the touring area sorry if we didn't make this clear to you. There is hot water available in the sinks , the reason we charge for the showers is not a revenue exercise but to conserve water as...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Site is well situated close to Wicklow town and a lovely beach, good sea views and flat grassy pitches, shop is well-stocked and toilets clean. The owner seemed at great pains on the phone and in person, repeatedly, to point out that this was a families only site that had to be deathly silent after 10pm, there was no talking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zer0PK
County Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 13 June 2016

I was sceptical about visiting with some of the reviews about Staff and Owners being not so nice, oh I am so glad that I threw caution to the wind. Lovely staff at the shop and chatted to the owner and she could not have been nicer. The shop is better stocked than my local camping store, and whilst the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnARoberts
Athlone, Ireland
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We had occasion to visit this place twice. At the first time our experience was very positive. We were surprised by stunning view and nice beach. So we have decided to comeback with our 5 years old son. After few hours of drive finally we have arrived at campsite. There was plenty of free space. It was nearly 7 at...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AroZsky
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

I wasn't to sure of writing this review as I wanted to keep it in secret. But every single aspect of it is impressive, toilet very clean, owner very friendly, small utilities shopping for amenities and some helpful equipments. Well be back for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo B
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

This is excellent. John Super friendly. Owner. Very helpful. This is one of the best. Beautiful beach. Very secure site. Great hot showers. Value for money. Central to Wicklow county. Will be back. Just love it. Great quiet site at night and day. Purrrrrrfect.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tarbet B
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 31 August 2015

If you are looking for a family friendly site this is not it. The owner is rude & arrogant. I travelled down to this site last Friday with my two boys for one night stay before going back to school. within minutes of our arrival we were given our money back & told to leave his empty field. my mistake...

 Report
Helpful?
14Thank michael s
Reviewed 27 August 2015

My husband and I loved camping at this site. Staff and location were excellent! We loved the beach nearby and we even saw a seal in the water! Great place to camp with your family - next time we will bring our daughter!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kassie D

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wicklow
16.6 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
473 reviews
3.5 km away
Grand Hotel Wicklow
Grand Hotel Wicklow
#1 of 4 in Wicklow
254 reviews
5.8 km away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,878 reviews
3.5 km away
Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast
3.9 km away
River Lodge B&B
River Lodge B&B
#4 of 14 in Wicklow
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Wolohan's Silver Strand Caravan and Camping Park

Address: Silver Strand | Dunbur Upper, Wicklow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Wicklow
Also Known As:
Wolohan`s Silver Strand Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Wicklow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wolohan's Silver Strand Caravan and Camping Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be polite to your fellow campers”
 of 5 bubbles Jonny1mac, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Bring a wind cheater. Can get chilly at night. With people doing BBQ's the place can get smoky, so pitch away from electric points to avoid a smoke filled tent.”
 of 5 bubbles 956PeterJ956, 30 Jun 2014 | Read review
“There are two campsites on the Dunbur Road right next to each other. Wolohans is the SECOND campsite.”
 of 5 bubbles br_naghs2016, 19 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Just stay at john's caravan site on silver strand”
 of 5 bubbles freds967, 1 Aug 2012 | Read review
“I gave sleep quality an excellent, but this was with rain so heavy that you couldn't hear anything else. I don't know what it would be like in good conditions. However, one advantage of not having clearly demarcated pitches is that the ground is a bit softer than some sites I've been to.”
 of 5 bubbles Webshed, 16 Jun 2012 | Read review
5 of 5