We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The St George Hotel

Hotels.comUS$102*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The St George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,023 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The St George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,019: English reviews
Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2014

I booked a room through late rooms for £110. The room was above a disco and was extremely noisy. The room was dark and grotty with mould in the bathroom, and the bathroom was so outdated. I did complain about the noise but there was no manager or deputy manager around so complained to an 'acting manager' who was disinterested...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Lisa H
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I apologise about the noise pollution you experienced in your room however how anybody can describe our full buffet breakfast as minimal is beyond me. I can see that you were most annoyed about the noise you experienced in your room but publicly describing our hotel as a ‘dirt hole’ is simply untrue. I wish you all success in your...

Telford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2014

To some extent I agree with previous reviews. The carpets, paintwork and also the evening meals could have done with some improvement . The evening meal may have been suitable for some people but not to the average British person. In addition I was unable to open the old type sash windows for a breath of fresh air.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank David J
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel has had in excess of 2.5 million pounds spent on the property since Shearings acquired it, it is true that the corridors do need some attention due to the fact we chose to refurbish areas where guests spend the most time. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff. Kind Regards Edwina

Reviewed 13 December 2014 via mobile

Avoid Avoid this one, not worth the money, they have very limited choice, and the food they have is not what I eat. Sent three e mails to hotel, two to their head office, one to the hotel itself, to see if there's any alternative food, perhaps from their own restaurant which had a better choice than their Xmas meal....

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Nigel C
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

As you did not stay at the hotel or indeed eat here I am amazed your review was published. We have an extensive conference and banqueting menu, a large bar menu and 3 starters, 4 main courses, 4 desserts and a chefs special offered in the restaurant each day. I would therefore insist that ‘a very limited choice of food’...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2014

This hotel felt as though it needed a lot of money spending on it, flaking paint and worn carpets it felt old and tatty. It was though clean and the staff were friendly and a great location. Dinner was very disappointing but Breakfast was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank andrewpt3
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. The sash cords have been repaired since your visit I am only sorry you did not report this to the reception team who would have arranged the repair during your stay. Kind Regards Edwina

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2014

Yes, myself and husband were on a Shearings Coach Trip. We are the 'older' generation, but considered sprightly and so were others on the trip. The George Hotel was comfortable, yes some updates were needed but apparently some rooms had been done, according to other guests. It has a very good location. The only downside seemed to be the kitchen,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Josephine L
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review I am sorry that you found food service to be slow and will look into this with my restaurant manager immediately. Kind Regards Edwina

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2014

I stayed here many years ago with a group of friends, and remembered it being a very handy place to stay, and returned recently when I needed a one night stay for work. It seems to have changed over the years in that it is now a hotel used by coach parties - I was certainly the youngest in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gingerjudith
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

The rooms at the front certainly have a lovely view I am pleased you found the car park excellent value for money and found the breakfast to be more than adequate. Thank you. Kind Regards Edwina

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2014

We have been past this hotel and always liked the look of it . Got a deal on this hotel but it was disappointing. Room at back of hotel corridors and room itself could have done with some updating. Bathroom had been re painted and was basic but nice . Arrived for breakfast at 8.20 no cold breakfast meats only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marob65
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Due to the supplier being involved in a very serious road accident we failed to receive our delivery that morning. I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused. Kind Regards Edwina

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2014

Hotel itself was good, clean well sized rooms, friendly staff But I think we may have visited at the wrong time of year We came for a long weekend to visit the local Christmas markets The hotel was full so it wasn't a simple case of swapping rooms The noise both internally by guests and externally from an adjacent taxi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I apologise for the noise you experienced from the hotel the management did intervene which ended in guests being ejected from the building we certainly do not condone that behaviour. We are a very busy centrally located hotel and do experience noise pollution from outside I apologise for any inconvenience caused. Kind Regards Edwina

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend on May bank holiday. The hotel was clean and tidy as was the rooms. There was plenty to choose from in the restaurant or breakfast. Was intending to use the spa but the weather was nice so therefore walked about Harrogate instead. Good hotel for a relaxing weekend break

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulineW182014
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review we hope you will get chance to return and sample the added bonus of the leisure facilities which I agree is most appreciated in the winter. There is nothing better than relaxing in a hot tub on a cold winters day. Kind Regards Edwina

Reviewed 5 December 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst at a conference and it was lovely. The rooms were clean and comfortable if a little tired and in need of an update. The breakfast was great with lovely service and the reception staff were lovely as well. Would have appreciated it if housekeeping didn't keep knocking on my door in the morning while I was trying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxannesparkle
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review

I’m sorry the housekeeping team spoilt your lie in I wonder did you place a do not disturb sign on your door? If so I am truly sorry for any inconvenience caused. I am pleased you found the service and food good and hope you return in the future. Kind Regards Edwina

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,241 reviews
0.2 km away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
2,647 reviews
0.6 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Price Range: $112 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The St George Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
Skegness

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The St George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the garden, it is on the opposite side to the noisy pub”
cecl2015, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Request rear bedroom.”
j0j00605, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for quiet room as hotel is opposite a night club and can be noisy”
834janines, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Just ask rooms at back are quieter”
jainex, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“High floors were quieter. Corner rooms had more views”
713ritab, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$102* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$108
PricelineUS$108
Cancelon
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates