We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ship Inn

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
The Ship Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 90: English reviews
Start your review of The Ship Inn
 Click to rate
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we had lunch at the ship inn after doing a walk around the area. we had spoken to Caroline and Harry a few days before outlining what we were doing. We wanted to start the walk from the ship and asked if we could use their facilities and car park. A group of 43 people were walking of which 25...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 258Terry2
Solihull
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely find this pub is - picturesque waterside terrace, a much larger garden for the kids to play to the other side of the grounds and the inside of the pub beautifully decorated with log burners and comfy leather sofas. We didn't eat but we will certainly be back for a meal. And as far as other reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrigadierSolihull
CaroE9, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, much appreciated. We hope to see you on another trip when you're back in the area. You were absolutely welcome re the lift home. Cheers Caroline

glos
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a table here for Sunday lunch. Arriving at 13.30 the pub was empty with a few people sat outside .The menu choice was very limited ,beef or chicken roast , quiche and salad or chicken salad baguette ,not quite what we expected from the website but we ordered a few roasts and a couple of quiches , after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spah
CaroE9, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Firstly, let me apologise again; hands up, we let you down. Although the inside of the pub was empty - the canal side decking was full (due to it being the hottest day of year so far) - we went from zero to approx 40 in about 10 minutes all at around 13.30, the time you arrived! We do offer...

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed a very nice afternoon tea on Mothers Day. Lovely selection of sandwiches, cakes, pastries and scones with cream and jam. Unfortunately they had run out of peppermint tea but I always carry some with me. Very nice dining area and lots of seats outside by the river.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane1949
CaroE9, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we are re-stocked with the peppermint tea now! Kind regards Caroline

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

My wife and I had a great overnight stay at the Ship Inn this weekend. It was our first visit and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The owners, Caroline and Harry, were great hosts and made us feel very welcome. The food was excellent and the accomodation was beautiful and very cosy. We will certainly plan a return trip soon! Richard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RJCBC7
CaroE9, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review, very kind and much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Caroline

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Hi tea at lunch time, a real treat in a friendly, cosy place. Value for money. Very attentive. Fresh sandwiches, home baked cakes, pastries and cream tea included. Lovely location a fantastic place to go all year round.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jyoti H
CaroE9, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review, much appreciated by all of us here. Regards Caroline

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

We visited this year for dinner on Christmas day and had the best dinner ever. definitely worth the price and very attentive staff. The landlord and his wife were very friendly. Good atmosphere. Worth a visit anytime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindaw8425xl
CaroE9, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We all appreciate the time taken to do these reviews and look forward to welcoming you back again. Caroline

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

We had our family Christmas day lunch at the Ship and is one of the best we have had. The owners were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make sure our visit was enjoyable. Interior is cosy yet modern. Lunch was fantastic, large portions of well cooked food. We will definitely return for an evening meal soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
CaroE9, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review. WE all really appreciate it. Caroline

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Pub is good. Accommodation is poor in that breakfast consisted of 2 small cakes an apple & a banana,delivered the previous evening. Central heating was broken & replaced with a fan heater. Insufficient for October. £65 per room per night is not realistic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graham1475
CaroE9, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

We advised that breakfast is just a tray breakfast; fruit, muffin & brioche, tea and coffee facilities are already available in the room. We did explain that C Heating needs attention; it's not broken but the system linking to the pub needs to be improved. We heated the room all day prior to your arrival and left an electric radiator...

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Friendly, fast service, good food, lovely setting and good selection of ales. Would definitely go back. On a sunny day it would be great sat outside by the river, the ship inn at Framilode is one to remember

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben and Kathryn S
CaroE9, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to do this review, we appreciate it.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
13.3 km away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,078 reviews
7.0 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
641 reviews
7.8 km away
The Frocester George
The Frocester George
#1 of 1 in Frocester
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#3 of 4 in Frampton on Severn
72 reviews
1.0 km away
Saul Farm Bed and Breakfast
10.9 km away
Spalite Hotel
Spalite Hotel
#3 of 23 in Gloucester
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Upper Framilode, Gloucester GL2 7LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Price Range: $67 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Ship Inn Gloucester, UK - Gloucestershire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ship Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Ship Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we couldn't find any staff.”
435alfp, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“This a lovely pub offering accomodation. Only negative - offer WIFI in the rooms!”
Zoppitighe, 19 Nov 2015 | Read review
2 of 2