We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cathedral Quarter Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

724 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 718: English reviews
Start your review of Cathedral Quarter Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked a last minute night away - arrived at the hotel and was allocated room 15 which was in a terrible condition so I asked reception if we could be moved which they did to room 21 - it was like we were in a different hotel and were happy. We had an evening meal included in our stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Liz18041971
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I were married here in a lovely ceremony in the back room next to the restaurant. The staff were friendly and accommodating, and the surroundings were really lovely. Susan the events manager was great as was Emma the following morning serving breakfasts under a great deal of pressure. Our room was lovely but the bathroom could have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon H
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a great afternoon cocktail making on Saturday for my friend's birthday. The cocktail expert Joe was very patient with this rowdy group of 11 women. Thank you Joe for wonderful afternoon. I will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aejennings
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and glad you had an enjoyable time. Hope to see you again soon

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this event for my Birthday with friends, complete waste of money I would not bother with the evening you would be better just buying the drinks. It did not have the entertainment factor you were expecting

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank renniksa
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not feel the same way about your cocktail school experience as your friends did (see review above) We do get good reviews about the majority of our cocktail schools. In order for us to improve, we do take to heart any constructive feedback given. Maybe you could give me a call at the hotel to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my Husband stayed at the hotel on 18.2.17 & had booked around 6 months in advance for our wedding night after we were married at Masa. Despite calling & emailing on several occasions, making the hotel aware of this special occasion- it was a disaster. I had called the hotel 2 days prior to check we could drop...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jessica W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nicest staff you will ever meet. Unfortunately, the hotel needs some upgrades. Mattress was flat, dipped in the middle and possibly 10 years old. No mattress pad, just a thin sheet which was barely tucked in. It made me question the sanitary condition in which I was sleeping. I had to ask for an extra mattress sheet so I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mitchell S
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the constructive feedback given. Carpets are already in hand and should be sorted shortly. Pen & paper will be added to the to-do list. Hope it will not deter you from returning.

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the tea selection is amazing. sandwiches lovely and tasty. staff very welcoming and professional. the best gluten free bread and cakes I've ever had. we also had presecco on arrival. table service. one problem for disabled. there is a lift but two steps up to get to dinning room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackie26102016
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do provide a lift and there is a ramp for the final two steps to get to Opulence Restaurant

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely brilliant! Went to the hotel yesterday for a cocktail making masterclass with my girl and we had a great time. We all had a laugh thanks to our host Joe who was superb made the experience so much better felt like we were all just mates. So we booked another class next week, gonna be a pro in no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whysall123
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for the review, hope to see you next week

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Let me bullet point this for you Good - *Amazingly Beautiful public front of house areas (entrance, reception, bar, restaurant) *Friendly bar staff *Great cocktail making class *Nice evening meal (party booking with pre ordered food) Bad *No parking *BOTH lifts STILL out of order. This is TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE after what is at least 3 weeks judging by other reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Clare-Louise A
Moany H, Manager at Cathedral Quarter Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies if your experience was below par. We do have parking however, albeit the numbers are limited. There is a multi storey 2 minutes walk away, not uncommon with city centre hotels. You didn't mention that our suites are actually over 2 levels, bedroom on mezzanine level and lounge downstairs. The...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After writing the previous review, I was asked to give the hotel a call, which I did and spoke to the manager (moany) I explained the situation, he listened , he then asked for my email address which I gave him, he said he would be in touch with me after he had made some inquiries, that was 2 months...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank footballqueen135

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derby
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
0.3 km away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
1,599 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#8 of 8 in Castle Donington
274 reviews
1.7 km away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,440 reviews
1.4 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Opulence Restaurant
Opulence Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cathedral Quarter Hotel is a unique hotel that blends the old character of this circa 1900's building with the elegant edge of a contemporary luxury hotel as expected by today's discerning traveller. This Grade II listed hotel is home to 38 luxury bedrooms with state of the art technology along with Clink Beauty Rooms, conference rooms, Bar 16 cocktail bar, private dining leading from the 80 cover restaurant in the grandeur of a ballroom and not forgetting the exclusive Chef's Table experience - the first of its kind in the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cathedral Quarter Hotel

Address: 16 St. Marys Gate, Derby DE1 3JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Price Range: $119 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral Quarter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cathedral Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Quarter Boutique Hotel
Hotel Cathedral Quarter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cathedral Quarter Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cathedral Quarter Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd seek a room on the ground floor if stair climbing would be a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles X9036RYrobertp, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Although rooms on floor 3 avoid the party noise from functions, bear in mind the lift probably will not be working”
 of 5 bubbles caronmartin, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the third floor and it was quiet except for the distant sound of students returning home - no problem.”
 of 5 bubbles davidpB1976FE, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“n/a i did not stay there”
 of 5 bubbles gregl397, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“there are a few parking spaces at the hotel, otherwise there's a big secure car-park nearby, with a 30% reduction for hotel guests”
 of 5 bubbles TudorInjordan, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5