We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
Morledge, Derby DE1 2AY England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$93
TripadvisorUS$92
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
travelup.com
eDreams
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (179)
Room & Suite (94)
Dining (23)

About

#10 of 31 hotels in Derby
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Holiday Inn Derby-Riverlights is situated next to the intu Derby shopping centre in the heart of the city. Derby bus station is next door and we're a 10-minute walk from Derby Midlands rail station. Flights touch down at East Midlands Airport, 14 miles away. You'll feel relaxed when you step off the bustling street and into our sleek Lobby, with its 4-story glass atrium. We recommend parking at Derbion Riverside Car Park, sat nav DE1 2PL. The car park is ticketless; to obtain the discounted rate of £8 for one exit in 24 hours then ask for a QR code at the hotel Reception, which is located on the Fourth Floor.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room service
Safe
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Hindi and 1 more
723Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 335
  • 248
  • 68
  • 42
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
santana wrote a review Dec. 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed in room 339 which is a double room, the view is over the Eagle Market in the center of Derby. Thanks to Billie for our special occasion, there was a fruit tray and Prosecco awaiting our arrival. The bed was very comfortable, although the heating was not working, we did not report it for the hotel in itself was warm. Great views from the restaurant and bar situated on the fourth floor. Moira in the bar is very friendly and made our last evening a great one. Loved the chicken tikka masala. The breakfast is sooo amazing. The layout of the Holiday Inn Riverlights is quite unique, next door to the Casino which was quite fun and just across from the Derbion mall. The airport skylink is situated just across the street if your catching an early connection before 6am, otherwise it is bay number 7 in the bus station directly below. We would definitely repeat our stay and recommend to people. Thank you to all the staff whom made our stay so pleasant. We will see you again, in warmer temperatures.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
pascal d wrote a review Dec. 2022
Great Malvern, United Kingdom14 contributions4 helpful votes
Occasionally get to visit Derby to watch the Rams play. Always stop here as the service is really good, Laura on reception, always a smile and Tom managing from behind the bar. Christmas do was on at this visit, in spite of which, Tom personally rustled us up a meal in short order. Great customer service as we arrived late and were really tired. By the way, Rams drew 0-0 with Sheffield Wednesday, good match, nip & tuck.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel
Responded Dec. 7, 2022
Dear Frogstarfighter, Thank you for your fabulous 5 out of 5 review. Your feedback will be shared with Laura and Tom who will be equally as delighted that you took the time to mention them in your review. We hope that you come back and stay with us again very soon, and that Derby give you a win!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Philip N wrote a review Nov. 2022
Just returned home from a three night stay, have had a great time. Absolutely could not find any fault whatsoever. Room was lovely, spotless and comfy, everything you could possibly need was provided. Staff have been amazing, so friendly and helpful. Want to say a massive thank you to the kitchen staff who catered for my pain in the bum dietary needs, food was exceptional. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel
Responded Dec. 1, 2022
Dear philipn505, Thank you for your amazing 5 out of 5 review! We are delighted you had such a great stay with us, and for the millionth time....you are not a pain :) We hope you come back and stay with us again very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flick_Wiley wrote a review Nov. 2022
Church Crookham, United Kingdom427 contributions170 helpful votes
For the price, nice, clean hotel in central Derby. I was upgraded on arrival and room was very spacious and had a bath, which was a welcome addition given all other hotels I had been in that week for work were showers only. Bed was very comfortable. Would happily return when on a business trip.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla Cole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel
Responded Nov. 14, 2022
Dear Flick_Wiley, Thank you for your great review of your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clive H wrote a review Nov. 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel was not our first choice with the coach co mpany so the evening meals were basic at best .the rooms were good. But I cannot enjoy a hotel with security guards watching me eat breakfast.Why they are there. I. Think we all know. We be nice to be told in advance
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla Cole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel
Responded Nov. 14, 2022
Dear clivehS7909IR, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights. I am sorry to hear that you found the evening meal to be basic during your stay. I will ensure that this is fed back to the chef for review as we do have many coach tours stay with us weekly. In regards to security in the breakfast area, we do have a team on site who as part of the complex with the casino etc, will patrol all areas at various times of the day. I am sorry that you found this to be uncomfortable. This certainly is not our intention. I am pleased that you found our rooms to be good, and I do hope that should your travels bring you back to Derby, you will re consider staying with us again. Many Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracey B wrote a review Oct. 2022
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Although all staff were really nice, when you first walk in its not very welcoming at all, very empty. Our room looked out onto what looked like a prison exercise yard. One bedside light did not work and there was only one bedside cabinet, which was strange. Beds were comfy, and room was warm though. Bathroom could have done with a good scrub. The floor had brown stains in-between the tiles which was off putting to say the least, ( looked like someone had had a diarrhoea explosion) and the shower needed a real deep clean around the seals etc. Didn't raise the issues as only there for one night. OK hotel but doesn't really warrant 4 star in my opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a view, the yard is depressing.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel
Responded Nov. 7, 2022
Hi Tracey B, Thank you for your review and for choosing our Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights for your accommodation needs. We appreciate you as one of our guests! We're committed to providing you with the best overall experience. I'm sorry about the situation encountered during your stay. I brought this up to our local management's attention. I'm confident that the necessary actions will be taken to ensure better service. We look forward to seeing you again on your future trips and we'll do our best to make your next stay better than the last! Safe travels, Jomar M. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steph H wrote a review Oct. 2022
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom5 contributions
A brilliant room. Clean, great value for money and really friendly and knowledgable staff. Room service was super quick, nothing was too much trouble. Hotel was ideally situated with easy (and cheap) offsite parking. Thanks for a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla Cole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel
Responded Oct. 11, 2022
Thank you 130syephh for your great review. Delighted to read you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We hope should your team play Derby again, you will come back and stay with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James M wrote a review Sep. 2022
1 contribution
We stayed in this hotel for two nights and loved every minute of it. The staff where so helpful, very friendly and welcoming. The facilities at the hotel where where spot on. The rooms where immaculate and not one single issue could be found. You have very friendly and efficient housekeeping team. I would also like to note that I have previously stayed here and had moderate experience of which I left a bad review but this time it was the opposite. This is by far the best hotel in Derby. I look forward to staying here again. Thank you so much for our stay 🙂
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla Cole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel
Responded Oct. 11, 2022
Dear james P1345NL, Thank you for your fantastic review, we are delighted to read that you had a great stay and found the hotel to be friendly and efficient. We will certainly wear our best hotel in Derby badge with pride! Come back and stay again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe B wrote a review Aug. 2022
Swindon, United Kingdom65 contributions39 helpful votes
Part of 2 coach load parties. Restaurant unable to cope. Poor service, both evening meals served at same time. Food unappetising at best. Choice, first night of curry or curry... also tasteless pie .Breakfast very good. Bedroom spacious , no draw space fixed hangers. One chair for 2 people. TV very outdated. No subtitles or BBC text. Bathroom. To get in and out of bath needed very long legs. Impossible to reach gels etc.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Top floor probably best
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel
Responded Sep. 26, 2022
Hello, Joe B Our staff loves checking reviews and using them to improve in future stays. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your impressions. We love to see you have opted for us for your accommodation. I'm sorry to see you did not like some elements you encountered during your time with us. I have shared your review with our management to ensure we take proper action. Your satisfaction and enjoyment are paramount to us, and we always strive to deliver what is expected. Hopefully, we'll get another chance to show you we have made the necessary adjustments to offer you a much better stay. See you soon! Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Traveller wrote a review Jul. 2022
Stanmore, United Kingdom24 contributions
Excellent service staff were so helpful and cheerful and room was clean and well equipped We had dinner in the hotel and the meal was good. Breakfast was also well presented with variety of offerings hot and cold. We recommend it and would definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla Cole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel
Responded Oct. 11, 2022
Dear loves1travel, Thank you for your fantastic review, we are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$83 - US$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn derby riverlights hotel derby
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireDerby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Make Your Escape (0.4 km), The Escape Room Guys (0.4 km), and GAME OVER Escape Rooms (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grand Cafe Caruso, Revolution, and Revolucion de Cuba.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Derby.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Derby - Riverlights, an IHG hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Hindi, and Polish.