We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,055 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,045: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel
 Click to rate
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really impressed with the hotel and the friendly, helpful staff, especially Tina Pearson, who helped make it a special trip. It was a perfect base for exploring Derby and only a short bus journey to Nottingham. Would not hesitate to stay here again if in the Derby area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrentSherwood
Sutton
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night on Good Friday, as guests at a civil wedding ceremony. Room was available for us to check in early, having rang ahead and advised that we were part of the wedding group and wanted to get ready on arrival. Small bar area, but pleasant. Very good canapés after the wedding, and the wedding breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AVFC13
Derby, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am not one to leave comments on trip adviser but I just would like to thank the night porter kaden (who had unfortunately finished his shift the time we got up) for looking after us and going that extra mile it was appreciated.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chloewilkins96
StuartHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chloe, thank you for leaving a review and we are so pleased to hear that Kaden looked after you so well. kind regards

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good Hotel all the staff were friendly and helpful, room was perfect for me to sleep and work. I had something different of the menu each night and all food tasted great, and the breakfast had plenty of choice either hot food or from the buffet.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nuttynutster
StuartHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

It is always good to receive feedback from our guests so that we can always look at ways of improving. i am so pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us. We have a new menu being introduced soon so hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back and enjoy our new dishes. kind...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

For a large chain hotel I was totally disappointed with this hotel. I can deal with an outdated basic room but the service or lack of it and attitude of the Restaurant Manager was beyond unbelievable. I went away with my husband for a weekend (much needed break after our daughter passed away) and my best friend and husband as...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MandyJMcCarlie
StuartHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mandy, I am so sorry to hear about the experience you had in our restaurant and the reaction of the restaurant manager. Certainly this shouldn't have been the case and I am surprised to hear that he wasn't sympathetic to the issues you had. I would like to reassure you that your comments have been taken very seriously and...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Easy access to train station and major roads. Nice bar. Clean room with all that was needed. Breakfast was cold so I sent it back and it was still cold the second time when it returned so that was disappointing. Upon arrival the reception staff did not offer to assist with my luggage to the room and given there was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Em W
StuartHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Em W, thank you for your review and I am pleased overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I am so sorry to hear that your breakfast was cold, this is so unusual as the breakfast is made to order and for this to occur a second time is very disappointing and certainly something we have looked in to....

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Start off lovely. Car park was very full but managed to get a space. Check in was smooth with friendly staff. Room was lovely and clean. Good facilities. All communal areas spotlessly clean and bright. Breakfast was nice and although cooked breakfast was tastey and freshly made I was disappointed that it wasn't buffet style where you could go back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charls01
StuartHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and it is nice to hear that the staff, your room and the facilities of the hotel receive such positive feedback from you. I am sorry that you found the breakfast disappointing in that it wasnt a buffet breakfast. The full continental is available buffet style but we find the breakfast to be of better...

Swadlincote, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend booked us a night here for the weekend as we were going out for a meal in derby first impressions were great, the reception area is clean and modern however after check in is where it went downhill. After we had checked and had collected our things from the car we went in search of our room, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beth R
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Had the most fantastic night in this hotel the rooms were spacious and the bed was so comfortable, the WiFi was brill and the staff couldn't do enough for you .I mixed up when i booked and accidentally paid twice which i didn't notice and the staff came to my room and pointed out my mistake and gave me a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I stayed in this hotel for a week. The front part of the hotel is modern, the rest is in old hotel style with narrow corridors, fairly small rooms and steep stairs. And carpets everywhere. Finding your room can be a challenge, as they don't have signs showing the way. My room was small but with a good sized bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stein M

200 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (190)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.2 km away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#22 of 29 in Derby
409 reviews
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
462 reviews
0.3 km away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.7 km away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel is in the heart of Derby city centre close to many restaurants and bars with easy access from the motorways and the peak district. The hotel has 100 bedrooms, stylish restaurant, hip bar, conference and banqueting facilities, free car parking and free internet access throughout the hotel. We have excellent food and beverage options for you from our cocktails and nibblets menus to our a la carte menus and 24 hour room service menus. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

Address: 119 London Road, Derby DE1 2QR, England (Formerly The Stuart Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Price Range: $79 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuart Hotel Derby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is a huge difference between the rooms. If you get one not to your liking, ask reception to change. Some beds are very uncomfortable.”
770steinm, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You will get road noise at the front of the hotel. No rooms have any sort of view.”
552SteveS, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It isn't a very accessible hotel. Lots of stairs and steps and relatively narrow corridors. Phone ahead and secure an accessible room.”
MartynWilson, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Disabled catered for on ground floor with new ramps into hotel for chairs etc”
nickc770, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter as they do not front the main road”
matelot49, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5