We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

International Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
International Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 270: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I arrived for my leavers Prom on May 23rd thoroughly excited, along with 142 of my fellow students and staff, for the evening that followed. I cannot stress enough how disappointing and shambolic the service and management of the evening was from here on in. This place is an absolute riot, upon arrival at 7pm we were subjected to a...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Terminator3000
Lynn P, Front Office Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review

The International Hotel would like to make guests aware that the function rooms at the hotel are managed and owned by a separate company and subsequently are not responsible for any music, catering, bar or staffing issues associated with the function rooms

Reviewed 30 May 2014

After reading some worrying reviews of the International, we arrived at 7:30 were pleasantly surprised to find how nicely decorated the venue was, thanks to the hard work of the prom organisers, despite being a bunch of rooms joined together . After no complimentary drink on arrival as promised, we went to the bar where it took 5-10 minutes to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Jemma F
Lynn P, Front Office Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review

The International Hotel would like to make guests aware that the function rooms at the hotel are managed and owned by a separate company and subsequently are not responsible for any music, catering, bar or staffing issues associated with the function rooms

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Absolute shambles, the staff just aren't capable of doing their jobs. I'm another visitor from 23rd May for our school prom and to be honest £35 is not an acceptable price to pay. From everyone the International would have taken well over £5000 for the night. You'd expect for that sort of price, at the very least a hot meal...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Ollie M
Lynn P, Front Office Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review

The International Hotel would like to make guests aware that the function rooms at the hotel are managed and owned by a separate company and subsequently are not responsible for any music, catering, bar or staffing issues associated with the function rooms

Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

On the 23rd we had our school prom at the International. We had heard bad reviews about the hotel beforehand but equally heard good reviews. We decided to give them a chance and the whole of the year, approx 150 paid £35 each for a 3 course meal. We had ordered what we wanted to eat many weeks before and...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Beth C
Lynn P, Front Office Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review

The International Hotel would like to make guests aware that the function rooms at the hotel are managed and owned by a separate company and subsequently are not responsible for any music, catering, bar or staffing issues associated with the function rooms

Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We booked the International Hotel for our end of sixth form Prom. Having spent nearly 9 months organising this event, it was highly anticipated. The evening was more than disappointing for both students and staff for many reasons which is clear from other reviews from the same night. However, it is the manager responses of which I take issue. Yes...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Eleanor R
Lynn P, Front Office Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review

The International Hotel would like to make guests aware that the function rooms at the hotel are managed and owned by a separate company and subsequently are not responsible for any music, catering, bar or staffing issues associated with the function rooms

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2014

"As served at the World's Greatest Events." - The new tag line for the alcoholic drink, Stella Artois. Well, as you can probably guess by the title of this review, this was not one of the World's Greatest Events, despite being tipped by Twitter users to be the top trend worldwide, under the hash tag '#JPSProm2014'. I arrived at the...

 Report
Helpful?
15Thank Elliott D
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Another complaint about the 23rd of May 2014. Having paid £35 each for our 6th form leaver's prom, of about 140 people, I was appalled by our experience, which was completely below par. Firstly, both the bar upstairs and downstairs were understaffed, and the staff were slow, and I assume not adequately trained as I waited at least 15 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank TS1996
Lynn P, Front Office Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review

The International Hotel would like to make guests aware that the function rooms at the hotel are managed and owned by a separate company and subsequently are not responsible for any music, catering, bar or staffing issues associated with the function rooms

Lisbon
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I went to an event on Friday 23rd May, having paid £35. We were expecting Buck's Fizz on arrival, having paid a large amount of money in advance for this, there was nothing, no apology, no explanation. On arrival at 6.55pm for 7pm start, we were told the room was not ready and asked to wait upstairs in a small...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DianaP490
Lynn P, Front Office Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review

The International Hotel would like to make guests aware that the function rooms at the hotel are managed and owned by a separate company and subsequently are not responsible for any music, catering, bar or staffing issues associated with the function rooms

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed as part of a 16 person sports group. To explain the title, the hotel: Liquorice Allsorts - it seems the hotel is in the process of updating rooms. Some were much more modern than others. My room for example has peeling wallpaper and tired looking furniture but another room was freshly decorated. Each room was en-suite, had TV (freeview...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lea T
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Having booked this hotel last minute, I did have a look at the reviews before I booked. I think some of the reveiwers must have stayed at a different hotel to us! The car park to the hotel was the first thing that greeted us. There was rubbish scattered all over the car park. I guess there must be a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MrsMCD76

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.5 km away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#21 of 29 in Derby
405 reviews
1.5 km away
The Georgian House Hotel
0.2 km away
Victoria Park Hotel
Victoria Park Hotel
#28 of 29 in Derby
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#15 of 29 in Derby
455 reviews
1.7 km away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
1,601 reviews
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Derby West
Premier Inn Derby West
#13 of 29 in Derby
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Both leisure and business guests are able to unwind in comfort at the International Hotel.There are 41 spacious guest rooms available with contemporary décor and bespoke layouts*. With convenient en-suite facilities and satellite television, extra consideration on your comfy stay is reflected in every room. Or you can upgrade to one of their two luxury Directors Rooms and unwind in a jacuzzi bath tub. A mixture of Single, Double, Twins, Family Bedrooms and Suites are also available. Essentials such as FREE WIFI, Tea and Coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, hair dryers and ironing facilities are all accessible within your room. Further additional requests can be placed with the 24 hour reception desk and Concierge Service.A peaceful night sleep is assured with snug bedding and tranquil surroundings, allowing you to feel rejuvenated for your day to come. In the morning make your way to the on-site Thyme Restaurant where a Full English or Continental breakfast awaits you.Why not have a look at what else the Thyme Restaurant has to offer, we serve a range of dishes from our new a La Carte menu 7 days a week. We are ideally located and situated just 10 minutes walking distance from Derby city centre, allowing you to explore the area at your convenience. Transport links to the M1, A52 and A38 are very easily accessible, with East Midlands Airport just a 25 minute drive and Derby Train Station approximately a 20 minute walk. Furthermore Westfield Derby shopping centre, Pride Park Football Stadium and bustling bars and clubs are just minutes away. * Please Note: all bedrooms vary in size, layout & decor. Room prices do vary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about International Hotel

Address: 288 Burton Road, Derby DE23 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Price Range: $63 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Derby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from International Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from International Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just phone and ask, staff are very helpful and honest.”
 of 5 bubbles 1kyzer1, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Looked at Room 202. Newly refurbished double room. Very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles marjoriepayling, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we had the family room and it more than comfortably for 4 adults with 2 double beds and a single.”
 of 5 bubbles Sammi_louu, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Probably quieter at the back, ask to see your room before paying!”
 of 5 bubbles roz1409, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Quiter rooms facing the car park”
 of 5 bubbles jbrussellgreen, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5