We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (27)
Storyboard
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good31%
  • Average21%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“beer garden”(7 reviews)
“pub hotel”(4 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Pool
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
54
63
47
35
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
54
63
47
35
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeer gardenpub hotelplenty of hot watergreat pubdefinately stay againcar parkbar areatea and coffee making facilitiesexcellent breakfastevening mealnice roomthe ground floorstayed for one nightdraughtwetherspoonsaleskettle
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 219 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Should and could be better, great location, iconic hotel/pub in nice old town location. Just needs some money spent on it as it is looking tired. Food and Drinking are just fine but it lacks a bear garden.

Thank dcroberts19
Innkeeper's Favourite Review
Reviewed August 11, 2017

My sister, a mutual friend and I had an amazing breakfast this morning with a nice pot of tea. they were a bit short staffed and had one server called Crystal. She was incredibly busy but still had a lovely smile for everyone. Compliments to...More

Thank amandarox
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and a friend were promptly served but the barman wasn’t polite at all. Told us the price in a very curt tone. I said in a joking tone, do I get a please with that. His reply “look it’s Saturday night and I’m in...More

Thank sstimson
Response from Goddard A, Manager at Goddard ArmsResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sstimson, You have my sincerest apologies that you were spoken to in the manner you were, not matter how busy in the pub we pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and we have obviously failed to provide this on your visit. The member of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good location in the old town. Easy and quick check in. Free on site parking. £60 per night. Excellent breakfast. Modern clean and comfortable rooms. Pub was nice and busy of an evening to relax. Recommended.

1  Thank cheapies
Reviewed April 27, 2018 via mobile

Just dropped in for a drink with friends, as it’s a Cask Marque pub. Great atmosphere and busy on a Wednesday evening. Superb beer, great bar staff, plenty of space but still felt busy (it’s a huge place). Well worth a visit.

Thank HenryStanley
Response from Goddard A, General Manager at Goddard ArmsResponded May 7, 2018

Thanks for the kind words Henry, we're hoping for 5x stars next time! :)

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Swindon
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$93 - US$105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$93 - US$105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (16)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Goddard Arms staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Not in front of the hotel."
Read review
"Avoid the rooms facing the main road. I stayed Saturday night/ through Sunday morning. It started getting..."
Read review
"Nice outside area with lovely plants and lots of tables and chairs."
Read review
"Not room 3 until the Loo problem has been solved."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing