We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chiseldon House

228 reviews
Save
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (11)
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good26%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“sorbet”(16 reviews)
“afternoon tea”(51 reviews)
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Family Rooms
Wheelchair Access
Business Centre
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (228)Write a Review
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
94
61
38
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
94
61
38
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssorbetafternoon teafinger sandwichesjam and creamscones and cakescake standfamily weddinglovely afternoonlovely buildingcountry housevegetarian optionslovely surroundingslarge roomper headonly stayed one nightsunday lunchthe main hotel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

My sister and I enjoyed a nice afternoon tea at Chiseldon House after a lovely walk around Marlborough. We were pleasantly greeted at reception and shown to a window table in the restaurant. Unfortunately there were no other guests so the atmosphere was somewhat lacking....More

Thank Marian1990
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Room was lovely, clean and warm. Food excellent and the staff were young but attentive. Hotel overall was very nice. My only criticism would be that the staff need to be shown how to iron their shirts as they look like they had slept in...More

Thank Diane B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although our room presumably represented the character of the building, it was very dated. A huge bathroom with a step up into the bath, but once in there was not even enough room to put your arms alongside you. The step was right near the...More

1  Thank MrsBoggy
Response from John P, Owner at Chiseldon HouseResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your visit and that on this occasion we did not live up to the high expectations we set for ourselves and that our customers deserve. All feedback is...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Business dinner - excellent food with attentive service - the management very aware of what is happening and who has arrived - and where they are! This hotel and restaurant are picturesque and traditional ina quiet setting - easy access from Jn 15 of M4...More

Thank TerryParad
Response from John P, Owner at Chiseldon HouseResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your positive comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your evening. Thank you for pointing out the issue with the water, I have discussed this with the appropriate manager to stop this from happening again. All feedback is useful to help...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The worst lunch ever the food was mass produced with paper thin turkey served on mash potato very few Christmas decorations coffee was supposed to be included yet we were charged and all for the rip off sum of £72 per person and then when...More

1  Thank Bmxrich
Response from John P, Owner at Chiseldon HouseResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you found my co-owner’s personal communications with you to be flippant, this was not the intention. I believe he answered each point you raised in your correspondence and is available to discuss any further points you may...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345645
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Dry Cleaning
Business Centre with Internet Access
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Price range
US$124 - US$182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$124 - US$182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (11)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mullered88
9 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from John P | Property representative |
Hi, thanks for your question, check out time is 10am. Later check outs may be available on request. Thank you
0
Votes
Plantman4U
7 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from tuvkergirl | Reviewed this property |
Lots of things to see in the area inc Cotswold wildlife park. Steam museum. Various shopping centres. And of course the many beautiful Cotswold lakes and villages. Inc Bibury and Burford. Thanks.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Did not stay overnight"
Read review
"Don't accept Room 17; see if there are deals to make the stay more reasonable on price"
Read review
"If properly presented (see above) Room 3 would be a nice room as it quite spacious"
Read review
"Did not stay so cannot comment on rooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing