We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Riverside Barn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Riverside Barn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Riverside Barn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

We were really disappointed in our stay here. The room itself had some positives,the bed was comfortable and the breakfast ok,but it was not very clean,there were odd stains on the bed and a lot of flies in the room - this is obviously not new as there was fly spray provided! The fittings felt cheap and outdated,quite shabby and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank dandybeees
Sarah B, Owner at Riverside Barn, responded to this review

I am so sorry you were disappointed we have actually recently reburbished and been visited by and maintained the 5* room only rating. We are situated on a farm so flies sometimes can occur hence the fly spray but we are very particular regarding the cleaning of both the rooms.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2015

We stayed at riverside barn for two nights on the banks of the fiver Ribble .the weather and scenery were to die for .the room we had was small but it was really very nice the bathroom was elegant .the owners helpful and very nice they made our stay lovely o n d bibb

 Report
Helpful?
Thank owen b
Sarah B, Owner at Riverside Barn, responded to this review

thank you so much hope to see you again soon - kind regards sarah

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2015

I'm going to enjoy writing this but just where to begin... Myself and my wife stayed in the Hothersall Suite for two nights over the bank holiday weekend. This was a birthday treat for my wife and our first night away since having twins so I wanted something a bit special...and let me tell you, I was not disappointed in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mike S
Sarah B, Owner at Riverside Barn, responded to this review

thank you so much hope to see you again soon - kind regards sarah

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015

We stayed in the Hothersall Suite. It is in a really peaceful location. The furnishing are luxurious, with everything co-ordinating and high quality. We loved the special touches including the rose petals and crystals on the bed and around the barn. Soaking in the deep roll top bath was bliss. The complimentary hamper was a great idea, plenty of choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
Sarah B, Owner at Riverside Barn, responded to this review

thank you so much hope to see you soon - kind regards sarah

Wirral
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

This was booked as a 50th Birthday treat. It's easy to find and is in a lovely setting. The barn is equipped with everything that you might need. On arrival the room looked lovely with rose petals placed on the bed with crystals and our towels. We were in the barn with a 4 poster and wet room as I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane2200
Sarah B, Owner at Riverside Barn, responded to this review

thank you so much hope to see you soon - kind regards sarah

birmingham
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We had a 3 night stay in the Ribble Suite. Great location, very peaceful. Room spotless and some nice touches We thought the breakfast hamper was a great idea as we were able to enjoy a leisurely breakfast and not have time restraints on when to eat. It isn't a 5 star as there is some peeling paint in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gilld1
Stalham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We stayed in the Ribble Suite for a two night break last weekend and were very impressed. Our journey took longer than expected but the owners kept in touch with us to make sure our refreshments were fresh when we arrived. Kyle greeted us and showed us to our suite, explaining where everything was and how things worked. After freshening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnELown
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

Riverside Barn is just lovely. It is located just 'at the end' of Ribchester village but is still just a 5 minute walk along the riverside road to a lovely and friendly pub. The room is spotlessly clean. All the linen, towels and bath robes have that freshly washed smell. There is lovely attention to detail in the room giving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gcpcjctcsc
Reviewed 5 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed here while walking the Ribble Way. The room was a suite with four poster bed, sofas, large bathroom TV , hi fi etc. Afternoon tea was ready in my room when I arrived. Breakfasts are continental style so those who like a full cooked breakfast might be disappointed but it didn't bother me. A little on the pricy side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Reviewed 19 December 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here in November for one night and stayed in the Ribble Suite. On arrival we were welcomed into the owner's quarters and provided with a cup of tea. Whilst the owner was clearly very hospitable and friendly, I wasn't completely convinced by this approach. I wasn't best pleased either to twice be asked whether I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank MrFussyPants11

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
3.9 km away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
399 reviews
13.6 km away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#4 of 15 in Preston
588 reviews
5.9 km away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
913 reviews
6.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
12.3 km away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury 5 star Silver accolade B&B near Preston. Picturesque riverside location in historic Ribchester. Winner of Lancashire B&B of the Year competition 2007/08. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riverside Barn

Address: Preston PR3 3XS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Price Range: $178 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riverside Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riverside Barn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, New York
3 months ago
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
8 months ago
birmingham
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Riverside Barn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd love the Riverview balcony next time.”
 of 5 bubbles JuneMeetNEat, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed I. The rubble suite the larger of the two, and in my mind the one with a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles SH1971, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Lovely views from the Ribble Suite and it has a large shower. The other room has a roll top bath/shower I believe.”
  • The other leather settee to watch the flat screen TV or look out of the patio windows.
  • A large, very light bathroom due to velux roof window. Wetroom shower area.
  • One relaxation area. Leather settee and the dining table.
  • The lovely four poster bed and the en-suite bathroom and lounge area beyond.
 of 5 bubbles OVERANOUT, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We had a view of the river Ribble and a little patio but I am nit sure about the other room.”
 of 5 bubbles 531vivf, 11 May 2016 | Read review
“Ribble suite has better views & a shower. Hothersall Suite has a luxurious deep roll top bath for a blissful soak & private seating area .”
 of 5 bubbles tracybR3691QK, 28 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay