We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Lancaster

Hotels.comUS$73*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Lancaster
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

990 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Lancaster
See the most recent reviews
Showing 973: English reviews
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2015

It is so easy to disparage these large chains but I actually quite like them. This hotel is perfectly placed, if, like me, you are travelling from S England to Scotland and want to stop about half way. The room rate is fair, they have a nice pool, situation is close to the M6 but on the edge of town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Phagocyte Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Francis Hindle General Manager

Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

I stay in this hotel because it's location is useful for when working at Heysham Power Station. It's location seems to be (to me) the only thing good about it. I am part of a nightshift working party and therefore need to be able to sleep during the day. Unfortunately on checking in I was informed that my room had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jostroby
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Jostroby I am very sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with the room you have been allocated. Please feel free to contact me or speak to the manager on duty so we can try and rectify the situation. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager

Reviewed 2 May 2015 via mobile

Normally this would be one night stopover en route for Wales but has so impressed us that we have come for a long weekend. The hotel itself is unremarkable as it is just like others in the chain but what sets this one apart is the staff. They are excellent in terms of professionalism, welcoming approach to guests and making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brae55
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Brae55 I am delighted you returned to the hotel for a longer stay this time. It sounds like you had a really great time again and it's very gratifying to know we are getting it right! We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. It is always a pleasure when a...

West Yorkshire
Reviewed 2 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed here @ Easter for a mini break & can't fault the staff, who were attentive & friendly @ all times, even on the 1st night when the hotel was packed! Room large, bright, airy & clean & the bed & pillows were really comfy. The swimming pool was fab & so was the breakfast. Good little park area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Profandcompany
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Profandcompany Thank you for posting a review and I am delighted you found the staff extremely friendly and it made your stay enjoyable; this is great feedback that I will pass on to my team. I hope to see you again at the hotel soon as I'm sure you didn't get a chance to do everything on your list....

Scotland
Reviewed 30 April 2015

As a news photographer we had occasion to call in and ask to park in the hotel grounds, so as to be near the M6 Heysham Links road development over a period of three days. We received every assistance, including passage through the hotel to access the site, and offered a Wi Fi facility. The whole experience was enjoyable, pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plumresortchecker
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Plumresortchecker Thanks so much for posting a review. I really appreciate you taking the time from your busy schedule to share your experience with others. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2015 via mobile

I like to stop in Holiday Inns when I can as you can normally count on what you going to get. Not this one, the decor is a little tired, the staff under motivated and the whole place is not as good as even some of the express hotels. There is a big car park however,it!s a good walk for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy C
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Andy C Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted that you are staying at our hotel again next week as this will give us a chance to redeem ourselves and show you our usual standards of care and attention. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2015

This is just like many of the other holidays inns, you know what you are getting if you like that it would be ok for you. The rooms and public areas are showing some age could do with an upgarde or at least a coat of paint. The hotel was full the only time this was a problem was breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 773ggf
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear 773ggf Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Our staff takes great pride in delivering great customer service so they were disappointed to read that you experienced some issues at breakfast. The breakfast team have asked me to apologise on their behalf and hope this will not deter you from visiting us again. Sincerely, Francis Hindle...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2015

beware as the pre authorization on your credit card as we noticed on checking in that ALL OF THE NUMBER SHOWED AND THE EXP DATE on departure the following morning had to re enter card in machine re enter pin then it printed the normal reciept but now showing only the last four numbers (this is what it should do...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank p a
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear p a Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please let me reassure you that our guests' personal information, including credit card details, is treated securely and all such physical information is stored in a secure place with credit card numbers masked, truncated or encrypted. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager

bolton
Reviewed 19 April 2015

We always stay here when we visit Lancaster , Good choice help yourself buffet breakfast , Nice clean comfortable good sized bedrooms , outside sitting area and children's play park , swimming pool etc !!!! Bar and snacks . The hotel is set back from the busy main rd into the city centre , bus stops outside or a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzyQBolton
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear suzyQBolton I was delighted to read you love the hotel and had enjoyed yet another great stay. So I am delighted that we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again when you next visit Lancaster. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Stopped in this hotel Christmas eve on my way home. Nice rooms and nice breakfast in the morning. Didnt make use of any of the other facilities as i basically arrived at 1.00am and left at 10am But not bad for a quick stop over and cheap as chips too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank my_reviews_uk
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear my_reviews_uk Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. Should you choose to stay with us again, I hope you have more time to enjoy the facilities we have available here at Holiday Inn Lancaster. Sincerely, Francis Hindle...

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
7.2 km away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,295 reviews
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
3.2 km away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
316 reviews
6.4 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,331 reviews
8.1 km away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Traders Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Price Range: $109 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Lancaster staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Lancaster staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Riverside were quiet”
TurnipsTheName, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Best views overlook the river”
PrincesMargaret, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the river.”
Duststorm, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Chose an executive room, much nicer and facing the river not the road.”
celand23, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose twin or river-side room”
NickB720, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$73* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$165
HolidayInn.comUS$73
Hotwire.comUS$73
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates