We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,355: English reviews
Walmersley, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had an overnight stay prior to our flights, booked car parking, very large car park, unfortunately some parts were flooded, but plenty of spaces available. Rooms comfortable, spacious and clean. All staff helpful a and friendly, dinner and breakfast was of good quality with reasonable choices. Easy transport available to the airport. Would definitely use again.

Helpful?
Thank Anne K
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read... More 

bristol
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Thanks to the Britannia Country House Hotel we always look to book our flights out of Manchester these days. For little over £50 we had a comfortable, clean and warm room. All the staff we dealt with were friendly, polite and very pleasant. The Restaurant made us sandwiches and we were able to eat them in the bar so we... More 

Helpful?
Thank bittonboy
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We had an early flight to Rome and needed car parking as well . We got a Groupon deal and can't complain about the cost or the transfer which was very good . The hotel is what it is , I would nt pay for the buffet meal and we didn't have breakfast but for parking and ease of transfer... More 

Helpful?
Thank timbo1959
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel good value for money. I look for ward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed overnight before a flight the next day. Staff friendly and helpful, room large, comfortable spotless and modern, bathroom excellent with all the little extras! Food reasonable value for money and good service, bar prices well below average to what we have encountered in other similar hotels. Yes, areas of the huge car park are flooded, but what can one... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ratzakli28082
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments. I was pleased to read that you had no difficulty finding a parking space in our car park and... More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here on NYE 2013/14. As we were checking in, another guest was complaining to staff that there was no wifi. The staff's response to this was that there was wifi but only in the bar area - bare this in mind if you need it in your room! The room was adequate. We paid for an 'executive' room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fontwell36
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay. Unfortunately we do not have an iron and ironing board in each room, we do have an ironing room on... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My stay at this hotel was a joke. On arrival, I had to search for a space in the dark unlit car park as half of it was flooded. Check-in was a joke. Two receptionists but only one was dealing with clients check-in whilst the other faffed around complaining she was losing the will to live. When I finally got... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelbug180611
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. Our car park is fully lit in all areas and has over 600 spaces, unfortunately due to adverse weather conditions one small area of the car park has become flooded however there are plenty of spaces available for guests to park away from... More 

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I were attending a function at the Golf Club over the road as we were last year. This hotel is ideally placed. Just like last year Reception is poor. Not efficient. Check in is between 2pm and 3pm Why are there only 2 staff on at this busy time. The queue to check in was out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neville B
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. Our check in time is from 2.00pm, unfortunately we have no way on knowing what time our guests will check in and if lots of guests arrive at the same time there can be a queue and... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very congested, room decor is very poor..Poor Cleanliness..Cleaned room was full of dirt on the carpet. No Double glazing in the bathroom creating very cold environment. ... Similar price you can get a lot better in the area...

Helpful?
Thank Jaymin
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you felt the room décor and cleanliness were poor. We do not have any rooms in the hotel that have single glazing, all of our bedrooms and bathrooms are double glazed. I do wish that you had contacted our reception to enable us to sort... More 

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

3rd time staying because of its location purely, but gets worse every time!! Rooms are small, basic and not worth the money. So called family room but you can't swing a cat. Tv prehistoric, reception staff ignorant, beds just dreadful!!! Wasn't even a double and pillows rock hard, none of us slept all night. Would rather drive home then stay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jillboot
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent stay. Our family rooms are larger that our double rooms and I am sorry that you felt your room was too small. It is possible to upgrade to an executive room for a small cost at reception. As you are a regular guest I would be grateful if... More 

Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This stay was to be an enjoyable stop over before a flight out from Manchester airport . Staff were pleasant enough but the room was cramped and had an odour that wasn't very pleasing. My car was parked on the area out front for the seven days of our vacation. The food on offer was plentiful but not of great... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeffoclarko
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that you felt that your room was cramped. Our standard rooms are smaller then our executive rooms and it is possible to upgrade to a larger executive room at our reception. I was pleased to read that you were happy... More 

460 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (445)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (139)
Viewed
Bathroom (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (163)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
3.2 km away
Best Western Hallmark Hotel Manchester Willowbank
2.4 km away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#75 of 118 in Manchester
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 118 in Manchester
1,094 reviews
1.6 km away
Didsbury House
Didsbury House
#4 of 118 in Manchester
560 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $77 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles 274julietb, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only stay here if you don't need to eat in the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles noughtpointzero1966, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't book”
 of 5 bubbles cazMexborough, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles 926mickv, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are better hotels closer to the airport!”
 of 5 bubbles niki_nix1989, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay