We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

PricelineUS$49*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,514 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,492: English reviews
leicester
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Room good size, reception helpful. Carvery was nice. Very good value for money. Used for airport stop over way to get to shuttle organised easily. Would stay again and recommend to others to stop..........

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barnesLeicester
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be good value for money. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for placing your positive feedback Trip Advisor and look...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

My husband&i stayed here for overnight stay before our holls .price for room&2wks parking excellent .when we booked via phone we got a room upgrade to an executive,but on arriving the room was anything but, room wasn't very big&felt like a normal room,later on evening lift broke, my husband at to carry 2 cases down stairs,plus side they let us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharon o
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the room that you were allocated and I wish you had spoken to our Duty Manager at the time as he could have arranged a room move for you...

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Quite possibly the second worst hotel I have had the unfortunate opportunity to stay in, it's a 1 star experience I want to forget and a rat run of corridors that would confuse anyone in daylight and god forbid in an emergency. ...... not my cup of tea

 Report
Helpful?
Thank demich247
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were unhappy with your recent stay. We have 255 bedrooms over 4 floors and it can be confusing for some guests. We do have plaques on the walls giving guests directions to rooms and numerous fire exit signs with arrows to ensure that if there was an emergency situation guests would know exactly where to...

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

When myself and my partner checked in around valentines day in February we were surprised to find the hotel as very spacious and luxurious. The rooms were clean, and staff friendly. The only criticism I would have is that the jacuzzi function on the bath was non operative. Breakfast was great and plentiful. Would definitely recommend this establishment and will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leahlost
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will recommend us to others. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband booked to stay here overnight as we had been invited to a wedding reception being held here. Didn't know anything about the hotel and didn't come on here to look at reviews beforehand as it was only for one night. We just wanted somewhere to shower and change on arrival for the reception (as we had to travel...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank D and D T
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

The Britannia Country House Hotel is situated in Didsbury which is not a built up area if fact we are situated next to and opposite large golf clubs. We do have in excess of 600 parking spaces at the hotel and at peak times our car park can become very busy and I am sorry that it took you a...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I was breathtaken with this hotel.was first there a year ago and back again since.the hotel is very classy and very clean.the meals are totally amazing and its a help yourself deal so you can have as much or as little as you like.you will be spoilt for choice at your evening meal-the roast dinners are superb.if you like puddings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m k
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and will be delighted to pass your comments on to all of our staff. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor

barrow-in-furness, england
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here in a nice clean room for £68.00 for accomodation, a weeks parking & return transfer. We will stay again as it gives a nice relaxing start to the Holiday. We live 2 hours away, so it take all the drama out of travelling down. We had a couple of pints & an Indian in Northenden in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paul0204
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff whom I am sure will be delighted to read them. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed here as part of a tour and was very disappointed with the room. It was very dark dingy and dirty.I had to put all the lights on the room as it was so dark due to only having one very tiny window which was so filthy you couldnt see out of it! Looked like it hadnt been cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debi C
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sincerely sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I have passed your comments on the cleanliness of the hotel to my head housekeeper to ensure all of these issues are rectified immediately. I am sorry that you did...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2014

stayed overnight on Saturday. Hotel very busy, staff friendly. Room was clean, downside the tables in restaurant are very close together, you could not have a private conversation. Dinner and breakfast was okay. It was not noisy at night. I can see it would be good value for people flying out from Manchester airport. Have stayed in better but have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ros256
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you found your room to be clean and the staff friendly. Unfortunately we are a large hotel and at times our restaurant can become extremely busy and I am sorry that you were upset by this. It...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel due to flying from manchester as we have stayed a few times this is exc value for money we had 15 nights car parking ;comfortable room for the night and a great breakfast all for £88 and then the mini bus picked us up to take us to the airport a few mins away and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 309Deedee309
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is always great to receive positive comments and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt the hotel offered an excellent service. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near...

503 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (488)
Viewed
Room/Suite (147)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (188)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.4 km away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#57 of 117 in Manchester
67 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
5.3 km away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 117 in Manchester
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 117 in Manchester
782 reviews
9.5 km away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#73 of 117 in Manchester
64 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $77 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Your own bedroom at home would be the best room to stay in.”
Rachowen1711, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“go to another hotel”
kevandlynndavey, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Try another hotel”
ukbod, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room close to reception ... or leave a trail of breadcrumbs to find your way back to your room !”
348kerryh, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“try to get upper level in summer so open windows no air condition no fan in hotel :D”
Raz7379Naz, 2 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$49* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$92
Hotels.comUS$49
Hotwire.comUS$49
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates