We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Booking.comUS$69*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,522 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,500: English reviews
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2014

we stayed here a couple of weeks ago on a Caledonian coach tour from Glasgow and this was our base for our trips out to Liverpool and chester. we were given an executive family room which was a very good size as there were only the 2 of us. the bathroom was a really good size too with a really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine0253
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Very nice stay here Thank you so much for your positive comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be delighted to pass your comments to all of the staff at the hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to...

Morecambe
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here on the evening of Sunday February 8th, booked twin executive room, which was ready on arrival. My only comment was that it was rather cold in the room and had to ask reception twice if we could have some heat, ended up sitting in bar. Loads of car parking space though some areas were flooded. As you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanetteSMorecambe
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Good Value Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments. I was pleased to read that you had no difficulty finding a parking space in our car...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2014

stayed at country house while on a National break. Read some of the previous reviews and was a little unsure of what we'd get but our room was a good sized executive twin, ensuite and clean. Heating wasn't on when we arrived but came on later and was good. Yes it is a little tired in places and if I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheena1410
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

5* staff in a 3* hotel Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found your room spacious clean and comfortable. I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff. Once again...

fife
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed here in February 2014 at the beginning and end if a holiday. I found the first room freezing with draughty windows and the decor was in need or a makeover. the second room looked a bit more modern but the radiator were off when we arrived late at night (in february brrr) I used the swimming pool which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fionafaefife
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Sitting on the fence Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that there was an issue with the heating in your room. Im pleased to hear you enjoyed are spa facilities. Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board. Kind...

Lytham St Annes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here on Sat 21st Dec as a treat for our son who is 11, we arrived to the reception having no booking in our name, the receptionist said he would sort it asap and would we like to wait in the bar. This pleased my hubby as the Liverpool fame was on. After 15 mins the receptionist came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ninnieLythamStAnnes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that your booking was not in our system on your arrival at the Hotel which caused a delay. Unfortunately some of our guests can be noisy, we do ask them to quieten down however...

Walmersley, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had an overnight stay prior to our flights, booked car parking, very large car park, unfortunately some parts were flooded, but plenty of spaces available. Rooms comfortable, spacious and clean. All staff helpful a and friendly, dinner and breakfast was of good quality with reasonable choices. Easy transport available to the airport. Would definitely use again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read...

bristol
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Thanks to the Britannia Country House Hotel we always look to book our flights out of Manchester these days. For little over £50 we had a comfortable, clean and warm room. All the staff we dealt with were friendly, polite and very pleasant. The Restaurant made us sandwiches and we were able to eat them in the bar so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bittonboy
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had an early flight to Rome and needed car parking as well . We got a Groupon deal and can't complain about the cost or the transfer which was very good . The hotel is what it is , I would nt pay for the buffet meal and we didn't have breakfast but for parking and ease of transfer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timbo1959
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel good value for money. I look for ward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed overnight before a flight the next day. Staff friendly and helpful, room large, comfortable spotless and modern, bathroom excellent with all the little extras! Food reasonable value for money and good service, bar prices well below average to what we have encountered in other similar hotels. Yes, areas of the huge car park are flooded, but what can one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ratzakli28082
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments. I was pleased to read that you had no difficulty finding a parking space in our car park and...

Manchester
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here on NYE 2013/14. As we were checking in, another guest was complaining to staff that there was no wifi. The staff's response to this was that there was wifi but only in the bar area - bare this in mind if you need it in your room! The room was adequate. We paid for an 'executive' room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fontwell36
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay. Unfortunately we do not have an iron and ironing board in each room, we do have an ironing room on...

503 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (488)
Viewed
Room/Suite (147)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (188)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.4 km away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 117 in Manchester
71 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
5.3 km away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 117 in Manchester
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 117 in Manchester
785 reviews
9.5 km away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#73 of 117 in Manchester
64 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $74 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are pretty much all the same from my experience”
Tumeltys, 29 May 2017 | Read review
“Book direct with the hotel and request a cooler room.”
rwelfare, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Your own bedroom at home would be the best room to stay in.”
Rachowen1711, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“go to another hotel”
kevandlynndavey, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Try another hotel”
ukbod, 11 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$69* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$131
Hotwire.comUS$69
TravelocityUS$69
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates