We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pendulum Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Pendulum Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,598 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Pendulum Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,509: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed for one night for work. It was basic but clean and comfortable, and I had a good night's sleep. Great pillows. The breakfast was good and the staff were really nice. It's also very close to Piccadilly station and the University. Fun fact: there is an actual pendulum there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ToonTravels1958
Pendulumhotel, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. It is really pleasing to read that you enjoyed your overnight stay and we hope to extend another warm welcome the next time you visit Manchester

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Hmmm shame about this Hotel the staff are very friendly and helpful, the facilities are good and the position is excellent for the Uni or town centre. Problem is the sound proofing is terrible so you hear EVERY conversation of people getting up for breakfast before their conference's (of which there is many in this Hotel) so you get very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
Pendulumhotel, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to read about your experience and have immediately made direct contact to express our genuine apology and address all points in a timely and customer focused manner. Once Again may we offer our genuine apology if you experienced disturbance from other guest during your stay.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Great Hotel in a great location. The staff are super friendly, very helpful and make you feel welcome. The rooms are good size, clean and comfy. Breakfast was very good! Car park, The hotel has no car park but we parked in the Multi Story right next door, £4 for Saturday and Sunday! Will defiantly use this hotel again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john R
Pendulumhotel, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel and we are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and was pleased to hear that the team look well after you. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Pendulum Hotel Manchester city center in the near future.

Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

The standard rooms are pretty small. Having said that they have everything you would need although only really suitable for single occupancy. The bathroom is nice with a powerful shower. The rooms are nice and quite. Bed is very comfortable and the duvet like sleeping under a cloud. The Garden Bar is very nice and well stocked. Offering lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna K
Pendulumhotel, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review and positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Just wanted to mention all of the staff at this hotel. Reception, bar staff, catering, unfailingly polite, friendly and helpful. I was very impressed. The rooms are not the greatest of you want space, but in my opinion, the customer service made up for that. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank windyridge19
Pendulumhotel, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are thrilled to read you kind comments recommending us as an ‘exceptional staff’ in an ‘excellent location’ of the city. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are visiting Manchester.

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 9 March 2017

I was here for only three nights, but it was quite good. It's not as pricey as the surrounding hotels, and the price is worth it for the BIG breakfast I had every morning. Our conference was right in the hotel, so it was a convenient place to rest at the end of a busy day. A special shoutout to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank illustria
Pendulumhotel, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. We are very proud of our professional team and will share your kind comments with them all. Thanks again.

Horton-in-Ribblesdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017

From the moment we walked in the Manager Jay & his staff greeted us with a smile and couldnt be more helpful. The room wasn't quite ready so he gave us a 20% off voucher for a drink in the bar whilst we waited also my phone was running out of charge so he put it o charge for me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn J
Pendulumhotel, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for offering us a wonderful 5 star review following your first visit to our hotel. It is rewarding for the whole team to read your range of lovely comments and we appreciate you recommending us. Thanks again.

Lancs uk
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

We stopped at The Pendulum after a visit to the Palace Theatre. Excellent location and nearby parking . The room was compact but spotlessly clean and well thought out. It was excellent value for money and was ideal for a one night central city stop over. The breakfast was very good and had a good choice of produce for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claireatclaste
Pendulumhotel, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to read your kind comments and range of positive feedback following your recent stay with us. We will share all points with our team and hope to extend another friendly welcome in the future. Thanks again.

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The hotels convenient for the center of Manchester, not too far to walk, check in was a bit slow, reception was modern and clean. Lifts to rooms were fine. Rooms were 'tight' - clean, warm and had everything you needed for a night and it was OK for 1 person in a double bed for 1 night but if there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirebird27
Pendulumhotel, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for offering us feedback. Our compact ‘City-Doubles’ are our smallest double rooms, each is well-equipped with power shower, free Wi-Fi and everything required for a short stay in the city. However, our classic, twin or exec suite rooms do offer more space plus comfy seating areas, should you wish to upgrade. We apologize for noise caused by the...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night at this hotel and wasn't disappointed, it is only 5 minutes from the train station and pretty central to the main area of Manchester, in fact it's right in the heart of the university. The room was clean and well thought out, although quite small there was everything in it that a more expensive hotel has....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
Pendulumhotel, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience and offer important and valuable feedback. We will share all points with our team and hope to extend another friendly welcome in the future. Thanks again.

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 km away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.5 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.6 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.3 km away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#57 of 116 in Manchester
726 reviews
0.5 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 116 in Manchester
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $106 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Manchester
#43 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pendulum Hotel staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Rome
over a year ago
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from The Pendulum Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay away from the rooms by the stairs as people walk past when getting in and going out.”
fluminese, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Dont think it matters as so clean, but if you want more room, ask for bigger room but ours was fine as it was!!”
46kathrynj, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“422 but its twin beds.”
ValerieT541, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you value your sleep, book into different hotel...”
TheGeekette, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pay the little extra to get the bigger room.”
Jaynee2015, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5