We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

YHA Manchester

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Manchester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Manchester
See the most recent reviews
Showing 288: English reviews
Brigg, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Although the hostel was nice and the staff were polite, and the food was good, our room (6 bed room with toilet) was awful. There was an extremely strong smell of weed in our room even with the window open. The floor had a stick and wet patch on the floor and the toilet was dirty, there was urine stain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amanda2470
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're pleased to hear you thought the hostel was nice, the staff were polite and you enjoyed the food. We take our cleanliness very seriously so are disappointed and sorry to hear we didn't meet our own high standards on this occasion. I have passed your feedback onto our housekeeping...

Parbold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. I stayed at YhA before flying out the next day and then again on my return. The staff were so friendly and went above and beyond on both visits. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Manchester.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nonstoptraveling1989
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review and recommendation, it's great to hear our staff went above and beyond. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Fabulous place to stay. Really lovely staff and the hostel was nice and clean. Lovely atmosphere the only issue we had we didn't like the bathroom but you get what you pay for but overall would highly recommend if you're just wanting a nice cheap place to say. Thankyou

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daniellecarterx
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and recommendation, we hope you had a great time in Manchester and hope to see you again soon.

North Wales
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed in this hotel for New Year's Eve. We couldn't leave the hotel fast enough What can I say about this hotel?? The room was dirty Dirty sanitary towel under the bed There was horrible muck smeared on the window and the smell from the toilet was actually making us feel a little sick The noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djmarcelbeattie
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

The cost of accommodation is what has always prevented us from seeing more of the UK as a family. My husband has an annual guys holiday in youth hostels and suggested we give it a go - great call hubby! Really impressed by this youth hostel. Clean and modern; family room was basic but a perfect base to sleep; staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoelfranklin
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review and recommendation, we're so pleased to have convinced you that YHA membership is a wonderful thing and hope you get to see some more of our amazing hostels around the country.

Reviewed 18 December 2016

1. YHA membership card didn't gave me discount: Last night i staying YHA manchester, made me Disappointed. because Saturday night will be double price 35£, i got YHA membership card, that reception see my card at first time i arrived for check in , i ask her to extra one more night ,so i paid 35£ on Saturday night ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mi Chi R
Oliver W, General Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

I've noted the comments you've made and am currently in the process of sending a separate response to the same complaint you emailed us. We're still investigating parts of your complain however I can give you a response on a couple of your points at this stage. 1. Apologies we didn't add your membership discount onto the extra night you...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Easily the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in, couldn't fault the bedroom at all. Beds are maybe a little firm but they were very comfortable and exceptionally clean. For the price paid, they were amazing! Room was also far bigger than anticipated, I assumed this was for accessibility as another guest in the dorm used a wheelchair. Big lockers in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeanPhoenix
Oliver W, General Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Wow what a fantastic review, thank you. I've shared your feedback with my team and our housekeepers had the biggest smiles. Shame a snorer let us down a bit. Think we've had one or two recently. Hope to see you again soon.

Dundee
Reviewed 9 December 2016

All the staffs are very kind and I have a nice room with a beautiful view. However, if only my roommates didn't snore at night:-) Btw, the location is good. It's not far from the city centre and there is a museum near it which looks not bad.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jarvenl
Oliver W, General Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Snoring room mates are never fun. We've got a stock of earplugs at reception if you stay again :) Apart from that glad you enjoyed your experience here and hoe to see you again.

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Great location , great prices , great staff but very hard to find . Nobody around the area knew of it , neither did taxi drivers so make sure to know where you are going . Very accommodating with check in and baggage ,also late check out is available for £5 .Spotless clean and warm

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
Oliver W, General Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time to review your stay with us. Great to read you thought we had a spotless place and we were warm, especially at this time of year! Hope you choose to stay with us again next time you visit the city.

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 30 November 2016

The location of this hostel was really good, just a short walk from the city centre. And I absolutly loved the building itself, as wel as the lounge/ dining area. The staff was friendly and helpfull. I have stayed at other YHA hostels before, so I knew what to expect roomwise, a nice (basic) room for a good price.I really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauratjh

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
1.2 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
2,329 reviews
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
1.0 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about YHA Manchester

Address: Potato Wharf | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $34 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your YHA Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Manchester Hotel Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Manchester staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Manchester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for one overlooking the canal”
 of 5 bubbles billyburp, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ensure you've a group going or don't stay here if you don't like people invading your space.”
 of 5 bubbles laurenswordsx, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose en suite if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles teessidecouple, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Corridor doors bang loudly and only one thin pillow per bed”
 of 5 bubbles 382garryd, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Room on canal side.”
 of 5 bubbles 58Grannie, 19 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5