We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mitre Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

856 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mitre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 821: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's dirty, nothing works, the staff is incompetent, noice all night long. management focus on being as rude as possible. It's mole in the rooms. Next time I go to Manchester I rather stay outside during the night rather than at the Mitre!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank plopp99
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

hotel is well positioned but extremely dated, old and rickety! lots of hen and stag clientele so quite noisy lady behind reception was nice breakfast was appalling couldn't open windows in room as there was something I could only describe as a rat run outside my window no cold water running in the bath or the shower so I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natsheff
Liverpool
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I recently booked in for one night at The Mitre Hotel, Manchester in order to attend a concert. Although the hotel was situated in a really convenient position for shopping etc we thought that it was in serious need of a makeover and did not live up to the pictures on its website. Our room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
EmilyMitre, Public Relations Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mary, Thanks for your comments. The hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment, so we appreciate your thoughts during this time. We hope you decide to visit us again after our makeover! Kind regards, Emily

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Mitre Hotel is a terrible, dirty place to stay. Rooms are dated, shower was disgusting, TV in room did not work, wiring in the room was very poor. It was very noisy inside and outside. I would not recommend for anyone to stay there only good thing was location. Breakfast was poor. This is not a value for money...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinawhite12
EmilyMitre, Public Relations Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, This is not great to hear. If you would like to expand on your comments made here so that we can take appropriate action within the hotel please contact the reservations manager at reservations@mitrehotel.co.uk. Kind regards, Emily

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is a complete mess! The hall ways around the hotel where unsafe and disgusting when walking down the stair I went over on my ankle due to the uneven floor. The room was grubby carpet was sticky and dirty. Stains on the curtains that didn't cover the windows, broken door handle to the room making it feel unsafe,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rayann H
EmilyMitre, Public Relations Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, We believe that the reservations manager has since been in contact with the lead guest of this reservation regarding their stay. The issues brought up here are already under investigation and we hope that you accept our offer of compensation as detailed in the email sent to the guest. Kind regards, Emily

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Woke up this morning after staying there Sat night covered in bites. Also boomed a suite and paid £250 on arrival to be sent to a room with 3 single beds and no toilet!! W complained and was dealt with by bar manger which was very apologetic. We ended up getting a refund of £220 but no apartment. Receptionist very...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank A TripAdvisor Member
EmilyMitre, Public Relations Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, We are very sorry for the experience you had with us during your stay. I have been personally dealing with this complaint via email communication with the lead guest of this reservation and hope we can issue you with some compensation. Kind regards, Emily

Benbecula Island, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a single room with en-suite shower. The window opened and the view was of the side of the cathedral. Just lovely. It was only £39 pounds, ex breakfast. So what more could I have wanted? Nothing at all. Lots of stairs because it's an old building. Creaky floors, ditto. On the Tuesday night I was there it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cateun
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It's a Okey hotel. The location is excellent. The beds are terrible and the toilets too. I would never check in here again with my girl. But for one night with freinds who don't care it's okey. The staff is friendly and a good WiFi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan J
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Downstairs in its bars, The Mitre looks pleasant enough and the breakfast there is perfectly fine. So are the staff. However, the bedrooms and the stairs to them are quite grotty/ tired/ in need of redecoration. (Note: some rooms have shared bathrooms-- so take care when booking!) Then again, this is a very cheap hotel right in the very heart...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyj0849
EmilyMitre, Guest Relations Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review. We would just like to let you know that we are currently undergoing renovation in some areas of the hotel and appreciate your opinions during this time. Kind regards, Emily The Mitre Hotel

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend bought the 2 course for 4 people and a glass of wine deal off Groupon for mother's day. It was ment to be a nice surprise for the women in our lives that do so much for us. We'd rang a week in advanced and booked the table for 3pm we had a drink in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sian J

490 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (359)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (166)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Standard Room (19)
Viewed
Superior Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Twin Room (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.7 km away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#68 of 116 in Manchester
1,059 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#44 of 116 in Manchester
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
1.6 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $71 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mitre Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mitre Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here”
JoyJoyA2017, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay there”
tinawhite12, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I would say there isn't a good room in this place”
AlanT827, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“it's ok,good value&area. However the place is falling apart, in need of tlc, you can do better!”
V4729INmattb, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for room thats not over looking the alley”
xashliedionx, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5