We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Chateau de Pourtales

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (507)
Room & Suite (83)
Dining (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#9 of 137 hotels in Strasbourg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Château de Pourtalès is located in the green setting of the Parc de Pourtalès in the north of Strasbourg, 3.3 km far from the European institutions and 5.3 km from the Strasbourg Cathedral. Built in 1750, the Château is a witness to the European history. It has welcomed great musicians, philosophers and poets such as Albert Schweitzer, Franz Liszt, Napoleon III, Empress Eugénie Il to name just a few of them. Even today, the castle is still a place where different nations gather, as well as a place of meeting and exchange. The hotel has a wellness area with a Finnish sauna, hammam, relaxation facilities and access to the private garden. The breakfast buffet is served daily and the hotel parking is free of charge and without prior reservation. The 48 hotel rooms are spread over the historical building "le Château", the annex "le Chalet" and the new building "le Parc". From the traditional charm and the period parquet flooring of the rooms in the castle, to the modern and refined spirit of the new rooms recently inaugurated in the extension “Le parc”, largely inspired by the natural surroundings, the hotel offers you to immerse yourself in different atmospheres while enjoying an exceptional setting. The park with its 15 hectares offers many walks or bike rides on the marked trails in search of subtly hidden works of art or waterfalls.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Sauna
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Hammam
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
800Reviews10Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 489
  • 217
  • 66
  • 17
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Snaja wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
I was staying in the newest building and my room was gorgeous! Very clean and had air conditioning. Would definitely recommend staying in that building if you are staying in summer. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Of course the grounds were so very beautiful and the woods are amazing. Also, being able to borrow bicycles was a very nice touch. Would recommend 100%
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you are staying during hot days, book the newest building to have air conditioning.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Wild, Service clients/Réception at Hotel Château de Pourtales
Responded Aug 28, 2023
Dear guest, thank you warmly for taking the time to share a feedback. We are happy to read that you enjoyed so much our hotel and your words mean a lot to all the chateau Team ! We offer bikes rentals throughout the summer season, it's great that you took the opportunity to go to the city centre and use the many cycle paths. Strasbourg is regularly praised for being friendly to cyclists . We look forward to welcoming you back soon !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Happiness28271255061 wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
the worth place you will ever experience no condition , no ice bugs all over i would never go their in my life . staff are unfriendly you have to carry your own luggage . no transpiration very borrowing site no restaurant around nothing to do around , even if you go to the city it will cost you so much money to take a taxi , i would never visit Strasbourg
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: very bad services
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Wild, Service clients/Réception at Hotel Château de Pourtales
Responded Jul 21, 2023
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are sorry to hear that your stay was so unpleasant, fortunately we aren't used to so much negativity. After speaking with the members of our team that you met during your stay, it appears that you informed our receptionist of your complaints as soon as you arrived. We complied with your requests and found you a room that you said really appreciated. Our assistant manager personally accompanied you and helped you to move your luggage. We are always happy to help our guests when they have difficulties with their luggage, however it is obvious that we don't offer a baggage handler service. This service isn't usually available in a *** stars hotel. We can only regret that you didn't wish to note our kindness and availability to you. Furthermore, throughout your stay you tried to obtain services that we don't offer as you are a Genius 3 customer on booking.com. As you noticed before choosing to book at our hotel, we don't participate in this programme and all the informations about our services are available prior to booking. We understand that despite our team's flexibility and patience we had no chance of satisfying you just like our beautiful city of Strasbourg, which didn't find favour with you either. Best regards, Charlotte Wild
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sweatshop51 wrote a review Apr 2023
Worland, Wyoming355 contributions191 helpful votes
Beautiful grounds with lots of walking trails. the room was a great size and very clean. free parking. Restaurant. Great staff and services. We wish we would have stayed another night. We drove into the historical district but it is possible to walk.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Lovely location
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Wild, Service clients/Réception at Hotel Château de Pourtales
Responded Sep 13, 2023
Dear guest, thank you warmly for taking the time to share a feedback. We are delighted that you had a great stay in our hotel and fully enjoyed the surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you again ! Charlotte Wild
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
camila fernandez wrote a review Nov 2022
7 contributions2 helpful votes
The Chateau de Pourtales is in itself an amazing experience. My room had a view into the precious Parc de Pourtales where I also made unforgettable walks surrounded by the most beautiful and old trees. Breakfast is amazing! The staff is very friendly! You can also use a sauna!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: As for a room with view to the Parc!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Wild, Service clients/Réception at Hotel Château de Pourtales
Responded Nov 14, 2022
Dear guest, thank you warmy for taking the time to share your nice feedback. We are delighted that you felt at home at the Château de Pourtalès. This's what we wish, that's our guests to feel comfortable and fully enjoy their stays ! We look forward to welcoming you back soon, Charlotte Wild and the whole team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
74Dennis wrote a review Nov 2022
Amersfoort, The Netherlands24 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a pleasant stay in one of the rooms of the château. Very friendly staff! We enjoyed our breakfast, the view from our room, the wellness (wow!), the park behind the château. The beds were according to us a bit too firm, but the room was clean.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Wild, Service clients/Réception at Hotel Château de Pourtales
Responded Nov 15, 2022
Dear Dennis, thank you warmly fo taking the time to share your feedback and we are delighted that you had a relaxing stay in our hotel. Great to read that you enjoyed all our services both our breakfast buffet, the wellness area and the friendliness of our team ! We regret that the mattress wasn't to your liking however we hope you will come back soon, Charlotte Wild and the whole team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TrophyCollector wrote a review Oct 2022
Monaco-Ville, Monaco674 contributions871 helpful votes
History feeling in a chateau with excellent price-benfit-ratio. You feel that the owners care about good quality and service, despite the affordable price point. This hotel is a recommendation outside the crowded Strassburg city center.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Wild, Service clients/Réception at Hotel Château de Pourtales
Responded Nov 14, 2022
Dear guest, thank you warmly for taking the time to write a comment after your stay and for recommending our hotel to future travellers. We are delighted that you had a nice stay and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon, Charlotte Wild and all the team of the Château de Pourtalès
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CharlieinVA wrote a review Sep 2022
Williamsburg,VA40 contributions62 helpful votes
This is an incredibly unique hotel that is every bit a chateau. The setting is something special as is the beautiful architecture. Our room in the "parc wing" was large and very comfortable. The dining room and breakfast were exceptional; perfect way to start the day. Staff was very kind and helpful. Note that for dinner you will have to drive to surrounding towns. Instead, do what we did: sit out in the courtyard in the gazebo with wine, bread, cheese, meats and fruit and enjoy the surroundings. Much more satisfying than another dinner out during our two weeks in Europe. One note: Chateau Pourtales holds business meetings/social events. One night the music was particularly loud as a small group was gathered outside our window. The staff said it was up to us to approach them which we did. On a side note, the reason the window was open was the AC wasn't working and the room was very stuffy. Kudos to the front desk staff who immediately brought us a fan for our stay which was a life saver. Overall, we had a great experience and the Chateau was a very good value for the money
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking rear parking lot.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Wild, Service clients/Réception at Hotel Château de Pourtales
Responded Oct 26, 2022
Dear guest, thank you warmly for taking the time to share a so nice and detailed feedback. We are delighted to read that you had a great stay with us. As you know we are attentive to the well-being of our guests and we always try to reconcile our hotel guest with the events that the castle hosts. We will make our staff even more careful to avoid any noise near the rooms that do not belong. We look forward to welcoming you back soon ! Charlotte Wild and the whole team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jiri T wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
One night stop on way to south France, exceptional atmosphere, very helpful and friendly staff, good variety of breakfast, 24 hours self-service bar with wine and hot drinks, overall amazing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Wild, Service clients/Réception at Hotel Château de Pourtales
Responded Sep 24, 2022
Dear guest, thank you warmly for your nice feedback ! We are so delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay, both for the quality of our services and for the professionalism of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, Charlotte Wild and the whole team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steyer R wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Exactly as described and better. We were free to walk through some of the chateau and the outside was full of passerbys, runners cyclists families. The breakfast was great, no eggs but I think that's a thing in France now? The room was modern, very functional, but still felt like we were staying in a chateau.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring a bike or running shoes
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Wild, Service clients/Réception at Hotel Château de Pourtales
Responded Aug 25, 2022
Dear Mr Steyer, thank you so much for taking the time to share a comment and informations with future travellers. This is one of the strong points of our hotel; it offers the opportunity to live in different atmospheres while enjoying an exceptional setting. We are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. There are usually eggs every day, our guests can cook them themselves with the cooker in breakfast room. During your stay it was a one-off problem as the cooker stopped working but we have since replaced. We look forward to welcoming you back soon ! Charlotte Wild and the whole team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carsten wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This was a trip with my wife, my mother (85 years) and my mother in law (82 years). A bit ourside, but quite, relaxing and worth every Cent: I love this Hotel. Beautiful, well-equiped rooms, best breakfast, close by Restaurants. Check the Hotel website: this is honest and all true. My mother said: this was the Best Hotel she has ever been. Well, I guess that says it all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I recommend a room in "Le Parc" which are a bit more modern.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Wild, Service clients/Réception at Hotel Château de Pourtales
Responded Aug 25, 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for your feedback and for recommending our hotel to future travellers. What a pleasure to read that you and your family were very happy with your stay at the Château, your happiness is our greatest reward. A special thanks to your mother ! We look forward to welcoming you back soon, Charlotte Wild and the whole team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Strasbourg area.
PRICE RANGE
C$158 - C$228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceGrand EstBas-RhinStrasbourg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Chateau de Pourtales - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Château de Pourtales
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Château de Pourtales?
Nearby attractions include Cathedrale Notre Dame de Strasbourg (4.6 km), THE LITTLE RED DOOR (4.8 km), and SENSAS Strasbourg (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Château de Pourtales?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Château de Pourtales?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Château de Pourtales?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Château de Pourtales?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Château de Pourtales?
Conveniently located restaurants include Guillaume Scheer - Les Plaisirs Gourmands, Elite Steak House, and SA KI BON.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Château de Pourtales?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna and yoga classes during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Château de Pourtales?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Château de Pourtales offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Château de Pourtales?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Château de Pourtales?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cave historique des hospices civils de Strasbourg (5.1 km), La Neustadt (4.2 km), and Aubette (L') (4.9 km).