Couvent du Franciscain

Couvent du Franciscain

18 rue du Faubourg de Pierre, 67000, Strasbourg France
Traveller (107)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

C$84
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#57 of 137 hotels in Strasbourg
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in the touristic heart of Strasbourg, few minutes walking distance from majors points of interest of the city. The hotel is located in an adjacent small street that keeps rooms away from the noise of the majors’ road. About 10 minutes walking distance from the main railway station and 20 minutes from all the European Institutions.Public transportation as tramway are accessible 100 meters from hotel.Buffet breakfast is served in a typical Winstub room in the basement of the hotel, adjacent to the meeting room with its sky roof.Floors are accessible with two elevators.Hotel is only 25 km from strasbourg airport, also accessible by train in 9 minutes. German, Baden Baden Airport is 40 km away.All rooms fully renovated in 2013.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Car park
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, German

Location

18 rue du Faubourg de Pierre, 67000, Strasbourg France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 97 out of 100
97
Entzheim Airport
10.3 km
See all flights
Soellingen Airport
32.5 km
See all flights
Strasbourg Station
12 min
433Reviews7Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 114
  • 203
  • 63
  • 31
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
mwatso339300 wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel was fairly basic with tired rooms. Very central, clean and the staff were great helpful and friendly. I am gluten and dairy free, ad they went the extra mile to get gluten free bread in so I could have breakfast etc. Would certainly stay again. Overall just felt it would have been a €60 to €70 room rather than €100 + room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sébastien Denys, Propriétaire at Couvent du Franciscain
Responded Jun 14, 2022
Dear Mwatso, We were delighted to share your warm compliments with the team. To underline their sympathy and helpfulness, combining their professional expertise with an indispensable kindness, has sincerely touched them and they thank you for it. We are indeed fortunate to work alongside a passionate team. As for the decoration, we have refurbished a large part of the rooms in an atmosphere in which a majority of people feel at ease. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality/price ratio of our hotel. It is with your feedback that our hotel can evolve and offer a service that is as close as possible to your expectations. We have therefore shared your opinion on the decoration of the hotel with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Franciscan Convent Hotel. Yours sincerely Alice Mallet
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
asyomin3 wrote a review Feb 2020
Ukraine1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Good reasonably priced hotel. Fully corresponds to its category of comfort 3 stars. Near the historical center. The station is within walking distance. There is a supermarket in the next building. Very suitable for business trips and for travelers with middle incomes. Recommend./ Хороший недорогой отель. Полностью соответствует своей категории комфортабельности 3 звезды. Рядом с историческим центром. Вокзал в пешеходной доступности. В соседнем здании супермаркет. Очень подходит для деловых командировок и для путешественников со средними доходами. Рекомендую.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sebastien d, Propriétaire at Couvent du Franciscain
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Dear Asyomin3, Thank you very much for your 5 stars comment ! We are happy to see that you enjoyed our location and the good value for money, We hope to see you again in our hotel for your next trip in Strasbourg, Best regards, Gautier
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adri van der Hoeven wrote a review Feb 2020
Dinteloord, The Netherlands8 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
To be honest, the Hotel is near the place where I need to be business, but ... Good rooms, fully equipped. Clean, decor of recent year. Service oriented and friendly staff. In short, I've been coming for years. Good and closed parking garage!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sebastien d, Propriétaire at Couvent du Franciscain
Responded Feb 5, 2020
Dear guest, We are very happy to read your message, We are pleased to welcome you each time you have to come in Strasbourg for a businnesstrip :) Looking forward to your next stay with us ! Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wpkenny wrote a review Dec 2023
Dublin, Ireland21 contributions23 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The picture says it all. Please just look at my picture and avoid the hotel

I paid just €200 to stay in a room that I struggled to stand up in . Dirty filthy carpet freezing cold . The staff at reception were nice but again when you see the room you will see why review should be -1
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid . Not a hotel room .better off staying in the airport or a hostel . The room provided is...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sébastien Denys, Propriétaire at Couvent du Franciscain
Responded Dec 14, 2023
Good evening Sir, Madam, We thank you for your feedback concerning your experience in our hotel. We apologize that you did not enjoy it fully, you had indeed the smallest room in our hotel. We can find it some architerctural charm since the beams are typical of Alsace, but we do understand the point here. Unfortunately the prices are the same in Strasbourg in the period of Christmas market for similar sizes. We thank you for your kind note about the staff as it is a priority for us to be convenient. We hope to welcome you again with a room that can fit your expectations better ! Best regards, Elena
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
everywhere_everyway wrote a review Jul 2020
Belgium69 contributions75 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent one night in covid time.
Our room, n 23 was on the small size but overall comfortable and quiet.

We were there before 17 and checkin wasnt ready since we did t know it was supposed to start from 17. We didnt receive the email about it.

But with a phone call evertything was fixed. As a compensation they didnt make us pay the parking.

Very nice gesture!

Typical continental breakfast. No lights no shadows.

Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gautier Grandgeorge, Directeur général at Couvent du Franciscain
Responded Jul 9, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, We did sent you an email to explain you the process for the check-in at 5 P.M. I'm sorry if you didn't get the time to read it, However it seems that you enjoyed your stay with us, than you and see you next time !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lizzie wrote a review Dec 2021
Angers, France1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything was great. Service was excellent and very friendly. Proper breakfast and cleanliness was tops. Perhaps just one small comment. My twin bed would have been better appreciated if it was a bit more padded. Definitely recommend this hotel!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sébastien Denys, Propriétaire at Couvent du Franciscain
Responded Jun 13, 2022
Dear Erkane435449, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in December. We are also very pleased and proud to know that you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms. It is true that our first priority is to offer a perfect service of exceptional quality. We were delighted to share your warm compliments with the kitchen team and staff. Underlining their friendliness, combining their professional expertise with an indispensable kindness, has sincerely touched them and they thank you for it. We are indeed fortunate to work alongside a passionate team. As for your suggestion, we have passed on your request to our teams. We look forward to welcoming you back, Sincerely, Alice Mallet
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wendy L wrote a review Aug 2020
Leatherhead, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to stop in Strasbourg for the night on our drive from the UK to Italy. Comfortable beds, good shower, great location and nice breakfast. We've booked again for our return trip at the end of the month.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gautier Grandgeorge, Directeur général at Couvent du Franciscain
Responded Aug 11, 2020
Hi Wendy , Thank you for your very nice review, Enjoy Italy, we are glad to welcome you again on your return trip to UK :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mariette wrote a review Jan 2020
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is very well located, close to the city center, but in a quiet place. There is a comfortable parking nearby. The stuff is attentive and helpfull. We had 2 rooms for our family, twin beds room was bigger than double bed. Breakfast was good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sebastien d, Propriétaire at Couvent du Franciscain
Responded Jan 29, 2020
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write for this superb comment! We hope to see you again soon in our beautiful city! Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terry H wrote a review Dec 2022
Asheville, North Carolina16 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here while visiting the Christmas Markets. Very comfortable room, and the location was good. Staff was vert helpful to share getting around information. Loved the blackout shades. Would stay at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sébastien Denys, Propriétaire at Couvent du Franciscain
Responded Apr 13, 2023
Hello Terrydoo, We would like to thank you for having chosen our establishment for your stay in Strasbourg. Thank you very much for sharing your satisfaction after your stay. Your compliments go straight to our hearts. The whole team is delighted to have been able to satisfy you. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Yours sincerely, Alizé Basarslan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Raquel M wrote a review Aug 2018
7 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had booked a triple room for 2 nights in this hotel through an agency and what was my surprise when I realised that my reservation had been cancelled by the hotel. The receptionist in the moment I arrived was an adult man who received to me and my friends in a very stupid way. Furthermore, I showed him my accepted booking confirmation and he denied that truth; he only said that I had cancelled and that it was impossible that it could be confirmed. Obviously, when I phoned to the agency in order to explain everything, they confirmed my version: this hotel had cancelled by reservation. Imagine my face, thinking on enjoying Strasbourg and in that moment I had no accommodation.tl That receptionist did not do anything in order to help me.
I ordered my agency to report this hotel because of its negligence and I would like to express by this way too the treat they gave me, specially that receptionist.
I hope that nobody else suffers from this experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Italia1944 asked a question Mar 2019
London, United Kingdom45 contributions31 helpful votes
How far is christmas market from this hotel?
Answer from Sébastien DENYS
Strasbourg, France43 contributions
Dear Guest, Strasbourg's Christmas market is in fact more than 10 different market. Two main markets at cathedral and Broglie. Broglie is just 3 minutes and cathedral is just 6 minutes walking distance from hotel. All market are no more than 10 minutes walking distance from hotel. Regards. Sébastien.
Answer from Menetou
Paris, France271 contributions102 helpful votes
Quite close. You are a few blocks from the bridge that leads into town (just a couple minutes away), then you have several XMas markets to see. From the hotel to the main one on the Cathedral square is a mere 10 minutes (1/2 mile).
Answer from Sébastien DENYS
Strasbourg, France43 contributions
Dear Tom, Hotel is only 12 minutes walking distance from railway station. If you do not have too much lungage, I would recommend you to walk. In front of the Railway station, one street is going to the river with a Mc Donald at the corner. go to the river and turn left following the river. the fourth bridge is "Pont de Pierre", turn left in "rue du faubourg de pierre" which is our, hotel is located on the right side of the street. Regards. Sébastien
Answer from Sébastien DENYS
Strasbourg, France43 contributions
Parking is free in the street until monday morning 9.00 a.m. Is your room already booked ?
Answer from Sébastien DENYS
Strasbourg, France43 contributions
Dear Guest, Hotel has a private parking just behind hotel. Daily rate is 12 €. Regards. Sébastien.
wpkenny wrote a tip Dec 2023
Dublin, Ireland21 contributions23 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid . Not a hotel room .better off staying in the airport or a hostel . The room provided is not a hotel room"
Read full review
Mike E wrote a tip Dec 2022
Stallikon, Switzerland13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking for 14€ a night"
Read full review
PD32016 wrote a tip Jul 2017
Cleveland, Ohio14 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I had a view overlooking the street, but I'm not sure if all rooms have this."
Read full review
dc-hiker1 wrote a tip Jan 2016
Washington DC, District of Columbia31 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on side and back of hotel are quieter."
Read full review
GuyFromCalgary wrote a tip Jul 2014
Calgary, Canada134 contributions101 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely get that breakfast option, worth the €10/person."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Strasbourg area.
PRICE RANGE
C$105 - C$173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
couvent des franciscains strasbourg
LOCATION
FranceGrand EstBas-RhinStrasbourg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Couvent du Franciscain - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Couvent du Franciscain
Which popular attractions are close to Couvent du Franciscain?
Nearby attractions include John Doe Escape Game (0.5 km), A Maze In - Live Escape Game a Strasbourg (0.5 km), and Église Saint-Pierre-le-Jeune (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Couvent du Franciscain?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Couvent du Franciscain?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Couvent du Franciscain?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Couvent du Franciscain?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Couvent du Franciscain?
Conveniently located restaurants include Les Innocents, Le Namaste, and Terroir & Co.
Are any cleaning services offered at Couvent du Franciscain?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Couvent du Franciscain?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Couvent du Franciscain?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Couvent du Franciscain?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cave historique des hospices civils de Strasbourg (1.2 km), La Neustadt (0.5 km), and Aubette (L') (0.5 km).
All Strasbourg HotelsStrasbourg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in StrasbourgHotels near Couvent du Franciscain
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars