Hotel Le Centenaire

Hotel Le Centenaire

2 avenue du Cingle, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil France
Traveller (96)
Chambre Supérieure
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 7 hotels in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

See why so many travellers make Hotel Du Centenaire their hotel of choice when visiting Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a romantic setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Close to some of Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil's most popular landmarks, such as Abri du Poisson (1.5 km) and Grotte du Grand Roc (2.1 km), Hotel Du Centenaire is a great destination for tourists.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer air conditioning and a minibar, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to baggage storage, a sun terrace, and newspaper while staying at Hotel Du Centenaire. In addition, Hotel Du Centenaire offers a pool and a restaurant, which will help make your Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

If you’re looking for a wine bar, consider a visit to La Maison Tartines Vins & Jardin, which is not far from Hotel Du Centenaire.

If you’re looking for something to do, Musee National de Prehistoire (0.3 km), Ferme de Fonluc (1.3 km), and L'Abri Cro-Magnon (0.8 km) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Hotel Du Centenaire.

At Hotel Du Centenaire, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Canoeing
Hiking
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun terrace
Ironing service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Hair dryer
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

2 avenue du Cingle, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 80 out of 100
80
Perigueux Airport
36.3 km
See all flights
Brive Dordogne
38.2 km
See all flights
143Reviews2Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 115
  • 21
  • 3
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
AlexMaddy wrote a review Mar 2023
Ottawa, Canada50 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed in the Hotel Centenaire on a hiking trip in the area around Les Eyzies. The hotel is wonderful, in fact, one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff is skilled, very personable and attentive. The hotel itself is exquisite, with much of it having been renovated over the period of the pandemic. This hotel is clearly a labour of love for the owners, and that is reflected in every aspect of The Centenaire from the furnishings, to the fabulous food, to the personalized care each guest receives. When we arrived we were greeted by a hot cup of mint tea (our choice), an array of locally crafted soaps and shampoos, and pure shea butter (instead of lotion). We were asked to choose what we wanted, and pieces of this lovely crafted toiletries were place on a tray and brought to our room. It is one of the many ways the hotel demonstrates it's commitment to reducing plastic and other waste.

Our room was large, beautifully furnished, and had a patio balcony overlooking the main road. But Les Eyzies is quiet, so noise at night was not a problem.

We also had one of the top-ranking meals of our lives in the restaurant. We order one of the fixed-prix menus but we got so much more. Between every one of our set courses delicious and beautifully presented little extras would appear. It was truly a festival for all the senses. We ate the continental breakfast each morning and it was so copious that it provided us with our hiking lunches as well. On the last morning we ordered an additional charcuterie platter as we had a long hike to our next destination and the chef kindly packed it up for travel. When we opened it later in the day, we found we had enough for several meals.

We highly recommend this hotel for it warmth, charm, and it's commitment to excellence at all levels.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chloé et Mathieu Metifet, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Centenaire
Responded Jun 25, 2023
Dear Alex, What a comment! Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience at Le Centenaire. You were able to explain all the attention that we offer with our team, thank you so much for that. You have been very pleasant guests, We look forward to welcoming you back at the Centenaire ! Kind regards, Sarah
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jon H wrote a review Jul 2023
Kintbury, United Kingdom209 contributions139 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and used it as our base to visit the Dordogne. Although Les Eyzies is not the prettiest of the riverside villages along the Dordogne it was in a good position for what we needed, and is very well located for visiting the Prehistoric Caves of the region. The hotel is small, boutique but, in our eyes, perfectly formed and the thing that really makes it work was the 'team', I call them a team as they are more than just staff. You can see how they work together, support each other and, together, put the guest first in all they do, they are a credit to the hotel. The room we had was marvellous, large, twin French doors leading to a large terrace, ample wardrobe and drawer space and a beautiful and spacious bathroom. The bed was an amazing size and the sheets were of tremendous quality, my wife said that because of the beds and the sheets she had the best nights sleep she has had for a long time. They have a private pool in a nicely designed garden area which, while we were there, did not attract too many guests at any one time. The hotel prides itself on its responsible approach to the environment and sustainability to the point of offering guests locally made soaps and conditioners of their choice from a wide selection as you check in. They are then brought on a small tray to your room as a member of staff shows you the way. The one, potential, downside to the hotel, and there is nothing the owners can do about it, is its location. It is positioned at the end of the main street in Les Eyzies on a small roundabout which means that our view from the lovely balcony we had was of cars driving along the roads. It wasn't a very bust area so this didn't affect us negatively but you may wish to ask for a room that overlooks the pool for example as they are away from the road. We did eat in the main restaurant and it was absolutely majestic, why it doesn't carry a Michelin star I do not know, however I will review it separately and not in this post.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chloé et Mathieu Metifet, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Centenaire
Responded Jul 25, 2023
Dear Mr Hemphill, Thank you verymuch for your comments. It is very nice for the team and me to read your words. Ideed we all work together to provide the best stay we can to our guests. We are very happy that you and your wife had a nice stay and we hope to welcome you for a futur stay. Best regards, Chloé
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Valerie D wrote a review Mar 2023
France103 contributions73 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We drove into Les Eyzies and immediately spotted the hotel which is on a corner on the edge of the village. Easily accessible car parking with plenty of space and a very short walk to the reception. We were offered to have our bags taken up to our room and invited to sit in their lounge area and relax whilst they brought us each a welcome drink which was very pleasant. The lounge area is large and well furnished with comfortable sofas and armchairs and has a glass roof and one glass wall and therefore very light and airy. Having given us time to relax and finish our drink, their ethos on waste was explained to us and we were then given the choice of a number of different types of soaps which they use to cut down on waste and plastic. All this before we were even asked to register. How is that for making you feel welcome.
We were shown to our room and were surprised at the size and lavishment of the decor and linens. We were in a spacious room with a very large balcony. As well as the bed and the bedside tables, the room itself had a sofa and two armchairs and a coffee table, a writing desk and a large chest of drawers together with a smaller table holding the tea and coffee making facilities (I am not talking tea bags here. There was a selection of loose tea as well as some freshly ground coffee). Nothing had been spared for ones comfort. Likewise in the bathroom with a very large walk in shower. The balcony itself was very large in both depth and width with outdoor furniture and coffee table set up. Unfortunately ours looked out over an old empty building but such is life.
If there was anything lacking then perhaps a lift, although the stairs were not too steep and very wide.
For us this is the sort of place to go for a treat and to allow yourself to be spoiled. And if you do go, don't miss their restaurant. The chef is a star!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: You get what you pay for.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chloé et Mathieu Metifet, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Centenaire
Responded Jun 25, 2023
Dear Valerie, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Centenaire and for sharing your lovely review. We were glad to learn that you enjoyed your visit here and that our service, room and food contributed to making your stay delightful. Your nice comments about our food are appreciated and have been communicated to my colleagues and the chief ! Definitely look forward to welcoming you back! With best regards, Sarah
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samuel007 wrote a review Jun 2022
Exeter, United Kingdom332 contributions145 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has so many advantages, but in my view it suffers from a number of shortcomings and managerial idiosyncracies which prevent it from becoming the excellent establishment that it could most certainly be.

It is ideally located for exploring the lovely Périgord region, it has handsome buildings, a shady garden and an inviting pool. On arrival, we were greeted with a most welcome cold drink.

Our bedroom, which was far from being the grandest and most expensive in the place, was nonetheless cool and comfortable, and was very well cleaned and tidied each day. Unfortunately, the flight of steps which led to it from the car park remained unswept throughout our week-long stay.

The management pursues the laudable policy of trying to reduce the use of plastic in the bathroom. Many other hotels achieve this goal quite satisfactorily without fuss. Here, one is invited to select a particular soap and shampoo from a trolley and a thin slice of each is carefully carved from the chosen block. Together wth a small pile of bath crystals and another of body butter, these are borne on a glass tray as one is escorted to one's room. The downside of this arrangement is that when, after four or five days, one despairs of chasing an ever-decreasing blob of soap around the bathroom, one is obliged to apply to reception for another sliver. It reminded me of being at school!

The bread and croissants provided for breakfast were delicious. The little dishes of jam, honey and butter, however, were barely sufficient. Of course we could ask for more, and we did, but it would have been more agreeable, and probably more worthy of a four-star hotel, if someone had actually asked if we would like some more. Or even, given that we were paying €18 a head for breakfast, if the portions had been a little more generous in the first place.

It came as a pleasant surprise on our sixth morning when a member of staff, whom we had not seen before, offered a second cup of coffee. Thankfully, she did the same the following day. Otherwise, I don't think anyone ever asked if we would like any more of anything.

We paid the bill, and left feeling bemused and disappointed. We were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay. Probably, nobody minded.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Bring your own shampoo and shower gel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chloé et Mathieu Metifet, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Centenaire
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Dear mister, we thank you for sharing your experience and for your positive feedback on the cleanliness of the room, the reception, the location of our hotel. Regarding the soaps, as underlined, we propose you to come back to the reception at any time in order to take the same soap as on arrival, or to choose a new one. We're sorry if this made you feel like you were in school, which is obviously not the goal, the goal being to reduce our plastic waste and reduce waste ! For the portions of jam and butter, we put reasonable quantities to avoid waste. We have adjusted the quantities according to the customers' consumption and waste, which is currently the right compromise. But if needed, we will gladly give some back, which we have done for you. We are surprised about the coffee, because we regularly come by to see if everything is okay. You can call us at any time to get another cup of coffee! And sir, yes, we value our customers. This is the strength of the whole team. It's thanks to you that we work and we do everything possible to make you have a pleasant stay and a great experience. Kind regards, Sarah
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adam F wrote a review Apr 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hôtel le Centenaire was wonderful and exceeded our expectations. The staff and owners are friendly, professional and accommodating. They immediately put us at ease which let us relax. Chloé gave us some great recommendations on things to do which surprised us by being some of our favorite sights in our whole trip. The room was spacious and comfortable with a fantastic, updated bathroom. We appreciated how environmentally friendly they were. The hotel is in a great location that made it easy to get everywhere we wanted. And we cannot say enough good things about the restaurant. Without exaggeration, our dinner there was one of the best meals we have ever eaten! Chef Mathieu Métifet prepared a meal that was exciting, surprising, delicious and filling! We can't wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chloé et Mathieu Metifet, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Centenaire
Responded Jun 25, 2023
Dear Adam, What more can we say except thank you! Thank you for the kind words regarding your experience in our gastronomic restaurant and our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Centenaire ! With kind regards, Sarah
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Estcourt wrote a review Sep 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location to visit many of the spectacular sites in the area.
The welcome we experienced was first class and the room spacious and well equipped. The staff were exceptional, ensuring all our needs were met in a very professional way and always with a smile.
We ate in the Bistro and Restaurant, under the stars, and the food was delightful. The continental breakfast was one of the best we have experienced in many years of travel. We have many fond memories of our two night stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Dordogne.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chloé et Mathieu Metifet, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Centenaire
Responded Nov 8, 2023
Dear Estcourt, Thank you very much for your comments. Also, thank you for the kind words regarding the room, the food and our staff. We are very happy that you had a nice stay and we hope to welcome you for a futur stay ! Best regards, Sarah
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
matthewclarkehome wrote a review Jun 2023
London, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came for dinner as we do every time i am in this area. . The service is impeccable, the staff communicate well and the food is amazing. Also I am vegan and with a couple of days notice prepared me the most incredible vegan feast. Highly recommend .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chloé et Mathieu Metifet, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Centenaire
Responded Jun 19, 2023
Dear Mr Clarke, Thank you for you review. It is always a pleasure to welcome you at Le Centenaire. All the best untill next year. Kind regards, Chloé
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patsi S wrote a review Sep 2022
San Francisco, California5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The food was terrific. The butternut squash was delightful, the pork and carrot outstanding. Save room for the extraordinary cheese options, the mise en bouche and the desserts! Ask for the wine from the restaurant's sommelier's family winery! The service was outstanding. Don't miss this stop. Make reservations ahead of your arrival.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chloé Doki-Thonon, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Centenaire
Responded Sep 27, 2022
Hello, Many thanks for being our guest and for posting your wonderful rating ! Also, thank you for the kind words regarding the food and the wine. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Centenaire ! With kind regards, Sarah
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ann c wrote a review Oct 2021
Vancouver, Canada8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a wonderful hotel run by a very professional, warm, young and welcoming staff. It is filled with light and beautifully decorated. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable and the bathtub absolutely the best! As for the dinners, you wouldn't find anywhere better! We had two exceptionally good dinners when there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chloé et Mathieu Metifet, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Centenaire
Responded Oct 19, 2021
Dear Annc919, Many thanks for being our guest and for posting your wonderful rating. Also, thank you for the kind words regarding the decoration, the rooms and the food. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Centenaire ! With kind regards, Sarah
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ross H wrote a review May 2024
Perth, Australia15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Every element of this great hotel is perfect.
The Michelin guide nomination is well deserved as the food is beyond magnificent. The duck confit was sublime as was all other plates we enjoyed.
The staff cannot do enough for you to ensure you have a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you explore the history of the world throughout this region.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil area.
PRICE RANGE
C$261 - C$343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
du centenaire hotel
LOCATION
FranceNouvelle-AquitaineDordogneLes Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Le Centenaire - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Le Centenaire
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Le Centenaire?
Nearby attractions include Musee National de Prehistoire (0.2 km), Pole d'interprétation de la Préhistoire (0.3 km), and Abri Pataud (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Le Centenaire?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Le Centenaire?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Le Centenaire?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Le Centenaire?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Le Centenaire?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant La Maison, Nosco, and La Table du Centenaire.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Le Centenaire?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Hotel Le Centenaire located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil.
Does Hotel Le Centenaire offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Le Centenaire?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Le Centenaire?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Maison Forte de Reignac (5.9 km), Chateau de Commarque (6.9 km), and Grotte du Grand Roc (2.1 km).
All Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil HotelsLes Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-SireuilHotels near Hotel Le Centenaire
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars