We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Young & Happy Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Young & Happy Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

493 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 234: English reviews
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

~~ Pros: ~ Great location ~ Good breakfast, if you can get it included in your hostel package ~ Good atmosphere in common area ~~ Cons: ~ Shower stopped working two days into stay - extremely upsetting as I paid more for the six-bed, female dorm room. The more private shower was the reason we all paid for this dorm... More 

Helpful?
Thank M-Assunta L
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the maintenance and service issues that you experienced during your stay. Our main priority is to be able to offer... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Stayed in June 2016 with friends. Great location. Lots of pubs and eateries in the street. Staff was very helpful, specially Lucy. Atmosphere was fun and lively. Euro 2016 was going on , so they showed the matches in the common area with free wine and snacks. Rooms were a bit cramped. But overall, it was a fun experience. Will... More 

Helpful?
Thank zanyzen86
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. It was very rewarding to read that you found our reception to be friendly throughout your stay with us. We have staff available 24-7 to assist you with all your requests. We were also... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The room was good but a little stuffy. The bathroom wasn't very clean though and the shower was horrible. It's in a decent location and there are some great eats near by. When I first arrived the woman who signed me in was great and very helpful but the next two staff I encountered over the 3 nights I stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Felicity A
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the service issues that you experienced during your stay. Our main priority is to be able to offer a very... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2016

THIS HOSTEL IS INFESTED WITH BED BUGS. DO NOT STAY HERE. While staying at the Young and Happy hostel this past August, my friend and I found our bodies completely covered in red bites one morning. Upon searching our beds and the room, we found it was infested with adult bed bugs, crawling in our beds and all over the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mstieglitz27
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest Once again we're sorry for this inconvenience out of our control. we've already explained all the process that we apply into our hostel to make our best to prevent from this, even if it is coming from many other criteria that unfortunately cities like Paris and all kind of hotels and hostels may encounter. In any case, we... More 

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Staff friendly, left my luggage there during the day, lively area, perfect to go out. But: showers were super dirty and mouldy, overall not enough showers for the whole hostel, some were even not working. Everything was old and quite shabby, 40€ a night are not worth paying! Only if you cannot find a better place.

Helpful?
Thank vivihej
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest, sorry you didn't enjoy more your experience with us; however we still tkeep in mind feedback and hope to improve soon what is wrong. Let us know if you come back for another experience in the Latin Quarter ! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

This hostel is located in a very good neighborhood, the latin quartier. Very close to lots of good restaurants, to a metro station, etc. the thing that i didnt like that much is the facilities. There's no elevators, so i had to go up to the third floor with two heavy luggages. Also there's no many bathrooms for all guests.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luciana V
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest, thanks for your feedback. in fact the house is atypical in a Parisian style so there's no elevator, but this is the appeal of the old Latin Quarter. That's why we still have a free luggage room at your disposal downstairs to keep big bags if needed. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Great hostel at an excellent price with good facilities. Location was perfect - out of the main part of rue mouffetard but 5 minutes walk from two metros, supermarket, cafes. Staff are friendly and speak so many languages. I was really impressed. The laundry and breakfast are relatively expensive, but there's plenty of other options for both nearby.

Helpful?
Thank SP_Brisbane
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your very postitive feedeback, we had a great stay with you too and hope to see you soon for another Parisian experience ! More 

sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2016

I stayed here for six nights in a 6 bedroom female dorm. The location couldn't be better, it's in the Latin quarter close to shops, cafes, restaurants, the metro station or about a 15 minute walk to Notre Dame. Room was clean and comfortable, although a little bit cramped. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank scorpio85
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest, we thank you for taking time to share with us your feedback. We'd be pleased to welcome you for another trip soon ! More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This is such a friendly place! Rates are great and I feel at home here. This is my 2nd visit at Y& H and it's just as friendly as I experienced the first time around. It's not "fancy" by any means. It's the oldest hostel in Paris so it has it's aging factors but to me that's charm. It has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne R
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, it's still a pleasure for us to welcome you here and share with our guests a little part of our Parisian life. We work to improve all the time and for your next stay, we hope to let you enjoy new surprises ! See you soon with us ! More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2016

I would definetely recommend the hostel. Location is great because it is in the latin quarter close to a lot of bars, restaurants, coffee shops and a metro station (place monge). The staff is really nice, friendly and helpful. My special thanks to Joaquim and Lucy. They were amazing!

Helpful?
Thank César L
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your positive feedback. Happy that you enjoyed our location and had a nice time with the staff. See you soon! More 

302 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (167)
Viewed
10 Bed Dormitory (34)
Viewed
6 Bed Female Dormitory (35)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
Twin Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
Oops! Hostel
Oops! Hostel
#13 of 148 in Paris
405 reviews
Arty Paris
#9 of 148 in Paris
560 reviews
3 Ducks Hostel
#17 of 148 in Paris
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vintage Hostel
#7 of 148 in Paris
710 reviews
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
République
Les Piaules
Les Piaules
#27 of 148 in Paris
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Quartier Latin

Neighbourhood Profile
Quartier Latin
The Latin Quarter bursts with intellectual life, architectural splendour and ongoing merriment. The small streets are filled with classical buildings, student bars and lively eateries while the squares are dominated by historic monuments. The area is defined by the 800-year-old Sorbonne University, where Latin once prevailed, and is famous for the Pantheon which celebrates the great men and women of France. During the day students rush from classes to the library and intellectuals people watch from the terraced cafés. As night time falls the surrounding establishments fill up and the merriment really begins. The liveliest parts are around Rue Mouffetard, lined with crêperies and international street food eateries, and Place de la Contrescarpe characterised by terraced brasseries, this neighbourhood provides real nourishment for the mind, belly, and soul.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Young & Happy Hostel is in the 5th district in the Latin Quarter where you can find a very lively atmosphere, with restaurants all along the street Mouffetard, a market on Place Monge every Wednesday and Friday morning. We are also located few minutes ago from touristic areas, Pantheon, Notre Dame, the Luxembourg Gardens...Have fun with us, meeting guests from all over the world, during the Happy Hour that we organize every day from 6 pm ! We have also other events, quizz, foosball tournaments, movie night... then enjoy ice creams and snacks while watching sports onto big tv screen !The reception is open 24/7, everyone can book in advance a Parisian breakfast (French baguette and other pastries, honey and jam...) every morning, we have FREE wifi everywhere, FREE luggage room and lockers for your valuables. Use our laundry, the best rate in the neighbourhood, no need to get out from the hostel !Please note that we don't accept guests under the age of 18 without an adult companion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Young & Happy Hostel

Address: 80 Rue Mouffetard, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Price Range: $31 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Young & Happy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Young & Happy Hotel Paris
Young And Happy Hostel
Young Happy Hostel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Young & Happy Hostel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Young & Happy Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Place monge is the metro stop to use”
 of 5 bubbles Sunderland1989, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be in the lower room numbers, I was in room 12 and it is right across from a college bar that can be pretty loud at night!!”
 of 5 bubbles kylea924, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“the girl only dorm is quieter because it is in another building (in the small courtyard), so the windows are not on the main street side!”
 of 5 bubbles 907marijak, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor as has showers and toilets on that floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 339jemimab, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Staircase is a death trap”
 of 5 bubbles sarahhA1419XR, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay