We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Notre Dame de l'Abbaye

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Notre Dame de l\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Notre Dame de l'Abbaye
See the most recent reviews
Showing 20: English reviews
ni
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed here for one night after staying 2 nights in a b&b. It was interesting, but as expected the rooms and breakfast were Very basic- but clean. Very close to the Cite - we enjoyed watching an amazing thunderstorm. If i just wanted a bed for the night, (don't get the breakfast ) then it is excellent value and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darceyNi
New York City, New York
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Nice hotel in converted abbey in the shadows of the old Carcassonne city walls. The location is the best asset of the hotel. My single room had a tiny hard bed and the smallest bathroom I have ever seem, I have been to Japan 3 times!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank frankspurs
Toulouse, France
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I booked well in advance for the festival in July and wanted somewhere a stone's throw from the Jean Dechamps theatre in the medieval city....Notre Dame fitted the bill perfectly. A single bed in a dormitory was 18 euros with 5 euros for the breakfast. You can't arrive before 16.00 so this meant trotting round with my bags during the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rieursanglier
Marion B, Responsable relations clients at Notre Dame de l'Abbaye, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your stay in our establishment and tell you that we are sorry for the inconvenience. The team you met during your stay is completely different today as a new Director is now running the Abbey and our smiley and helpful staff would be pleased to welcome you again in a good atmosphere !...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2011

The ensuite double room was too small for two people. There is about a foot clearance around the bed before you reach the wall. The "bathroom" looked and smelled like a Ryanair lavatory. The room was not cleaned on one day and our tiny wet towels not replaced. The staff are unfriendly and unprofessional. Most seriously our privacy was invaded...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lcoa
Marion B, Responsable relations clients at Notre Dame de l'Abbaye, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your stay in our establishment and tell you that we are sorry for the inconvenience. The team you met during your stay is completely different today as a new Director is now running the Abbey. An important work has been done to renovate the building, including sanitary. We do give a lot of...

Toulouse, France
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The location was amazing.. just 5 min walk to medieval cite. Furthermore, they had some problems with the dorms and they upgraded us to the private room with ensuite shower for free.. the shower's really small though.. but still the room was really nice and comfy.. with the windows opening out into a view of the courtyard. The grounds were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrelim
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Very basic accommodation. Perfect location...just outside the old city. I wouldn't pay the E5 for the breakfast...it's not worth it. Luggage room but no lockers. Staff aren't particularly friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AineMcG
Marion B, Responsable relations clients at Notre Dame de l'Abbaye, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your stay in our establishment and tell you that we are sorry if you didn’t get a nice welcome from the staff. The team you met during your stay is completely different today as a new Director is now running the Abbey so I would like to apologize for the bad experience you...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We were under the impression that we would be staying in an ancient abbey, but although the abbey church is medieval, the accommodations are relatively new. It was originally a seminary and has now been converted into a simple hotel and student hostel. So if you want to sleep and eat like a monk, this is the place. Everything here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmbcross
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 6 August 2010

The location is great (only a short walk to the old city), the price is right and the price is right, but this is very basic accomodation. Bed was sort of like sleeping on a fold out bed - creaky springs. No air conditioning - some fans would be a great help. You have to pay for towels - so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank majmaj4
Marion B, Responsable relations clients at Notre Dame de l'Abbaye, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your comment and inform you that an important work has been done during the past year to renovate the building, including sanitary. The beds have been replaced too and we try every day to improve the comfort as much as we can to offer our travellers a nice stay in the Abbey. Rooms...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 October 2009

I stayed for 2 nights with a friend in a twin room. We had a reservation for an ensuite room but they couldn't find it so we ended up with a shared bathroom for 1 night & an ensuite for 1 night. The rooms were small, but with enough room to move, the ensuite bathroom was really small, but clean....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank meveg
Germany
Reviewed 7 October 2009

It's more like a youth hostel - but a very nice one in an old charming abbey! The hotel has dorms and double en-suite rooms. Our room had a stunning view facing "La cité" which is Carcassonne's old town and just across the street. We paid 43 Euros for the double room which is a great deal for Carcassonne. You...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Road_Runner0808

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Espace Cite
Hotel Espace Cite
#19 of 38 in Carcassonne
337 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 38 in Carcassonne
329 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#11 of 38 in Carcassonne
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#13 of 38 in Carcassonne
375 reviews
2.8 km away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
0.7 km away
Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Notre Dame de l'Abbaye

Address: 103 rue Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Notre Dame De l`Abbaye Hotel Carcassonne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Notre Dame de l'Abbaye staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Notre Dame de l'Abbaye staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for an in suite room”
 of 5 bubbles whycantiusemyownname, 28 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Some of the rooms have a view of the walls, so maybe ask for one when booking.”
  • The view at night
  • Bed
  • Daytime View
 of 5 bubbles tracker1312, 5 Jun 2012 | Read review
“Small room, bed and bathroom”
  • Smallest bathroom EVER
  • Night view from room
  • View from room
 of 5 bubbles frankspurs, 29 Jul 2011 | Read review
“I had room 250!”
 of 5 bubbles rieursanglier, 18 Jul 2011 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the courtyard are great!”
 of 5 bubbles Andrelim, 13 Jun 2011 | Read review
5 of 5