We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Hotel

Expedia.comUS$91*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 127: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I highly recommend this hotel. There was not a single negative point. The location was perfect and the room was so lovely. I really enjoyed the bathtub. I would stay agin in a heartbeat. And the staff was super!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanlerch1
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfortable bedroom, bath room separated from toilet, very, very, very clean, cozy breakfast restaurant, at 5 minutes by walk from the railway station, close to the historical center - old town, good balance price - services. close to a fancy brasserie, but also some cheep options to eat not far. And, if someone interested in Catholic history, on the rute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucia19550401
Herzliya, Israel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've just stayed in no less than six 3 star hotels in France in the past 2 weeks and the Royal Hotel beats them all. And I stayed for 3 nights. The staff go out of their way to be helpful and professional - the room I had was basic but roomy, clean, with a very comfortable bed and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank emmers2016
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, day after day our teams give the best they can to make your stay in Montpellier a great time. When reading your really nice comments we cannot be more happy. Thank you very much ! We hope to see you again some other time...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked the hotel just for myself and one night, last stop of a road trip. When entering the lobby, it did not promise much, reception area was a bit outdated compared to breakfast room and the room itself. Price was so cheap I wondered how could it be. Hotel is clean, room was nice apart from the wall to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angrybird40
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are happy to know you did like your stay in Royal Hotel Montpellier. See you some other time..

Bergerac
Reviewed 4 January 2017

This hotel although within walking distance of the beautiful old town of Montpellier is tired, dated and our room in particular was not just dirty but positively shabby and not in a chic way. The bathroom in particular was disgusting with excrement on the toilet wall!! and a shower that refused to stay hot for longer than a minute. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit. Yes, one of our family room is furnished with two double beds is ideal for a couple with children but when your children are adults and if they don't want to share the same bed, maybe it must be more convenient to book two rooms. As we had few rooms available that night we have...

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

The Royal Hotel is situated on the main drag up from the station, beautiful exterior architecture, friendly staff, clean rooms, nice bath. we stayed with the kids, it's central, just a minute from the old town, parking not included, everything provided, staff were always available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Intelli G
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much and happy new year !

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We spend 5 days at Christmas there! The hotel is very centraly located and it goes with the city's old characters it is very warm and really Royal! May be there are other hotels more luxurious but this one represent the sity s atmosphere! The stuff are very hospitable and attentive! They do speak English!!! We meet there Mr Hugo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stavros G
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are happy to read you did like to stay in our hotel. Happy new year and see you soon...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Nothing much to say for or against this hotel situated on a Montpellier's main Street short walk from the station . Room clean ,medium size and well-appointed ...breakfast not expensive and adequate ...good location with very short walk to main square . Bad points: terrible Wi-Fi in room , inafequate shower , no restaurant. Otherwise perfectly adequate for a short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you and see you soon. WIFI is now working properly.

Nottinghamshire
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

We thought we were never going to get to the Hotel what with all the one-way streets around it and of course the trams. We did not realise that the Hotel is in a pedestrian zone so we were never going to be able to park outside to unload our luggage. I ended up calling in to another Hotel to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We Are happy you did enjoy your stay. See you soon.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 August 2016

The staff were excellent & the breakfast was not bad. The room looked like the bathroom & toilet had been updated but the bed area hadn't. The carpet was very old with lots of stains. The carpet through the corridors looked like it may have been laid in Napoleonic times & not cleaned since. Apart from this it was situated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dazza857
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
806 reviews
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#4 of 93 in Montpellier
249 reviews
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Three stars hotel, right in the historical city center walking area of Montpellier. Next to the train station, Comedie Square, Corum conference center. Ideal to discover the city or for business trip. Tram lines connections at two minutes. Car park parking Comedie. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 8 rue Maguelone, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Price Range: $123 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Montpellier
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Montpellier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room was on the ground floor so there was some noise from the street on my last night.”
emmers2016, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for ground floor family room”
  • Bedroom
  • Toilet wall!
karenk833, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter”
Teajaye, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 106 was very good.”
JustinodelValle, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in back (202) because of tram noise from the street.”
Alec, 22 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$91* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$94
Orbitz.comUS$91
Hotwire.comUS$91
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates