We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Carlton Hotel

Show Prices
#27 of 108 Hotels in Lille
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Carlton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 27: English reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has an amazing location and is almost completely refurbished. A few more months and it will be done. We had a Privilege room and it was really nice with all of the amenities. Despite being right on the main square it is very quiet and private. We met the owner who was charming, professional and very interested in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTeamTurkey
Ireland
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

The location was very central adjacent the main square, the staff were friendly and the bed comfortable. My compliments stop here, it is not a four star by any standards, the room was not clean, very old decor and in drastic need of an update, the bathroom could do with a deep clean, the sliding door to wc was unfinished...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GdeM
hotelcarltonlille, Directeur général at Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We would like to thank you for commenting the Hotel CARLTON of Lille. We are very sorry to see your disappointment. Please note that the Hotel CARLTON was bought recently and we confirm you that a lot of renovation will be organize to improve our establishment. We will be very pleased to welcome you again at the Hotel...

Reviewed 19 October 2016

The Carlton is a beautiful hotel in the center of Lille. The location cannot be any better. Our room had a view of the Opera house, all lit up at night. During our stay, there was a free outdoor opera on a huge screen. The next night, a group of young people took over the steps of the opera house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colette H
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend. Extremely friendly people at the desk and in the restaurant. Even the cleaning lady was very nice. Rooms have everything you need for a city trip. We were on the front side of the hotel, a lively neighbourhood , but no problem with the street noise. One thing, the fitness room is a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank camelia100
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This Hotel says alot on its web-site which it fails to deliver. The hot water was temperamental which was not good. They talk about a gym in which there is a broken stepper and a worn out running machine. It has a cycling machine that did work but not much else. The gym was a real let down. You could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r j
London
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here in June and loved it. Beautiful old hotel with huge rooms a big beds with most rooms overlooking town centre. Hotel is in good condition and has that classy Grand hotel feel but kept in good condition. Would give it four stars as no car park but as its a short walk from Eurostar station, it is perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R W
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

You could not ask for a better location than the Carlton which is almost on the Grand Place and within easy walking distance of the main sights, restaurants, bars and shops. We took a taxi from the Eurostar but really we could have walked as it is only about 10 mins away. Our twin bedded room on the 5th floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
Management response:

Dear Claire M, We would like to thank you for sharing your feelings regarding your recent stay. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are noted your remark concerning the water during your stay and we checked that with our supplier. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Good generous size rooms. Toilet had no windows so gets stuffy and smelly. We left the door open. This hotel is an old style french hotel but comfortable. There is a sauna on the top floor for the guests to use. we did not have breakfast so not sure what food is like. nice and peaceful so not noisy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lulu Z
Management response:

Dear Lulu Z, First of all we would like to thank you about your comment. It is really important for us to know what is good and what is not. We noted your comments and we do our best to improve the points you observed. Please fill free to contact us for your futur stay with us. Kind Regards, François...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

This is an older hotel but the rooms are large and bright and the air conditioning is nice and cold. The location is excellent in the middle of Lille. The hotel has a small bar downstairs and a dining room that serves a simple breakfast (meat, cheese, eggs, bread, bacon, etc.) the mornings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
Somerset West
Reviewed 25 August 2016

The Carlton Hotel has everything you need for a stay in Lille. A 15 minute stroll from the Eurostar station and perfectly placed in the middle of town. You can walk everywhere. Friendly, helpful reception with Julie and Romain (Robin). Robin will be a great loss to the hotel when he moves to Cardiff in October. We wish him well....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennie K
hotelcarltonlille, Directeur général at Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Jennie, Thank you for sharing your review after staying at the Hotel CARLTON in Lille. I am extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff, Julie and Romain are very happy to read your comments. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you another time. Kind regards, François HERANVAL, Manager.

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#11 of 108 in Lille
598 reviews
0.1 km away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
0.1 km away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#37 of 108 in Lille
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Up Hotel
BEST WESTERN Up Hotel
#10 of 108 in Lille
440 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Brueghel
Hotel Brueghel
#25 of 108 in Lille
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Its 59 conditioning rooms, decorated in the Louis XV and Louis XVII style, equipped with large flat screen (43'), free wireless Web, a mini bar and a marble bathroom combining charm, space and comfort.The hotel proposes an American breakfast served in the room or on a buffet.The staff, available 24/24 will be enjoying guiding you for your entire stay. The hotel possesses a private parking with valet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 3 rue de Paris, 59026, Lille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Price Range: $133 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Lille
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lille
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carlton Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Carlton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Select upper floors. Not the top floor because the broken gym machines that are noisy if used. Be prepare to eat out!”
 of 5 bubbles 697rj, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“5th floor offered a great view”
 of 5 bubbles O1295VQclairem, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room overlooked the street but some people prefer a view of the Opera House which we had a choice of. Our room was larger and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 350jenniek, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Book direct!”
 of 5 bubbles 732alanr, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We were on the 4th floor and had a good view”
 of 5 bubbles Standbridge, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay