We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud

7 Place des Plantagenets Fontevraud l'Abbaye, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye France See on map
Name/address in local language
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Free Airport Transportation
3 Star accommodation
Hostellerie La Croix Blanche, a charming country house hotel with 23 comfortable, refurbished bed rooms, an outdoor pool, free wifi and car park. Informal atmosphere with excellent welcome and service. More Multilingual reception staff. The historic hotel (a coaching inn dating back to 1696) with large flower filled terrace is located in the Loire Valley, France. In the charming UNESCO world heritage town of Fontevraud you'll find the famous abbey of Fontevraud with the effigies of Richard the Lionheart, Eleanor of Aquitaine and king Henry II. The hotel is close to many Loire Valley castles, wineries and interesting tourist sites. Cycle paths of La Loire a Velo and GR3 hiking trail start in the town. One restaurant with two terraces serving bistro cuisine at lunch time; gourmet menu in the evening and for Sunday lunch. Our chef will delight you with the best local produce and seasonal ingredients presented in colourful and stylish dishes. Large selection of Loire Valley wines. Bar-lounge with comfortable club chairs, terrace and fire place. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
Price range
US$62 - US$136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Fontevraud L'Hotel
541 reviews
.29 km away
Hotel the Originals le Domaine de Mestre
129 reviews
2.17 km away
Domaine de Roiffe
343 reviews
2.55 km away
Hotel Le Bussy
120 reviews
3.82 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 16 nearby restaurants
Fontevraud Le Restaurant
465 reviews
.29 km away
Restaurant Le Plantagenet
502 reviews
.01 km away
L'Abbaye le Delice
110 reviews
.58 km away
La Licorne
318 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 6 nearby attractions
Abbaye Royale de Fontevraud
1,653 reviews
.02 km away
Eglise Saint Michel
20 reviews
.03 km away
Parfum de France
11 reviews
.17 km away
Office de tourisme de Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
5 reviews
.03 km away
Reviews & more
41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 188
  • 155
  • 40
  • 18
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
We were booked into a double room but allowed to upgrade for our second night. First room was actually completely fine, and the bed was so big that is was not a problem to both sleep in it! Bathroom was basic but clean and comfortable, with ample space. Our second room was absolu
Read more
Response from Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Responded Sep. 11, 2018
Bonjour, thank you so much for your kind review and photos to illustrate your stay! Room 23 is indeed many guest's favorite room with lots of real French atmosphere thanks to the architecture of the historic building this room is located in, the huge windows overlooking the town square which looks like the one in the 'Chocolat' movie as well as the abbey. We will be delighted to welcoming you back in the fure, regards the team at La Croix Blanche.
Read more
Stopover driving South from Cherbourg. Attracted by abbey ( alas closed) and parking and decent onsite restaurant. Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, room basic and a bit hot ( during heatwave). Good value.
Read more
Stayed here for 6 nights, got an upgrade and so glad we did because our allotted room was not very big for a long stay and in the heat that we had we would have been Bien Cuit by the end of our stay as there is no Air con. We got the largest room there which was as big as the gro
Read more
Response from Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Responded Aug. 18, 2018
Thank you CaroleS for this delightful reply, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay even if there was a heat wave. You upgraded from the most basic room the hotel has to the biggest mini suite, glad you enjoyed the change. For your information: you booked via Booking.com where we only sell 3 out of our 7 room types: eco, standard, and small deluxe rooms). For more choice of rooms and personalised decor and furnishings we offer, via our website, our larger and more modern superior rooms called vintage and élégance rooms. A bientôt!
Read more
We were there for 3 nights,27th-29th June 2018.First impression was pleasant with flowers but the rooms are tired and the "bathroom" is dead.Very basic accommodation with little room to put things.We had particularly wanted a hotel with a restaurant and had been told it had a goo
Read more
Response from Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Responded Jul. 13, 2018
Monsieur H, why you didn't you make your disappointment known on site while you were staying for three nights is a mystery to us. We guess it is far easier to totally destroy a hotel with 2 anonymous negative reviews (hotel and restaurant) after your stay and suffer in silence while on site? It would have been far better for all concerned if you would have left with a smile. But then there are always two sides of the story: when you made your booking, different room types were pointed out with their rate, advantages and disavantages.You chose the cheapest thus smallest room which is indeed a basic room but with all modern conveniences you can expect of a three star hotel. For 10 year we have been using the agency you booked through, you are the first guest who is not happy with their stay. Looking at other reviews you wrote we gather that you in fact always stay in the same hotels in this region and in Sancerre and that you do not hesitate to either give them full marks or very low marks, but it doesn't stop you from going back... A suggestion: next time you stay in a hotel visit the hotel's website and their Tripadvisor page before you book, it will give you all recent and up to date information. I am convinced that you would have stayed in a different room even if the price was a little higher (10euro !). If you don't mention your expectations before or during your stay we can't put it right! ! PS: Thanks to the indications in your review we are now able to trace back the person who anonymously broke the sun lounger. Hotel star ratings are based on government standards, Logis has nothing to do with this. We are sorry we are not able to finish this reply on a more positive tone, the disappointed manager at La Croix Blanche.
Read more
Outside of hotel was pretty but the inside in the rooms was rather tired and very very basic, no wardrobe, no kettle and the bathroom needed a good bleach. In terms of location you can’t walk to Saumur, it’s a 20 minute drive and you need your own car. The restaurant at the hote
Read more
Response from Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Responded Jun. 27, 2018
Bonjour, thank you for the compliments regarding our restaurant and historic flowered terrace. Apparently not everyone likes the newly refurbished hotel interior for our public areas... ? As for the room you booked, it was an 'eco room' which was clearly marked as such; this room type will be refurbished the coming autumn. The rate paid reflects this however the eco room with private facilities includes use of our outdoor pool, car park, wifi etc. Kind regards, the management
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Photo provided by managementHotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
chambre abbaye-abbey room
Photo provided by managementHotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Chambre famille - Family room
kamer nr 1
There will be 4 of us staying at your hotel next year. Is it possible for you to arrange transportation for us to St.Pierre des Corps train station? If yes, what is the approximate cost? Thanks very much.
Dear Erin B, The cost for a taxi from st Pierre des Corps would be approx. 150€ for 2 guests and 'normal' luggage. The area certainly deserves to be discovered so I would highly recommend that you rent a car (automatic gear box?!) as public transport is very limited. If you would like to contact us directly with exact dates and request via the contact form on our website (tripadvisor won't allow me to indicate our email address or web site here) Looking forward to welcoming you then Mieke, proprietor
0 votes
Show all answers
What is the nearest airport
Bonjour thank you for contacting us. You can try flights to Nantes (2hrs by car) or Poitiers, Tours or Angers which are under an hour by car. Let me know if we can be of further assistance regarding your stay. Kind regards, Mieke, proprietor
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello, I am visiting the hotel on Friday. I have tried to view the car park map on the website but it isn't loading on my computer. Please could you give me information to find the hotels car park. Many thanks, Hannah.
Bonjour, Thank you for your booking. To get to our hotel's car park please follow the small dark grey signs at any of the entrance roads to Fontevraud. It will direct you to our car park straight away. (No need to have the car park map). See you on Friday. Best regards Hostellerie La Croix Blanche.
0 votes
Nothing, I have visited, enjoyed and reviewed. I was, for some reason copied in on the question from everywhere woman which I see you have now answered
Bonjour, thank you for replying to the candian guest on our behalf. sorry that the tripadvisor question arrived on your email account. I do not know how this works exactly to be honest, it's the first time I use this and discovered this option on Tripadvisor - short question from my side: were you also copied on the reply??? best regards mc
0 votes
Show all answers
I've enjoyed reading the reviews for your hotel. I especially like the way you respond to the negative reviews. You are correct. Two sides to every story. I'm in the process of planning a trip to France in June 2015 with my family(5pp). Would you have availability approximately June 19-21? A price quote for one night with breakfast would be helpful. Merci
Bonjour Everywherewoman and family, thank you for your request for june 2015. The hotel has several room types for 1 to 5 guests, room type and rate depend on the number of adults and/or children per room. A family room or connecting rooms could be an option. An indication of room rates: from 95 to 165 euro per night. Maybe you could send me more details via Tripadvisor or if you prefer to use the hotel's email ? Best regards from all of at hotel La Croix Blanche in Fontevraud l'Abbaye, Mieke Chabenat
0 votes
Show all answers
"View all the rooms on line and choose which you like. We stayed in the hunting room"
"Couples should ask for a balcony room - there aren't many, so ask as soon as you book, it's a great place to suffer from food envy."
"try to get a Superior room - they're bigger."
"All rooms are quite"
"Best room are by the courtyard for the great atomsphere"
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing