We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
23 quai Valin Vieux Port Centre, 17000, La Rochelle France
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
US$155
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (189)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (6)

About

#33 of 49 hotels in La Rochelle
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of the city of La Rochelle, The Yachtman Hotel is the ideal departure point to sail away.Only a few steps away, you will find the Aquarium, The Towers of La Rochelle, its fancy "Old Port" and its historical center.With its close proximity to the train Station (500 meters) as well as most points of interest in the city, The Yachtman Hotel is the obvious place to stay for a cruise on land.The Yachtman Hotel and its crew will be glad to have you discovering our treasures such as the heated swimming pool and its patio, or the generous continental breakfast served in-room or in the breakfast room facing the sailing boats in the Old port.Of course we offer free Wi-Fi connection and we do have some parking places available on request. Welcome on board.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
505Reviews3Q+A38Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 68
  • 220
  • 131
  • 51
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Terence, UK wrote a review Aug. 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom89 contributions61 helpful votes
We looked at this Hotel threw Booking.com and looked great....being one of only four hotels in Le Rochelle to have a pool we thought we had made a great choice, but on arrival we were horrified to see the state of the outside façade and it got worse as we entered the lobby. The beautiful pool and surrounding terrace area had No connection to the photos shown on B.com and there were No sun loungers and people were lying on their towels on the flag stones. Things got worse when we walked to our rooms, the hall ways were pebble dashed and painted over and the carpets were thread bare and drab and when entered are rooms, one being a superior with pool view and the other being a junior suite....we simply reversed out and went straight back to reception and checked out there and then. The guy on reception totally agreed with us that photos were at least 15 years old and had little to No connection with the hotel we were standing in. Even so he charged me 257 euros and said the director Pierre would call me to discuss my complaints...We are still waiting for him to call. My advice is to give this Hotel a wide berth, sad really because with a cash injection from the owners they could have a nice hotel they could be proud of, instead of this run down, tired lack luster hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Never Book Here...Rooms are awful old and tired
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Rebecca O wrote a review Sep. 2019
16 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed here for 4 nights and had a lovely time. Staff friendly. The room was fine air conditioning worked great maybe have one English station on the tv that wasn't a news channel. Bed comfy and sound proof. Free WiFi that was easy to access and signal was strong. Right in the middle of everything. Only thing i would change is breakfast not to my taste but did the job. I would recommend the hotel to any one going to la Rochelle.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
CraterCornwall wrote a review Aug. 2019
Callington, United Kingdom127 contributions41 helpful votes
+1
My wife and I stayed at this quaint Hotel right on Quai Vilan, before I start on how our 40 th wedding anniversary holiday was spoilt, I must say, this Hotel has a lot of positives, and we enjoyed the amenities, a great room overlooking the harbour, the pool, and the good breakfast, up until the second night, when a horrendous smell was emitting from the bathroom. The first night we ignored it, but the second night we thought this was very strong, by the the third night, I was getting short of breath, a problem I have never had. After contacting the reception at 0630, the night staff came up and sprayed an air freshener. We were then told that they would fix the problem, and ask the cleaner to sort out, and they had had the same complaint from room 342, we were 340. Of course it did not solve anything as a drainage engineer is required. So the next night we had the exact issue again, but very noisy neighbours with a dog to contend with. Sunday I asked for a refund for the remaining nights and we would go to another Hotel, we were offered another room, as the manager would not be back until Monday , to authorise a refund, we took the other room as a temporary measure, as long as we could talk to the manager the next day, and had a good sleep, and no odours, we felt better and our breathing was back to normal. On the Monday we were then told the manager would not be back until Wednesday eve, we were due to leave Wednesday morning. The staff did their best to help, but I fear the management do not realise the seriousness of the problem, and unless they get to the bottom of this issue, an Engineer will be needed. I would recommend if you are staying in the Yachtsmen hotel do not take the harbour view suites on floor 3.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman
Responded Aug. 8, 2019
Dear Sir and Guest We have been most grateful you choose our hotel for your stay in La Rochelle. We are pleased that beside the "smell trouble" you had in your room you felt confortable and happy with us. about the "smell trouble"....just to let you know....we are on the sea side/shore and it happens when the tide/wind changes that some strong smell comes. we cannot help it. to get your sleep no disturbed with noise the air engines are slowened at night and work normaly day time. There is no evident solution to this....it may happen anywhere else....sometimes the smell is in the streets also. or we turn the air engines on normal at night and you may say that you can hear engine noises....(this what we used to do before) many thanks anyhow for been nice guests and having a good time in la Rochelle. best regards
Read more
Suep88 wrote a review Jul. 2019
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom29 contributions10 helpful votes
We booked a 4 night break in a superior room with small balcony overlooking the pool. Excellent welcome by Pierre on Reception. Thanks for your help on our arrival. Our room was clean and a good size, with a bonus of a full size fridge. The weather was very hot, we visited during the European heat wave - the air conditioning was excellent. I would recommend booking a private parking space via the hotel but this attracted a further 12 euro per night charge but well worth it. The pool was welcoming and well used. The location of the hotel facilitated accessing the whole of La Rochelle on foot- there is a 3 hour walking tour available via a free map from the tourist office - this certainly ensured we didn’t miss any key attractions. We would definitely stay again if in the area
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Andrew M wrote a review Jul. 2019
Toronto, Ohio2 contributions
I never write reviews for Tripadvisor but I'll make an exception this time because the staff and management are so unbelievably rude and hostile. On arrival it book more than half an hour to wait to check in. Then one front desk person left, half way through the check in and wanted to start the entire, non computerized process from the beginning when all she needed to do was copy my passport. When I tried to check out, I learned that i was checking out a day early, that I had another night booked, when it had been cancelled by my office weeks before arriving. The desk clerk proceeded to berate me, and the owner or manager actually physically assaulted me. BTW:, I speak French and conducted most of my conversations here and elsewhere in La Rochelle in French. I have travelled all over the world for 40 years and I have NEVER experienced such incredibly rude, aggressive and incompetent service. I attend a conference in La Rochelle every year as do many of my colleagues, whom I will warn, as I am warning readers to NEVER STAY AT THE YACHTMAN HOTEL IN LA ROCHELLE.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman
Responded Aug. 8, 2019
Dear Sir We do really remember who you are!!!! An incorrect person that quite insult our staff without any proper behavior. Your head is larger than your body..... we never had any cancellation from your office...but you didnot want any control...just yell at the receptionist....saying you have no time, that you were expected for a presentation, etc... we didnot make any mistake and we can prove it. check on your side or on the agency you booked through. Hopefully, 99.9% of our guests are well educated, you just belong to the 0.1% who is not. best regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
le yachtman la rochelle
LOCATION
FranceNouvelle-AquitaineCharente-MaritimeLa Rochelle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Le Yachtman
Which popular attractions are close to Le Yachtman?
Nearby attractions include Vieux Port (0.09 km), Towers of La Rochelle (0.3 km), and Porte de la Grosse-Horloge (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Yachtman?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Le Yachtman?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Yachtman?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Yachtman?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Tout Du Cru, La Storia, and Delicacy.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Yachtman?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Le Yachtman located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of La Rochelle.
Are pets allowed at Le Yachtman?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Le Yachtman?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Le Yachtman?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cathedrale St-Louis (La) (0.6 km), Hotel de Ville (0.3 km), and Porte des Deux Moulins (0.8 km).
Does Le Yachtman have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.