We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Le Royal

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Le Royal
Hotel Le Royal
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

601 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Royal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 287: English reviews
Main Beach, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We booked an ocean view room with a balcony and were not disappointed. I think we must have been in one the refurbished rooms if other reviews here are anything to go by. Our room was clean and we were very satisfied with it and the bathroom during the 3 nights we stayed here. The staff were pleasant and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled18652
oliherphe, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were very pleased to welcome you and really thank you for your positive feedback: that was a pleasure to do everything possible so that your stay was very appreciated. We hope to welcome you for your future stay in France and Nice especially. Best regards,

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This hotel has a grand facade and is in a prime location on the promenade. However, do not judge a book by its cover! Internally it is extremely tired. Only one of the two lifts work (and it's extremely slow). The communal corridors and the room had an old and musty smell. The hotel is currently undergoing some renovations and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DMip
Copenhagen
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MLundB
oliherphe, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal, responded to this review

Nice
Reviewed 22 July 2012

For a short stay this hotel is ok. The location is super. It used to be a wonderful place, but now they are short of money to really make something nice and good. They are renovating the hotel, but doing half work. Such a pity. The service was very good.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emil P
London
Reviewed 20 July 2012

An ok 3-star hotel. I went with 2 friends all in our thirties and we were the youngest people in the hotel by 30 years. Not a problem at all but worth knowing! Very well located for the beach and the promenade (and also for Nice Old Quarter) and it was reasonable value for 3 of us in a single...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank London_Lucy
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The positive is that staff is friendly however several times I could not dial reception, my wife had the same experience;)location is an advantage, very close to the sea and city center, the building as itself is nice and has a historic flavor. The room was quite big. What we don't like is smelling in the corridor (we were living...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SizovM
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 July 2012

When you enter this hotel it is a little bit out of fashion but the room we had was very modern and new. Room 103.We had a outside so we can watch the sea and the joggers. The location is good, near the center and at the sea. Many restaurants in the neighbourhood, the Koudou is very good. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgebilthoven
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2012

After reading the bad reviews on here I was concerned to the state of the hotel. On arrival scaffolding covered half the hotel but we were open minded, perfect location just across from the beach. Half of the rooms under renovation and a picture in the lift showed you what you could have once finished. Our room was good size...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jwjaws7
dublin
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The room was cool, clean and quiet but very small. The food was very poor. There was absolutely no assistance offered by waiting staff at breakfast to a guest with reduced mobility. Good Location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank indie2
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I don't know how on earth this place has 3 stars! First, they screwed up our reservation. It was supposed to be for 3 nights and they only had us down for one. However, this was a blessing in disguise. The hallway upstairs smelled old and musty. Looking at some other reviews, it appears that the hotel is undergoing renovations....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tracey M

508 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (266)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
View from Room (51)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
1:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (104)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (201)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Double Room (City View) (24)
Viewed
Double Room (Sea View) (26)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Second Double Room (Sea View) (26)
Viewed
Single Room (City View) (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel West End
#50 of 204 in Nice
1,037 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Nice
#73 of 204 in Nice
1,912 reviews
Hotel Albert 1er
#43 of 204 in Nice
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Le Royal Hotel Restaurant
Le Royal Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: French, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal

Address: 23 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Price Range: $100 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, Hotel.de and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Nice
Le Royal Hotel Nice
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Le Royal staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Le Royal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Non-sea-view rooms are quiet but poor”
 of 5 bubbles Totti1975, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A room with a view is a must, although noisy, the ones for the back yard are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles vivere2016, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“5th Floor, Sea View”
 of 5 bubbles maartene2015, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I beleive sea wieving rooms is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Atila_Yumusakkaya, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Must book a sea facing, renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles johnarlette, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5