We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

821 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
See the most recent reviews
Showing 344: English reviews
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2016

An excellent hotel. (Stayed one night only therfore have no opinion as to cleanless and service) Good value to money Greate location in front of the port. Good and rich breakfeast. Close to shopping and dinning

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ramia27
George B, Directeur général at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and are pleased that your stay at the Escale Oceania have given you satisfaction Looking forward to welcome you again Directeur Hôtel Manager More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Hotel is located close to port.The seesite area is nice and close to anemities. Staff was very helpful on every matter that we had. Room and room service was in very good standard. Even the hotel is situated close to very busy road windows aisolates noises from outside very well. I can recommend that hotel to others.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 48margaretd
George B, Directeur général at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and are pleased that your stay at the Escale Oceania have given you satisfaction Looking forward to welcome you again Directeur Hôtel Manager More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel really is all about its situation in Marseille. Right down at the old port it is perfect for nightlife, shops, and also exploring as there is a metro station across the road. Staff are genuinely very friendly. Only let down is that the breakfast is a bit basic. Its worth noting that's there's no bar or restaurant either.... More 

Helpful?
Thank dcburns
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Great hotel, with an amazing view of the harbour from the balcony. Very helpful and friendly staff, who speaks and understand English. Will definitely not be the last time staying at this hotel when visiting Marseille.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 895trinen
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Please do yourself a favor and don't stay at this hotel, my wife was miserable for 1 night and we had to checkout early. The Air Conditioning did not work properly so the hotel brought up a dirty desk fan and offering to switch our room the next day, the Ceiling had a water stain, and worst of all, both... More 

Helpful?
Thank RICHARD A
George B, Directeur général at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review

You have a room that was occupied the day before and after his stay, and no guest came at the front desk to comply about air conditioning or bed flea. M. Att booked through JacTravel (we exchanged a lot about this subject), and moreover at this period we had a minimum stay of 3 nights due to the European soccer... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2016

You can pay more but the quality will not be better! Beautiful hotel, comfortable bedding and a reasonable size room. The front desk staff is knowledgeable and very friendly and is fluent in English...this will be more important than you know if you do not know French. The hotel is situated in a wonderful place with everything you need within... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelercynthia
George B, Directeur général at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and are pleased that your stay at the Escale Oceania have given you satisfaction Looking forward to welcome you again Directeur Hôtel Manager More 

Gibraltar
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We stayed here for just one night.....really pleased with this hotel. An old building but all the rooms and facilities have been upgraded and modernised so you get a good sized new room and bathroom. Cant praise the girl on reception enough....friendly, helpful, spoke faultless english and gave us sime great hints and tips and a lovely restaurant! Perfect location... More 

Helpful?
Thank PandSTeam
George B, Directeur général at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and are pleased that your stay at the Escale Oceania have given you satisfaction Looking forward to welcome you again Hôtel manager More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Location is excellent, just across the street from a metro station, and a few blocks from the nearest tram stop. The views from the (external, more expensive) rooms is over the old harbour [Port vieux]. If you open the balcony doors, there is a lot of noise, of course!, but when closed you hear nearly nothing. Check-in after 14.00, check-out... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Johan O
George B, Responsable réception at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and are pleased that your stay at the Escale Oceania have given you satisfaction Looking forward to welcome you again More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Rooms small but great location close to old port. Very clean although there was slight drain smell in bathroom. Very clean and very comfortable beds. Great breakfast. Lovely staff who were very pleasant and helpful. We would recommend it and I would choose this hotel of returning to Marseilles.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre D
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Right at the heart of the port, surrounded by fun, bars and restaurants. The hotel was a good price, very affordable. Very clean, bright and tidy. I would put the rooms at 4* although the aircon did let the room down as it barely seemed to work. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights stay in the lovely but gritty port... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karl M
George B, Responsable réception at Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and are pleased that your stay at the Escale Oceania have given you satisfaction Looking forward to welcome you again More 

186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (167)
Viewed
View from Room (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alex Hotel
#2 of 127 in Marseille
279 reviews
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#3 of 127 in Marseille
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escale Oceania has air-conditioned rooms and is 3 minutes from St Charles train station by Metro. It is just 50 metres from Vieux Port Metro and offers free Wi-Fi access.Each of the Marseille Vieux Port’s guest rooms has soundproofing, a flat-screen TV with cable and satellite channels, a private bathroom with an Italian shower. Some have a balcony with views of the harbour.Breakfast is available and either served in the modern dining room or in the guests’ rooms. Escale Oceania is situated a short walk from a number of restaurants and bars.Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port is situated within walking distance of Marseille’s main historic attractions, including the Fort Saint-Jean and the Opera. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port

Address: 5 la Canebiere, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Price Range: $117 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port Hotel Marseille
Escale Oceania Vieux Port Marseille
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marseille
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#7 Business Hotel in Marseille
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
DobbsFerry,NY
over a year ago
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Pleasantville, New York
IL

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We booked a "superior" room, and were happy with it.”
 of 5 bubbles captdoc41, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“superior rooms have a safe and a view if that's important to you”
 of 5 bubbles StChris, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our fifth floor room was in the rear of the hotel with no street noise”
  • Room view
 of 5 bubbles josephwc668, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors best for view.”
 of 5 bubbles Anagram5249, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not far from the St Charles station Close to metro and tub station Restautrants close by Room very clean ”
 of 5 bubbles 48margaretd, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay