We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel La Residence

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel La Residence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Residence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 284: English reviews
Ilsington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We stayed here on the way down to (2 nights on the way down - 1 room) and return from (3 nights - 2 rooms) from Agde. Big plus points were the location and the service. The staff on reception really care, are friendly and give their all. Downsides: > The hotel is very tired looking and appears to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Essexboyz123
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest , We thank you for sharing your comments following your last experience in our hotel . We're delighted to know you spent some great time Thanks to our welcoming staff and our central location in the heart of the city center . However , we're sorry to know you found the hotel dated ... Indeed, we did big...

Walldorf, Germany
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The hotel looks quite a bit dated, the lobby as well as the hallways and the doors with old fashioned keys. Our room was on the small side but beds were good. Bathroom was OK. Air con not the strongest but it worked. However, the rates are fair and location is excellent. Breakfast is not included and we didn't try...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terbang
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, At first thank you for sharing your feedback following your last experience . We're delighted to know you spent some great time in our hotel . We try to offer to our guests renovated rooms with a very good value for a 3 stars in the city center . Your satisfaction is our first goal and our priority...

Toulouse, France
Reviewed 27 August 2016

central, friendly efficient staff, clean rooms.the price was very good (78 euros on august 26!) and access to the old quarter of Lyon just 10 minutes walk away. The lobby is very retro and the lift noisy, but the rooms are bright and clean, and everything functions, however I wouldn't want to stay here for a whole week! It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank easytoplis
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor ! We're delighted to know you spent some great time thanks to our central location , welcoming staff and facilities . Your satisfaction is our only goal that's why we always do some renovated works in our rooms to offer you the best experience as possible . We'll be glad...

Abingdon, Maryland
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We arrived around midnight and we were warmly greated by our host who was quick to get us checked in. The room for our family of four was incredible. With a marble fire place in our room with 10ft ceilings and huge windows was quite a surprise. The beds were invariably comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SLJSTobia
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for sharing your feedback following your experience in our hotel . We're delighted to know you spent some great time in Lyon,thanks to our welcoming staff , our room comfort and facilities . Your satisfaction is our only goal and our best reward ! We look forward to welcome you once again during your next...

Reviewed 12 August 2016

This hotel is right in the downtown Lyon, on a pedestrian only street. It can be difficult to unload your luggage if you can't find a spot on the side street. We found parking on the street and since we arrived late, it was fine. Otherwise I suggest parking at the nearby parking lot and pay. Large room with air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Turquoise2010
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for sharing your comments following your last exeperience in our hotel . We're delighted to know you spent some great time thanks to our room comfort and quality service . We look forwaard to welcome you once again in our beautiful city ! Best regards, Nicolas Blanchez

Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights during Euro2016. We liked: + Good, central location + Good sized room with large, comfortable bed + Well equiped room with air conditioning, safe and kettle We didn't like: - Wifi unstable - Thin walls - Breakfast rather basic and raided later in the morning

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManMo1973
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this review

Dear Gueest , Thank you for sharing your feedback following your last experience in our hotel . We're delighted to know you spent some great time thanks to our central location right in the heart of the city center and thanks our quality service and room comfort . We well note your negativ comments and we'll try to improve them...

Varberg, Sweden
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Small and decent hotel. Not really fancy, but decent clean rooms. Good breakfast. The location is really great - next to Place Bellcour, in the center of Lyon area. Decent price as well. Have stayed her easy times on business trips. Good value for money!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jbiv
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, At first , thank you for sharing your feedback following your last experience in our hotel . We're delighted to know you spent some great time thanks to our central location in the heart of the city centerand our quality service . We look forward to welcome you once again during your next trip in our beautiful city...

Oregon
Reviewed 23 June 2016

The Hotel La Residence is very close to the Bellecour Metro Stop, maybe a five minute walk (if that much). It's on a wide pedestrian shopping mall, though the much better mall is a bit further away, across the Bellecour park. There are restaurants all around the area, and you are one stop away from the Roman Amphitheater and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dar Sigfusson
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, At first we thank you for sharing your feedback following your last experience ! We're delighted to know you spent some great time with us thanks to our central location in the heart of the city center close by all the main spots and our quality services . We look forward to welcome you once again during your...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at La Residence four times for 9 or 10 days each time. This is not a luxury property. However, it is clean and comfortable, and is in a great location just south of Bellecour. The staff have always been very friendly and helpful. NOTE: if you are a light sleeper, request one of the few rooms that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KingofThreePutts
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest , At first , thank you for sharing your feedback following your last experiences . We're delighted to know your satisfaction every time you come in our hotel . Our guest satisfaction is our only goal and your comment is for us our best reward with your loyalty ! We look forward to welcome you once again in...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for a short city break in Lyon. Located in the pedestrianised area it was very central to the shops, restaurants and general sights of Lyon, all within walking distance. We booked through a third party website and asked to be placed in one of their newly refurbished rooms which was granted. Our room was on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mim186378
nicolas b, Responsable réception at Hotel La Residence, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We are so delighted to know you have spent some good time in our hotel, thanks to our perfect location in the city center and our room comfort. We look forward to welcome you once again during your next trip to Lyon. Best Regards Maya/ reception

337 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (169)
Viewed
Double Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Single Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)
Viewed
Triple Room (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 193 in Lyon
945 reviews
Hotel Alexandra
#32 of 193 in Lyon
633 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#68 of 193 in Lyon
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Artistes
#34 of 193 in Lyon
385 reviews
Hotel Bayard Bellecour
#81 of 193 in Lyon
305 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Citadines Presqu'ile Lyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our 3-star hotel is located in the heart of downtown Lyon, a 5 -minute walk from Old Lyon , 150 meters from the Place Bellecour and 10 minutes from Confluence . Our central location allows you to discover all the attractions of Lyon life , both in terms of shopping, cultural tours or even the many restaurants making Lyon the capital of gastronomy. Our modern rooms with contemporary decor are equipped with flat - screen television, mini bar, air conditioning , hospitality tray with tea and coffee making facilities . A friendly and personal welcome awaits you and we will be happy to advise you throughout your stay to make you enjoy the charms of our beautiful city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel La Residence

Address: 18 rue Victor Hugo, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Price Range: $141 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel
La Residence Lyon
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Lyon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel La Residence staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Kingston, Canada
Zurich, Switzerland
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel La Residence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the fourth floor. There is some noise on the street early in the morning but didn't here it unless we were already awake.”
 of 5 bubbles N7535HTsuef, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Lifts to all floors”
 of 5 bubbles KnowledgeableEater, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the street are noisy. Not sure if there are quiet rooms away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles TeHaPortland_Oregon, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms are small, but street views are available”
 of 5 bubbles Denise181716, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The higher up you are (max 5th floor) the less likely you are to hear noise from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles martinwZ4244YH, 17 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5