We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel L'Avancher

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel L\\
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 92: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel L'Avancher
 Click to rate
Enford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We enjoyed a very comfortable stay. Everyone was very friendly - room very comfortable - delicious breakfasts. Situation in the town very central and we would definitely like to stay again, especially when the new hotel is due to open I believe in 2018. Highly recommended and thank you to all the staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
Hôtel-Restauran... V, Responsable commercial at Hotel L'Avancher, responded to this review

Hello Judith, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback. Indeed, we will be buiding the new hotel structure this summer and we will be reopening on December 22nd, 2017 ! We will, of course, keep this "Avancher atmosphere" in an even more comfortable hotel. We are located 5 minutes away from the center of the...

Oxon.
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I have been coming to Val d'isere for a slong as I can remember having worked there back in the 80's and I have either rented an appt or stayed at The Crete Blanche or both!! In fact I have been a loyal customer of the Crete for years so when I tried to book for the 4 days in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MahoutOxon_
Hôtel-Restauran... V, Responsable commercial at Hotel L'Avancher, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback. Indeed, we always try to be flexible with our clients' requests for short stays. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us at the Avancher Hotel & Restaurant. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you next year in the new hotel ! Best,...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Hotel L'Avancher was a small and cosy hotel, with a very friendly and helpful staff. We almost felt like a part of a family. A good breakfast buffet and a very good restaurant for dinner. Book a table early because it's full every night. The rooms were very small, but nice and clean. We also had nice and big terrasse...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank henhol2017
Hôtel-Restauran... V, Responsable commercial at Hotel L'Avancher, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your lovely comment. We are glad you almost felt like part of a family, we always want to welcome our guests with a smile as well as in a warm and cosy atmosphere :) We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you next year in the new hotel...

Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Excellent value for money. A lovely hotel and very clean hotel, with friendly and very helpful staff and an excellent breakfast. Very well located for town and skiing. I would highly recommend a stay here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 206Caty
Hôtel-Restauran... V, Responsable commercial at Hotel L'Avancher, responded to this review

Hello Caty, Thank you very much for leaving your feedback ! We look forward to seeing you again in Val d'Isère :) Best, Sandra

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Great service. Rooms are OK. Used the launch a lot. A great place to hang out. The Staff gave us good information and helped us a lot with guides, skipasses and even the dialog with the taxi driver when it was stuck in trafic.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonte2017
Hôtel-Restauran... V, Responsable commercial at Hotel L'Avancher, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you very much for your comment. We always try to personnalised our service to fullfill our clients needs the best we can ! We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you next year in the new hotel ! Best, Sandra

Santa Rosa, California
Reviewed 19 March 2017

very friendly staff, rooms small but clean, good shower.Close to free shuttle to ski slopes. Inexpensive compared to other hotels in center of town. Only a 5 min. walk to center of town. would stay there again JH Santa Rosa Ca,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank james h
Hôtel-Restauran... V, Responsable commercial at Hotel L'Avancher, responded to this review

Hi James, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are glad ou enjoyed your stay at the Avancher Hotel and are looking forward to seeing you again next winter ! Best, Sandra

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Booked for supper tonight/ my birthday. Welcome good, table good, waiter good, wine started well.... then the food came Disappointed would be my comment. Our starter was ok. My husband's tuna was not as he expected. My steak was good but too much. The gratin dauphinois was ok but nothing special . So altogether a disappointing birthday meal. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drjudymwhite
Caltanissetta, Italy
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I spent a week in this little but beautiful hotel with some friends of mine. Position is very good and all the team of the hotel is friendly and professional. Rooms are a little bit small. Breakfast is good! I know next year the hotel is gonna be bigger and with spa and more services...it will be perfect to go...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikisupertramp
Hôtel-Restauran... V, Responsable commercial at Hotel L'Avancher, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your comment. Indeed, the hotel is a 5 minutes’ walk from the center of the resort and 50 m from the free bus stop, you can enjoy the animations of the resort without undergoing its noise. In addition, you will return directly skis to the feet to...

Barcelona
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Our stay was surprisingly bad, poor decoration, low standard, no heating in bathroom, bad cold bathroom floors, dated, ugly and poor quality. The amenities where non existant, the common area was long from cozy and the comfort was low, the towels where over washed and old...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaBCN
Hôtel-Restauran... V, Responsable commercial at Hotel L'Avancher, responded to this review

Dear Cecilia, We are a little bit suprised by this comment, we don't remember you sharing your bad experience with us while you were here. We would have tried to do evreything possible to make your stay better, for example we would have provided you with an extra heater for the bathroom etc. Regarding the decoration, well the Avancher is...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Nice and Cosy place to stay. We booked two rooms and spend about 8 days / 7 nights on this property. The rooms was excellent, very clean and tidy, the bathroom towels and bed sheet was of good quality. Very impressed. The location was ideal. About 10 minutes walk to the main gondola / Ski lifts. Ski Shop/rental is directly...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sktan2014
Hôtel-Restauran... V, Responsable commercial at Hotel L'Avancher, responded to this review

Hello M. Tan, Thank you very much for taking the time to share about your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We put all of our efforts into offering a personnalized service to each individual guest, depending on their wishes and needs. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you next year in the...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
423 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
204 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
Hotel Restaurant La Toviere
#8 of 39 in Val d'Isere
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
218 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
135 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel le Kern
Hotel le Kern
#17 of 39 in Val d'Isere
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel L'Avancher is a wooden chalet, built in 1949 by a visionary, an ambitious construction worker for the Dam of Tignes. Signed over to Charles and Renee Kassenberg in 1958 it was immediately turned into a hotel, making it one of the oldest hotels in Val d'Isere. Their daughter Francoise, spent her childhood in this chalet, making her the natural successor. Today, Fred Monneret has taken over the reins, enhancing the authenticity and hospitality, two of the hotel's most important values. The hotel has 17 rooms, a restaurant, a living-room, a sauna, a ski workshop that turns into a mountain bike workshop in the summer. By the end of January, you can make the most of the sun on the large wooden terrace or the small garden. This chalet, full of history, is regularly renovated, allowing it to combine both authenticity and modernity. A five-minute walk from the town center and 50 meters from the bus stop, this chalet allows you to make the most of the ski resort's animations without having to endure the noisy nightlife. (See map) The slopes are five minutes away and you can ski directly back to the hotel, (depending on snow conditions at the beginning and end of season). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel L'Avancher

Address: avenue du Prariond | Arret de Bus Ucpa, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Price Range: $351 - $660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Avancher 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel L'Avancher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Avancher France/Savoie
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
#5 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val d'Isere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel L'Avancher staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel L'Avancher staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Tyhe room was a littel small but we got over that soon. You need overhead showers-NOT telephone ones in the new hotel. Bigger bath would be good too”
MahoutOxon_, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are a bit small, but the beds are not! Everything was spotlessly clean and comfortable, with lots of hot water!”
206Caty, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms was very clean and tidy.”
sktan2014, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rebuild this year means that it is not possible to comment.”
martinpC280KB, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room With four beds are Nice for Familys.”
681unnis, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com
Cancelon
Booking.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates