We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel balladins Lyon/Villefranche-sur-Saone

Expedia.comUS$39*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel balladins Lyon\/Villefranche-sur-Saone
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 10: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel balladins Lyon/Villefranche-sur-Saone
 Click to rate
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Stayed here after a quick visit to Lyon. The guy on reception was very efficient and checked us in very quickly. It's a standard motel really, smallish room with 2 beds and a bathroom - yes it's a bit like a caravan inside, but is fine for a night or two and very good value. Had a good night's sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James R
Sylvain P, Directeur général at Hotel balladins Lyon/Villefranche-sur-Saone, responded to this review

Dear James, many thanks for your kind comments about your stay with us. We're glad that you enjoyed this moment. While waiting for your soonest next step in the Beaujolais, please accept our kindest regards. S.POUZAT Hotel Manager

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Very small rooms. No facilities to make a drink! Weird extremely small bathroom. Not very friendly staff either, only interested in booking you a table for dinner. Funky smell in entrance, didn't attempt eating there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellymcauliffe
Sylvain P, Directeur général at Hotel balladins Lyon/Villefranche-sur-Saone, responded to this review

Madam, Thank you for giving us your impressions after your two stays in our hotel. We regret that you didn't share your grievances in person. We could have made a more appropriate response than we are about to do. Indeed, after having shared a first time your opinion in the satisfaction survey that was sent to you by the booking...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

Smallish rooms with a very weird bathroom/plastic capsule to shower in. Beds were tiny and uncomfortable and you only get one pillow that is very limp, would have liked two as I had to fold mine in half to be able to sleep. We got a singular bread roll and a singular crossaint for breakfast, some orange juice and cereal....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rubyredlips93
Sylvain P, Directeur général at Hotel balladins Lyon/Villefranche-sur-Saone, responded to this review

Dear guests, further to your comments about your stay, please accept our late apologises for not having lived up to your excpectations. As you wrote in your comments title, our room's size and our bathroom meet the 2 stars hotels standards. However, we are surprised about your breakfast feedback. Indeed, we propose a € 7.90 buffet breakfast that seems to...

Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We were there in June 2015 on an organized tour (30 people) from Paris to Nice and Venezzia and since the we paid a fixed price for the entire tour I can not comment on value for money. No elevator. Rooms are REALLY small and the bathroom is in some sort of plastic closed protruding into the room. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank batelcruiser
Sylvain P, Directeur général at Hotel balladins Lyon/Villefranche-sur-Saone, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Dear Sir, You took few minutes to share your comments about our hotel and we thank you. We regret that you didn't appreciate your stay with us but you benefit from the services booked and negotiated by your Tour Operator. And you should know that Tour Operators select the lowest rate possible. Indeed, since you booked your trip...

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2015

First impressions were of very friendly check-in staff and (thank goodness) a comfortable bed- first one we'd found since leaving home over a week ago to travel around France! It was terrific value for money, and the breakfast buffet was also good. Easy to find, near the motorway (but quiet in room), great place to break your journey all round....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbiemoo
Sylvain P, Directeur général at Hotel balladins Lyon/Villefranche-sur-Saone, responded to this review

Dear SIr, Dear Madam, Many thanks for sharing your stay souvenir on tripadvisor. We're always glad to know our strengths and weaknesses, in order to keep the first ones at their best level and improve the second ones. You enjoyed your stay, and our guests are our best ambassadors to let others know. We hope we will host you once...

London
Reviewed 29 January 2015

We booked this hotel for an overnight stop en route to the South of France and distance wise it was an ideal place to break our journey. The road conditions were terrible due to heavy rain and we were running very late. We were overwhelmed by the kindness of the lovely man on the reception desk who telephoned us at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie23578
Sylvain P, Directeur général at Hotel balladins Lyon/Villefranche-sur-Saone, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We were glad to read your comments regarding our hotel and your stay with us. We always try to take care of our guests, giving them the biggest chance to have a nice road to us, a warm and welcoming check-in and above all things a pleasant stay. We will do the same for your next stays and...

Yorkshire
Reviewed 23 September 2014

Typical Balladin. Basic room -TV and the usual, clean, dog friendly. Half an hour walk to town centre restaurants and bars ( hotel is situated of periphery of town). Good, basic value. Easy car parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rabbitmomma
Sylvain P, Directeur général at Hotel balladins Lyon/Villefranche-sur-Saone, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, We thank you for taking few minutes to share your feed back regarding your stay in our hotel. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you have appreciated our services. Our guests comments are important for us, to know what we have to improve and what we have to keep at...

Geleen
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Hotel is on a location near the highway. Breakfast and diner is buffet and good. A good low cost hotel. It is not in the center of the town but if you like to walk it is not too far. Friendly and helpfull staf. In high season it is wise to make a reservation because this hotel is on route...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florine1
Sylvain P, Directeur général at Hotel balladins Lyon/Villefranche-sur-Saone, responded to this review

Dear Madam, you took few minutes to share your feed back about your last stay in our hotel and we thank you for that. Our guests comments are very important for us to improve our failures and keep our quality standards. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your step in Beaujolais on your holidays way. While waiting...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Although a fairly basic cheap lorrydriver hotel, in a town where you only stop because you have to sleep, this place managed to give us a couple of relaxed hours in their little garden outside the restaurant. There are a couple of trees with green leaves that are cut to close that they act as sun-umbrellas and combined with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nils n
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 27 April 2011

This hotel is convenient to get to, clean, and comfortable. The room smelled a bit like smoke but the staff refreshed it when we returned. The breakfast is good for the price. The bathroom is rather small and the sink and the shower share the same tap water. Other than that, the room and the bed were very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank SMD12

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villefranche-sur-Saone hotels
2.0 km away
Best Western Hotel Plaisance
Best Western Hotel Plaisance
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
373 reviews
1.5 km away
Ibis Budget Lyon Villefranche sur Saone
Ibis Budget Lyon Villefranche su...
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
189 reviews
0.5 km away
Ibis Lyon Villefranche Sur Saone
Ibis Lyon Villefranche Sur Saone
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Campanile Villefranche Sur Saone
Campanile Villefranche Sur Saone
#8 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
131 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Newport
Hotel Newport
#7 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
88 reviews
1.0 km away
La Ferme du Poulet
La Ferme du Poulet
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Halfway between Lyon and Macon, dive into the heart of the Beaujolais vineyards and offer yourself a step that will delight you. Between wine traditions, religious heritage, Parks and the inevitable gastronomy of Lyon, Discover the Rhone-Alpes region off the beaten track... Free closed parking, Restaurant,Air conditioning, Breakfast Buffet We will be happy to open up our doors! See you soon... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel balladins Lyon/Villefranche-sur-Saone

Address: 365 avenue Theodore Braun, 69400, Villefranche-sur-Saone, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Villefranche-sur-Saone
Price Range: $53 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel balladins Lyon/Villefranche-sur-Saone 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel balladins Lyon/Villefranche-sur-Saone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balladins Villefranche-Sur-Saone
Villefranche-Sur-Saône Balladins
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel balladins Lyon/Villefranche-sur-Saone staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel balladins Lyon/Villefranche-sur-Saone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't put your luggage under the bed...... you can hear the motorway if you open the window. Stop in another town if its just for sleeping. sorry. we saw several similar hotels.”
nilsn_13, 26 Feb 2013 | Read review
1 of 1
Expedia.com
US$39* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$40
PricelineUS$40
TravelocityUS$40
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates