We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Alex Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Alex Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 91: English reviews
London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed there over the weekend. The rooms are cozy - but a bit too small for my taste evens though they were well-cut and tailored. Breakfast was ok but definitely improvable. Unfortunately only limited variety of food. Staff was very friendly and forthcoming. The location was a 10 min from the city center. All in all very nice of there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
TheAlexHotel_Fr, Geschäftsführer at The Alex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RcAroundTheWorld, Warm greetings from The Alex Hotel and thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to read that we were not able to fully convince you of our product and service. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience that was caused to you by the noise you overheard in your room. Due to the fact that...

Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Staff was really nice. The rooms are very modern, clean and have everything you expect BUT they are really really tiny. The breakfast is okay BUT you can't have Breakfast before 7am and you have to pay extra for scrambled eggs, for rates of more than 100€/night that is ridiculous!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcus M
TheAlexHotel_Fr, Geschäftsführer at The Alex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marcus M, Thank you very much for having taken the time to review your recent stay at The Alex Hotel. We are grateful to read your positive comments about our team and we will make sure to pass on your compliments to everybody. Also, we are very happy to let you know we have adapted our breakfast offer, so...

The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We love Freiburg, whenever we are travelling south we are trying to plan in and least one night. We stayed here in August 20106 with our kids and really appreciated the family friendly service. The rooms are quite small and they connecting doors, which is always important to us. The airco was working well and the rooms and bathrooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nienke08
TheAlexHotel_Fr, Geschäftsführer at The Alex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nienke08, Warm greetings from Freiburg and thank you very much for your review! We appreciate your positive feedback and will make sure to pass on your compliments about the team to everybody. Please think of us again next time you are travelling south as we would love to welcome you with us again. All the best and have a...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Alex is ideal for people on a business trip, e.g related to the university. The team is nice and helpful and the room was small but well equipped and very clean. One most strange thing is this Green sticker you are supposed to have on your car. I was there with a rental car from Switzerland. So theoretically this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcel W
TheAlexHotel_Fr, Geschäftsführer at The Alex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marcel W, Warm greetings from The Alex Hotel and thank you very much for your positive comment about our hotel. Please accept our apologies that the green emission sticker, which is required by law in a lot of cities in Germany, has caused trouble for you. Unfortunately, this is absolutely not something we can influence, as the city of...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Came to Freiburg for business and stayed at The Alex for the third time now. I love this little intimate place. It's not perfect but they're not trying to be - I mean honestly, rates are intermediate (around 90-120€) and for Freiburg, that's great value if you don't want to stay at a standardized MotelOne! Service level is very high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V_LONCH
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 19 October 2016

The hotel is situated in short walking distance (5-10 min) from the station in a quiet area close to the university science campus. My room was tiny, but clean, simple and functionally furnished, and equipped with anything you may need such as A/C, safe, flat screen TV, fridge, etc. The free WiFi was sufficiently fast, my newspaper was downloaded within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walter S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The Alex is situated slightly outside the old town , which makes it far quieter but still only 15 minutes walk to the city centre, plus being easier to park. The hotel is modern with stylish rooms. There is a bar and breakfast buffet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the station and about 20 minutes walk to the town centre. It is in a really quiet cul-de-sac. Good air conditioning. Everything looks new, clean and shiny. The room was very nice although a bit small. Excellent breakfast and pleasant staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EyesD
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Liked the place. Its mostly centered around a business crowd who would like to have a nice place to crash. The rooms are small but sophisticated. Staff is friendly. The area is quite so you get a good sleep whenever you like.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mahjabeen I
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

It turned out that this hotel does not live up to its self-description on its website. The room with the double-bed was so small that only a 50 cm corridor was left around it making it very inconvenient to put the luggage down somewhere and to to walk in the room. The equipment was modern and of a good standard,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
TheAlexHotel_FR, Geschäftsführer at The Alex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin P, We were really sorry to read of your disappointment following your stay with us and are especially sorry not to have known of the elements of disappointment during your time with us. The Alex Hotel is a small boutique hotel built in the 1960's and entirely renovated in 2014. Still, our hotel is of course on the...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
2.1 km away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#1 of 54 in Freiburg im Breisgau
512 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Colombi
Hotel Colombi
#3 of 54 in Freiburg im Breisgau
386 reviews
0.7 km away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#10 of 54 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victoria
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victo...
#6 of 54 in Freiburg im Breisgau
307 reviews
0.7 km away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 54 in Freiburg im Breisgau
840 reviews
3.7 km away
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
#4 of 54 in Freiburg im Breisgau
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lean luxury for business, as well as leisure guests. Privately run, individual, small & luxurious. Adjoining Freiburg’s old town, on foot only five minutes away from the main train station, and thanks to its location in a side street, The Alex Hotel in Freiburg is ideally situated for quiet nights. Since the new opening on May 29th, 2014 Alexander Beinert and his team will be your personal hosts, welcoming you to the hotel and Freiburg in the spacious lobby area. From there, the bar which invites to drinks, and the lounge with its cozy fireplace giving you space and time for yourself, are easy to reach. Small but mighty: all 39 non-smoking guestrooms are equipped for everybody to find what they are looking for; let it be a good night’s sleep, enough space to work or simply time for themselves. Indulge in the comfortable box spring beds with fine, elegant bed linen. Large windows, air-conditioning in all of our rooms, and a large working space are only some features to the The Alex guestrooms. Let your day in Freiburg start with a refreshing shower, as all bathrooms are equipped with a rain shower. We also offer 4 outside parking spaces as well as 5 parking spaces in the garage. Advanced reservations recommended. The garage is not suitable for very large cars. PS: we are happy to be a smoke-free hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Alex Hotel

Address: Rheinstr. 29, 79104 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Hotel Atlanta Freiburg)
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: $152 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Alex Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HRS, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Alex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alex Hotel Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Alex Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Bath
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Alex Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not expect for entertainments in the hotel or for a nice view from the windows. You go to sleep there.”
  • View from the window
  • The room
 of 5 bubbles abke550, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I am sure that every room has the same high quality facilities but no views”
 of 5 bubbles mikeramseyer, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“For two people one of the larger rooms would be better”
 of 5 bubbles TOB_HH, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“the room can accommodate 2 pax at most. And limited luggage space.”
 of 5 bubbles BeeLeng73, 25 Nov 2015 | Read review
“In summer, try to get a room with A/C.”
 of 5 bubbles HolidaymakerNorway, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay