We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hostel Berlin

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Hostel Berlin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

849 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hostel Berlin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 596: English reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful hosts. Clean! Great location! Between 2 train stations. Electric locks with pin! Near a lot of eating places! Bike rental. Wi fi could be a bit faster. Bike rental 10 euros a day/bike

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Apostolis G
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review

Hey there, thanks for your great comment on us. We are really greatful if our guest appreciate our enthusiasm on them. So are we about your great review. HOpe you have safe travels and will return when you come back to Berlin. Take care - Daniel - guest relations

Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my 5, extended to 6, days at the Grand Hostel. Good relaxed common area great for socialising and great attentive staff happy to help direct to where to go and what to do around Berlin. No complaints from me and was happy to not have a "party" atmosphere besides casual beers, and the optional pub crawl away from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elaine O
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review

Hi Elaine. Thank you so much for the nice words. I/we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. You have been a wonderful guest. If we were able to write a review about you, it would be for sure all five stars ;) Hope to see you soon again. Daniel - Guest relations

Lodz, Poland
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Staff was very helpful and they speak so many languages! English, German, French, Spanish! They've sat down with us and helped us to plan our sightseeing around Berlin over a cup of coffee. We stayed in a double room with its own bathroom. Room and bathroom were VERY clean and functional (sometimes a bit noisy from the corridor and wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bunnycik
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review

Great comment. Thank you very much for that. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again whenever you return to Berlin. Lots of greetings to Poland ;) - Daniel - Guest relations

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We first stayed in this hostel in the first few weeks it opened a few years ago. We remembered the super soft duvet and pillows! We stayed in a room with 2 beds and a private bathroom. The bathroom was cleaned daily. The rooms are very ornate with high ceilings and original features. Our room was right next to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UKDK
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review

Hey there, good to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with. Thanks for the information with the wifi. Some Pc´s or Phones have problems up there, but normaly it works fine. We will check on that. Hope to see you again. Berlin is missing you ;) Take care and see you soon - Daniel - Guest Relations

Split, Croatia
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Thank you to a most kind staff that truly loves hospitality and shows what being a great host is all about! Hostel itself is convenientely located and close to U-Bahn stations. Rooms are spacious and immaculate. Bathrooms extremely well maintained and always clean. One suggestion would be refilling the soap dispenser in the WC but that is all. Keep up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZlataVB
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your great comment on us. It is very important to us to try everything to make the guest feel comfortable. And next time you will be here you will see a developement with the soap. ;-) Take care so far and see you soon! Daniel - guest relations

Virginia
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed at the Grand Hostel during my trip to Berlin. I have stayed in a number of hostels around Europe and the US, and it is one of my favorites. It is VERY clean and VERY quiet at night. I slept with no problem. It's a great location in proximity to several U-bahn stations and I always felt 100%...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kat_odea
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review

Hi, thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much. We would love to welcome you back again soon! Good times. Daniel - guest relations

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Booking this hostel was one of best decisions,seriously. Location near U-bahn station and Neukölln, a district you just have to explore. The building is beautiful and it has that cozy, friendly feel. Staff was soo helpful, you can ask them anything. This young man from a bar recommended us cool places to go in the evening & at night. And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vaaal8
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review

Hey there, we really appreciate your great comment on us. We try to make your stay here as comfortable as possible. We might see you soon again. Have safe travels! Daniel - Guest relations

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Such an amazing Hostel! The staff is incredibly polite,helpful and make you feel like home.The rooms are clean,quiet and comfortable.I must confess that i had a great time there and i will definetely go back again soon.THANKS GUYS!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sakis k
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review

What an amazing review.. thank you so much and hope to see you soon again. Let us know! Cheers Daniel - Guest relations

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Grand Hostel was great. It was easy to get there from the airport, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was lovely and the location is great for checking out Kreuzberg and the clubs in that area. Can't recommend it highly enough!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmmaAH
joelue, Verkaufsleiter at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review

Awesome.. great that you enjoyed your stay that much! Hope to see you soon again! and keep rockin ;) Daniel - Guest relations

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Just a couple minutes walk from the Möckenbrücke U-Bahn Station, this hotel would be great with its clean and comfy linen & bed, if only they not charge the linen (which is compulsory), and located in Mitte. Their online reservation was quick and very helpful with the direction, but I did request Double Bed Room in my email, but instead...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Polantas G
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review

Hi there, sorry that you had some negativ things about your stay. We still hope you had a great time here and come back soon. Take care and all the best for you Daniel - Guest relations

366 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (209)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Comfort Double Room (44)
Viewed
Dormitory (35)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#6 of 662 in Berlin
1,376 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#4 of 361 in Berlin
1,143 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#11 of 361 in Berlin
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#24 of 361 in Berlin
1,256 reviews
Mitte
Wombat's Berlin
Wombat's Berlin
#12 of 361 in Berlin
983 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#3 of 361 in Berlin
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Kreuzberg

Neighbourhood Profile
Kreuzberg
Berlin's revolutionary heart and immigrant roots can both be found in Kreuzberg, but this central neighbourhood is beginning a new chapter. In the 1950s and '60s, Turkish guest workers settled around Kottbusser Tor, while in the 1980s and '90s, rambunctious squatters and artists gathered to live a carefree life here. An old hospital even became a hotspot of riots between squatters and police. Today you can still find the best kebabs in town and many underground clubs, but a lot has changed as well. The hospital has been transformed into an art center, and increasingly you will find new urban cafés, restaurants and designer shops. Rising housing prices and gentrification threaten the spirit of this area along the Spree River, but the neighbourhood’s legacy is upheld by a very engaged community fighting to preserve its rebellious identity.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hello and Welcome to the "best Hostel in Germany" 2013 and the winner Hotel of the German VOX TV show "my divine Hotel" 2014. We are located very centrally in the heart of Berlin's Mitte Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg. We offer as well private rooms or luxurious dorm beds - just as your travel budget allows. Everyone is welcome at the Grand Hostel and we're looking forward to welcoming YOU soon! We grant the best prices always on our own webpage (Best Price Guarantee) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hostel Berlin

Address: Tempelhofer Ufer 14, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Price Range: $26 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hostel Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hostel Berlin staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hostel Berlin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sheets were included (this was not indicated on the website or in e-mails).”
 of 5 bubbles 31rafv, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take room with 5 beds and the bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles 692krzysztofk, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that is not to the main street - there are a few cars and a tram; never had a problem sleeping, but it's nicer without it.”
 of 5 bubbles 873ramzyk, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not add breakfast or extra facilities to your room while booking. Whatever they offer in the price of room is sufficient for your stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 751shivanig, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with your own bathroom, if you can afford it.”
 of 5 bubbles katied658, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay