We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 720: English reviews
Start your review of Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I've never stayed in a hostel before but after staying here I will again. Good location, friendly staff. Made new friends here from Scotland, Ireland and Australia. Good facilities and close to the metro station. Also a short walk to Alexanderplatz

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellingaccordion
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm very happy you enjoyed your hostel stay and made new friends. Hope to see you again sometime Sabine General Manager

Malaga, Spain
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you pay for a service and you receive a bad customer service and rude staff it looks like they are making you a favour. I do not know where have studied customer servive but they should be trained. I do not recommend this hostel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juan Artacho R
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. I'm very sorry that you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. It would be really good if you could give me some details about what happened so I can make sure we improve. Please do email me directly: sabine.ranft@generatorhostels.com Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Huge hostel near the s bahn and metro station, 5 minutes with tram from Alexandarplatz. Staff was helpful and nice. Hostel has a bar that works till 23:00 but there is a large common area where people can hang after the bar closes. Shared bathroom was clean and spacious, the only thing I didn't like was that I had to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vines_88
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Your feedback is much appreciated and I have shared it with my team. Please note that the rental price for the towels merely covers the cost of laundering the towel. Thanks again and kind regards Sabine General Manager

Marbella, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good service and staff, it´s easy to take any type of public transport from there. Good place with fresh ambient and a lot of young people. The room was a little bit small, but it was really cheap.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daria K
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your very positive review. The hostel team and I are very happy you had such a good stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I really thought my review of Generator hostel in Prenzlauer Berg (Berlin) would go something in the lines of: "great hostel if you are traveling in a huge group or on a budget and want to stay somewhat central in the great city of Berlin". Sadly I have a few huge negatives to add to the review. Yes it's cheap,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephine L
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us. As you also kindly emailed us directly I can only say again how sorry I am that your room wasn't cleaned when it definitely should have been and your case has certainly been discussed here with my team. I know we have already responded to you but if there is...

The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

- The staff was friendly - The hotel was close to public transport (only 5 minutes of walking) - So much noise in the nights! You can hear everything. Some girls were banging on our door, laugh and ran away. And the other night some guy was screaming for 10 minutes long and nobody told him to stop. Not only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seyamaila P
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks you for providing feedback on your stay. I can totally understand that you felt safer parking your car closer to the hostel. We are in a mostly residential area and residents do park there cars on the street without problems, however as you were new to the area it is of course better to be safe than...

Kaunas, Lithuania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A good hotel for short stay in Berlin. Very convenient to travel by public transport from the hotel, because the stop right outside the hotel and at the reception desk you can buy a three-day city ticket.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank algem2017
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Hi and many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Your feedback is really welcome and I do hope you will consider us again. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very decent and clean hostel with personal toilet and bathroom in a room of five. Acceptable breakfast including bread, butter, jam, honey, yogurt, Müsli, juice and coffee. Recommend it for large groups!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Remy L
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It is much appreciated! Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Goettingen, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Is a nice hostel but it was in a not so upbeat area. The connections via tram and s-bahn were good though! The lady at the reception was slightly rude though (maybe because we came at night around 8:30?) when we asked her something basic like if there was a hair dryer in the hostel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atika2014
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for providing feedback on your stay. I'm very sorry you had problems at reception and have passed this on to my reception team. The area we are in does tend to be more quiet in winter, however in summer several clubs are open just around the corner and a shopping centre right next door will be...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was a bit sceptical at first with some of the reviews but honestly it was great. I can understand why some people might not like the party vibe/being loud but i think this adds to the atmosphere! They have a bar downstairs which is great and you can get food and things but we didn't eat there. We did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie M
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. I'm really happy you very pleasantly surprised and have certainly passed on your comments about breakfast to my team as we do offer several a la carte breakfast dishes on top of the buffet of cereals, rolls, bread, etc. Thanks again and I hope you will consider us...

540 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (279)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (132)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (229)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Common Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Four-Person Bunk Room (27)
Viewed
Private Double Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Six-Person Bunk Room (33)
Viewed
Six-Person Bunk Room with Parking View (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Generator Berlin Mitte
Generator Berlin Mitte
#13 of 344 in Berlin
1,308 reviews
Friedrichshain
All In Hostel
All In Hostel
#54 of 344 in Berlin
567 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#6 of 344 in Berlin
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#21 of 344 in Berlin
1,323 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#4 of 344 in Berlin
1,186 reviews
Moabit
Amstel House Hostel
Amstel House Hostel
#31 of 344 in Berlin
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Prenzlauer Berg

Neighbourhood Profile
Prenzlauer Berg
No Berlin neighbourhood has undergone a greater change than Prenzlauer Berg. The artists and non-conformists that defined the district’s intriguing subculture in the 1980s and 90s have been replaced by a young, hip crowd that frequents the many cafes. Where there were once run-down houses in the shadow of the Berlin Wall, there are now designer shops. Beautiful old homes have been modernized and renovated, and on Sundays, thousands turn the park next to remnants of the wall into a playground for street artists, musicians, and flea market shoppers. This attracts young urban families who enjoy the balance of big city life and small-town comfort. Meanwhile, trendy, young, upper-class visitors from all over the world are attracted to the local high-end shops, cafés, and sophisticated bars and restaurants. The merits of this transformation are a favorite topic of debate around the city, but it makes for some of the best people-watching Berlin has to offer.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator is located in the ultra trendy Berlin district of Prenzlauer Berg. The area is great for shopping and sightseeing. If you’re a sports fan then the Velodrome hosts many sporting and music events, and guess what? We are only next door. The best way to see and do it all is by hopping on the S-Bahn or a tram into the city centre. This is an area that is lively and vibrant, you’ll never run out of things to do and see. When you get back to Generator, head to the bar and lounge and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the best entertainment for miles around. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Berlin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. T ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

Address: Storkower Str. 160 | Prenzlauer Berg, 10407 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Price Range: $29 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg 2*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try the other Generator, probably the staff is better”
 of 5 bubbles juanartachor, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“toilets located in halls are never busy”
 of 5 bubbles , 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were 6 and booked separately dormitory beds: so we asked few days before the booking to be all together and it was ok. :)”
 of 5 bubbles alexandren50, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get a bike and talk to the welsh girl”
 of 5 bubbles jordanpU7911XT, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“near train station”
 of 5 bubbles Gosha86, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5