We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amstel House Hostel

Save
Traveller (99)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (8)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good46%
  • Average15%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“bbq night”(2 reviews)
“room doors are”(2 reviews)
“ping pong”(2 reviews)
Free Internet
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
Free Parking
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
56
82
31
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
56
82
31
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbbq nightroom doors areping pongcheap barschool tripgreat kitchenyoung peopleroom was cleanpublic transport in berlinmetro stationu bahn stopshared bathroomfree wifia great staystayed here for nightsbar downstairsearly check
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just ended my 6 day stay in Berlin and have had such a great experience staying with Amstel House! The staff team there are all very friendly and helpful and there is lots of flyers and posters in the foyer for anyone looking for things...More

Thank Kayleigh W
Response from Fernanda T, Public Relations Manager at Amstel House HostelResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much Kayleigh, for the many nice words. You are always welcome ate our house. Best wishes!!!

Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Definitely the worst hostel I've ever stayed at. When we first arrived we talked to a female receptionist who was confused and did not speak any english so she just shifted us to her colleague to do a check-in instead of her. He wasn't any...More

1  Thank Matea P
Response from Fernanda T, Public Relations Manager at Amstel House HostelResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Matea, we are so very sorry about all this! We still do not know for sure what happened, but we are working on it, and we will fix i!. Every each of our receptionists speak english. It is mandatory. We do have however some...More

Reviewed 5 March 2018

I stayed here for 5 nights with a friend on a city break in Berlin. The hostel staff are very friendly and helpful and speak very good English. The hostel is not within walking distance of the central sites and areas in Berlin - however...More

Thank DRG147
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Helpful and friendly reception Very safe choice there were many family there good facilities in the room very good prices they offer rooms for females only May be away from city centre but very near to all transportation so its okay

Thank samahelkhayat
Response from Fernanda T, Public Relations Manager at Amstel House HostelResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for the good rate. We are actually only 10 minutes from the city center. One just need to know the right bus to take ;) We would be happy to help you on a next visit to Berlin. Bes wishes, your Amstel Team.

Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Although the hostel is not exactly centrally located, public transport in Berlin cab get you there from almost anywhere in the city. We stayed at a Twin Room with a shared bathroom for 4 nights. The room was very clean (we were given the bed...More

Thank Giorgos V
Response from Fernanda T, Public Relations Manager at Amstel House HostelResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Giorgos, thank you so much for your warm and detailed rating. Besides cab, we are very well connected with the public transport: several bus stops, metro stations and s-bahn stations are a small walk distant from us. With the TXL we are only 10...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$21 - US$102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$21 - US$102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (99)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (8)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Nearby
Moabit
You may not realize Moabit is one of the city’s most
central neighbourhoods when you arrive at Hauptbahnhof
(central station). Surrounded by waterways, Moabit is
a quiet island protected from the hustle and bustle of
Berlin. The crowds that do gather prefer spending
their evenings in cozy restaurants over the party
venues offered by other districts. With its beautiful
parks, old housing and romantic industrial areas, life
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Happy7484
23 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Davíd C | Reviewed this property |
Towels are not included but I think they're only 1 or 2 euro?
1
Vote
Rody R
2 August 2017|
Answer
Response from mahljo | Reviewed this property |
Dear Rody, I am no official of the hostel, I just wrote a recommendation. I can hardly imagine that there is a maximum days to stay at the hostel. Just go there and talk to the staff members. The hostel manager is a... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Room Tips
"If possible book rooms with less people in them."
Read review
"rent a bike,"
Read review
"nothing was special"
Read review
"Talk to people in the common area, it's why you are there!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing