We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
See the most recent reviews
Showing 162: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Booked a room for two of us and ended up with a four bed room so we had plenty of space. Was nice and sunny and warm. Staff were friendly and I'd say I had one of the better coffees in Europe there. Bathroom was clean and a good size. The shower was on a timer which was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MataiWest
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear MataiWest, Thanks for your detailed feedback and that you share your positive feedback with world. We would like to apologize for the issue you had with the washing machine. This give us the reason to make the direction for use of the washing maschine also in English. Hope we can host you again here in the Meininger Prenzlauer Berg,...

Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed in a double private room. Clean, modern and comfortable with lots of natural light. Daily cleaning service too! Coffee bar downstairs is a plus. Only downside would be the shares kitchen isn't cleaned enough, but then again, it's nice to have a kitchen....just could be cleaned daily! I give an "excellent" cleanliness rating because the room was immaculate. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chefwithapassport
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Meininger guest, Thanks for your nice review and sharing your experience. We are really happy to hear that nearly everything was perfect. Our staff always try to keep the guest kitchen clean as possible and also request our guest to clean there things after using it, unfortunately it's not always working perfect. We hope to see you next time...

Turin, Italy
Reviewed 20 March 2014

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paraskeuazo
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Enschede, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed at this place for a weekend break with friends. We shared a six p. Private room. It was really clean, the beds were good and the room was fairly new. The Hostel is located next to the metro, adjacent to a nice bio supermarket and close to some popular discotheques. The bike rent in the convenience store around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonos12
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Guest! Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad that you had a good time in our house. Unfortunately we can't do anything for free guest parking, because thats a city law for our area in Prenzlauer Berg. Nevertheless we hope to welcome you again in our house. Kind regards Yours MEININGER-Team Berlin Alexanderplatz

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I have been here for a weekend with my sister in September and we very enjoyed it! We have been lucky as it was a bit low season at that time and we could have a 4beds dormitory only for us 2. Place is very nice, I would say little hotel rather than hostel. Location is perfect, you have subway...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adriana P
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here for one night on a trip through Germany. The location of this hotel is just excellent, just on the border of Prenzlauer Berg and Mitte. It's basic, but clean. Bunk beds, a woorden floor (ok, this floor had suffered a bit, but it was clean), and a basic but clean bathroom with an excellent shower. There's an ecological...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanVoyager
Meininger H, Meininger at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We hope you had a nice time in Berlin! We are looking forward to welcome you another time in one of our Meininger. Kind regards Meininger Team

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Meininger Prenzlauer Berg is very central in Berlin, you reach Alexander Platz and the 5 important museums in 15 minutes walking. The staff is very friendly, rooms, kitchen and toilets are kept clean. There is a big tube in the kitchen evacuating the humidity to outside and it was noisy doing my breakfast in the kitchen but the staff José...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruno B
Meininger H, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you really much for your rating. It was a pleasure to have you here as our guests. We hope to see you again one day! Kind regards Reception

Eisenach, Germany
Reviewed 11 January 2014

What started initially ok went up to be a huge disappointment. We arrived early at 9.30, we had previously informed the staff about it. We officially checked in, paid and the friendly lady at the reception offered to print our boarding passes for the next day flight. We left our luggages downstairs. And we sat for a normally priced coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lauragabi
Meininger H, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your honest review. As we can constantly improve ourselves. Nevertheless we hope to welcome you again in one of our other Meininger! Kind regards Meininger-Team

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed here on a class trip, and the hostel was very nice. I stayed in a 4-bed room with a private bathroom, all of which were very clean. There was lots of outlets close to the bed for charging phones/laptops etc. It was in a convenient location, right outside of the S-Bahn which you can take pretty much anywhere....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmckenzie6
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review. The team and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Meininger and the city Berlin. Hope to see you next time again. Kind regards,

Berlin
Reviewed 29 August 2013

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bjarne C
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#80 of 663 in Berlin
216 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#387 of 663 in Berlin
90 reviews
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Prenzlauer Berg
Pfefferbett Hostel
Pfefferbett Hostel
#30 of 361 in Berlin
262 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Prenzlauer Berg

Neighbourhood Profile
Prenzlauer Berg
No Berlin neighbourhood has undergone a greater change than Prenzlauer Berg. The artists and non-conformists that defined the district’s intriguing subculture in the 1980s and 90s have been replaced by a young, hip crowd that frequents the many cafes. Where there were once run-down houses in the shadow of the Berlin Wall, there are now designer shops. Beautiful old homes have been modernized and renovated, and on Sundays, thousands turn the park next to remnants of the wall into a playground for street artists, musicians, and flea market shoppers. This attracts young urban families who enjoy the balance of big city life and small-town comfort. Meanwhile, trendy, young, upper-class visitors from all over the world are attracted to the local high-end shops, cafés, and sophisticated bars and restaurants. The merits of this transformation are a favorite topic of debate around the city, but it makes for some of the best people-watching Berlin has to offer.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz (formerly "Prenzlauer Berg") is located on Schonhauser Allee by subway station Senefelderplatz. The modern hotel is only one and a half kilometres from Alexanderplatz and not even two to the Museum Island. You will find a great variety of pubs, cafes and restaurants on your doorstep - exactly the right place for fans of the youthful side of Berlin! ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Address: Schoenhauser Allee 19, 10435 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Price Range: $73 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel Prenzlauer Berg Hotel Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid sharing dorms unless you have a big group”
 of 5 bubbles Thundering_Raiden, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great place if you need some sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles 207waynek, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“7th floor rooms have terraces”
 of 5 bubbles 652micha_p, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles the0harish, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Double check that you'l get the rooms you've booked!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles wibutee, 22 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay