We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

434 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 200: English reviews
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location for experiencing the city. The staff was friendly and the room was nice. The breakfast was OK but only for two mornings, then you would get tired of it. Overall - great hotel for both staying as couple and with friends.

Helpful?
Thank AlexandraWe
Tel Aviv District, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice hotel good location.pretty much what you should expect. Had room for 3 that was very small and crowded with 3 beds. Breakfast was ok staff was nice. We managed to walk to the river area and the local attractions

Helpful?
Thank morssrg
HIEx_Guest_Service, Guest Service Assistan at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear guest, we thank you for your valuable feedback you gave us on tripadvisor.com, your compliments on our staff and service are very much appreciated. We are looking forwar to host you again for your vacation in our hotel soon. Best regards, Your Holiday Inn Express St. Pauli Messe Team More 

Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

I liked in there and i find it clean, altough i found baked pie from my room :) and after washing i saw that somebody had left me note on the mirror :"Scheisse!" Breakfast area was too small. Staff were friendly.

Helpful?
Thank kairi507
HIEx_Guest_Service, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear Kairi507, thank you for the review you posted on tripadvisor.com, your feedback is really valuable for us. Our Staff is proud to have been up to your expectations. Anyway we apologize for the uneasiness and for the discomfort you went through during your stay in our hotel, any of those reflect our standards. We hoper to be able to... More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

They are very friendly and I can say really good experience I had. Helpful and have a nice ambience mostly to the first timer. I probably go back there again and stay a bit longer. Location was great too.

Helpful?
Thank luwalhatipvass
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your recent stay in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg St Pauli Messe and your nice words here on Trip advisor. We are really pleased to hear that you have had an amazing time with us, and you were feeling comfortable. Whenever you should come back to Hamburg, we will be looking forward to... More 

Oss, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Stay for four nights, friendly staff , good breakfast but only cold things. The housekeeping is worse, at 2 day the "forgot" to clean the room. Third day also no cleaning of the room. After making a complain at the reception there was the promise that the room was cleaned directly. Sadly enough the only thing wat was done is... More 

Helpful?
Thank awittenberg67
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are very sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with our Housekeeping staff. We have discussed with the concerned department and employees to improve our service based on your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon as our guest to convince your expectations regarding our service quality. Kind regards The Holiday Inn Express Team More 

Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Excellent service-I asked via email before I got high floor and beds for 3 people. Indeed I got top floor. The couch was open and ready. Reception were polite and efficient and helped with any request or question. Good location - close to the action of the St. Pauli neighborhood (but is in a quiet area), 15 minutes walk from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ofer G
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your recent stay in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg St Pauli Messe and your nice words here on Trip advisor. We are really pleased to hear that you have had an amazing time with us, and you were feeling comfortable. Whenever you should come back to Hamburg, we will be looking forward to... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

I had to go to Hamburg on a business trip and booked this hotel in the last moment due to proximity to my meeting place. Interestingly enough, Hamburg's red light district is just 2 streets away from the hotel. Did not even know that before stumbling there looking for a place to eat. Pros: really nice and polite staff, modernly... More 

Helpful?
Thank ivanb22
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your recent stay in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg St Pauli Messe and your nice words here on Trip advisor. We are really pleased to hear that you have had an amazing time with us, and you were feeling comfortable. Whenever you should come back to Hamburg, we will be looking forward to... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here while touring on motorcycles. There is a secure, underground parking garage which was a bonus. The room was comfortable with a kettle and tea and coffee. The bathroom was clean with a wonderfully big power shower with shower gel provided. Breakfast was a good spread but can be busy if you time it wrong. Beware of German... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holly S
HIEx_Guest_Service, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we aprreciate the time you used to rate your stay in our Holiay Inn Express St. Pauli-Messe. We are greatful for the really positive review you posted on TripAdvisor and for the kind words you had for us. The entire staff is proud to have been up to your expectation. Unfortunately for the uneasiness of the beds you... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Was on business for three nights two nights I stayed here. This is just off the Reapperbahn and all the noise and fuss that goes on there. The hotel was tidy and pretty much what you would expect from the brand. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Adventurebeforedemen
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear Adventurebeforedemen, Thank you very much for your recent stay in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg St Pauli Messe and your nice words here on Trip advisor. We are really pleased to hear that you have had an amazing time with us, and you were feeling comfortable. Whenever you should come back to Hamburg, we will be looking forward to... More 

Oegstgeest, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Stayed in this hotel with my parents and brother. We chose Holiday Inn Express for our stay in Hamburg because we have had good experiences staying at their hotels in London. The hotel is just what you can expect from Holiday Inn Express, nothing luxurious but a good hotel! The breakfast buffet isn't huge but there is enough choice. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Loeszie
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear Loeszie, Thank you very much for staying with us in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre. It is great to hear that you have spent a great time with us, and we appreciate the detailed review of your stay. We are pleased to see that especially our complimentary breakfast buffet,as well as our rooms have completely convinced you.... More 

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#100 of 319 in Hamburg
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#18 of 319 in Hamburg
710 reviews
Neustadt
Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 39a, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Price Range: $124 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe Hotel Hamburg
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Salem, Massachusetts
Liverpool

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't rely on the wifi -slow. Location is fine but you will need to catch an underground each time into the centre”
 of 5 bubbles katherinem309, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Get an economy travel ticket including a cruise in the harbour.”
 of 5 bubbles MO690, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
“as far as I know, all rooms are quiet and good”
 of 5 bubbles LucioF_11, 23 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We were on the street side, but the double glazing is excellent, so not sure that it makes a difference which side you stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 128hazela, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Front room can be very noisy with window open. Fine with closed winow and air con on.”
 of 5 bubbles Fred7850, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay