We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster

Save
Share
Graumannsweg 10, 22087 Hamburg Germany
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
US$101
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (467)
Room & Suite (114)
Dining (44)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20-11-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
Updated 20-11-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#64 of 339 hotels in Hamburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The 4* Hotel Crowne Plaza ® Hamburg - City Alster is located in the center of Hamburg, directly near to the Alster lake in the popular area of St Georg / Hohenfelde. The main train station, the city center, Jungfernstieg and the Europapassage as well as the main sights of Hamburg are all located in the immidiate vicinity of the hotel. The Crowne Plaza® Hamburg - City Alster presents itself completely new and in a "New Modern Design Style", measured against the demands of modern business guests. The "Work Life Rooms", offer calming accents and multi-functional space to ensure both relaxation and productivity. You can choose between Standard, Superior, Deluxe, Executive, Executive Alster and Junior Suites. All rooms are equipped with free high-speed WiFi, LCD TV, air conditioning and an iron with ironing board as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The bathrooms are equipped with hair dryers and cosmetic mirrors as well as high-quality toiletries. In addition to renovated rooms there is an innovative all-day culinary concept as well as new inspiring meeting rooms and co-working spaces. "Lifeaholics" discover with the newly established areas "The Marketplace" & "The Plaza Workspace" the perfect place to meet friends or colleagues, to work in a relaxed way or simply to linger in a pleasant ambience. The new culinary concept includes "Sushi & Steak" and is served in the Crowne Plaza® Hamburg - City Alster at the All Day Bar "The Plaza" in the new hotel area "The Plaza Workspace". Popular classics are also served in this unique ambience with new refinement. A completely renovated breakfast and event restaurant "The Restaurant" awaits our guests on the 1st floor for a relaxed start to a new day or to recharge their batteries during a meeting. We look forward to welcoming you personally, Your team at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg – City Alster.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Canoeing offsite
Babysitting
Car park
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Steam room
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 1 more
1,354Reviews12Q+A93Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 409
  • 629
  • 246
  • 49
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
n37077 wrote a review Nov. 2020
Luton, United Kingdom631 contributions79 helpful votes
Location isn't great for public transport, a mile plus from the main station and no U/S bahn nearby. No less, nothing wrong with a nice walk. Check in slightly weird, bizarre conversation about requiring a negative covid test. Not sure if it is a requirement of the hotel, brand, operator, or city/land. However it was resolved to the satisfaction of all. Was told my room was a double upgrade, however not familiar with this hotel or the brand so can't comment on the difference. Room was a very good size with plenty of storage. Bathroom was a bit weird: there were two large industrial bottles of shower gel and shampoo. No soap/face soap on the sink. Had to take the large bottles in to the shower. It didn't feel a particularly premium product for a Crowne Plaza let alone a double room upgrade. As usual in Germany pillows were little more than a bean bag, and I couldn't find any more spares in the room. Again two small pillows didn't feel like a premium hotel/premium room product. Tea and coffee facilities in the room, but in a cupboard with a bit of a contortionist act required to plug the kettle in. Plenty of tea/coffee but only two milks, again a more common thing in Germany rather than this chain/hotel. Despite my moans I'd stay again and would plan to address the issues with reception, e.g. more pillows.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannes Dreher, Inhaber at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
Responded Dec. 7, 2020
Dear n37077, thank you so much for being our guest and for taking the time to give us your detailed feedback. We are very sorry, that our COVID-19 meassures are reducing a bit of the common standard these days. The negative tests has to be provided from travellers comin or travelling trough risk areas, because of the government decisions. I´m happy to hear you could resolve the problem immediately. Wonderful that you were pleased with the room size and the storage possibilities. For sustainability reasons we have now big shower gel and shampoo bottles to refill instead of little amenities. If you need anything else let the reception staff know and we will provide it for you. Same goes with the pillows. You can also let us know in advance by your preferences in your booking. We are looking forward to see you again and prepare everything as you prefer. Warm regards Sarah Behncke Asst. Director of Sales
Read more
Peter H wrote a review Aug. 2020
Chigwell, United Kingdom4 contributions
I've stayed at this hotel numerous times and was always very happy with the quality of service. However I booked a 3 night stay for May 2020, which I then cancelled in April after learning that the hotel was closed due to the Covid-19 restrictions. Still waiting for a refund some 4 months later, although on the IHG website it specified refunds would take a maximum of 90 days from date of cancelation, yet all I'm receiving is apologies from the hotel for the length of time it is taking them to process the refund. Very disappointed that this Crowne Plaza hotel is not living up to the IHG reputation for good ethical behaviour or demonstrating "Die feine hanseatische Art".... When comparing that to a non IHG hotel that I booked a stay with in Cyprus for June, which regrettably also had to be cancelled due to Covid -19 travel restrictions, where I received my refund within 2 weeks of cancelation, I now know which establishment deserves my respect and loyalty...
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannes Dreher, Inhaber at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
Responded Aug. 7, 2020
Dear Peter, thank you very much for your feedback. I´m awefully sorry, that you have been waiting so long for your refund. Unfortunately we were closed much longer than expected and just reopend in June. As a franchised hotel of IHG our accounting belongs to the owner company and not to IHG. Those were also closed during the COVID-19 shut down in Germany, that´s why the whole administration for 3 month of refunds takes a little longer. Nevertheless I totally understand your concern. Please know that we forwarded your feedback and hope to refund the money as soon as possible. I know it´s disappointing to hear, but we are really trying our best to be as quick as possible here. Warm regards Hannes Dreher General Manager
Read more
Jordy T wrote a review Aug. 2020
Arnhem, The Netherlands391 contributions144 helpful votes
The hotel is a 15 min walk from the central train station. You’ll pass many bars and restaurants on your way. The shopping area is about 30 min walk away from the hotel. We normally walked every day. The hotel itself is located in a quiet area. Maybe due to road constructions and Covid-19 , so I’m not sure if it’s always quiet around the neighborhood. We had a room on the third floor, which was spacious and clean. The bathroom was a little bit tiny to my feeling and we also didn’t like the small blankets. We prefer a big blanket. Couldn’t really checkout the bar/restaurant due to the limit operations. Only open for 2 hrs on specific days. So you are a bit limited in choices for redeeming drink vouchers. I really like the staff at the reception, they were very friendly and helpful to us.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannes Dreher, Inhaber at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
Responded Aug. 4, 2020
Dear jordyt117, thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you liked the location of our hotel and that you were satisfied with your hotel room. Our reception staff will be glad to hear that you appreciate their kindness. During Corone the demand for our bar/restaurant shrinked a bit that´s why we chose to limit the operation hours until the demand increases again. I´m sorry for the inconvenience you´ve had because of that. Hopefully the next time you´ll stay here our bar will operate the normal hours. Warm regards Hannes Dreher General Manager
Read more
Reviewer wrote a review Mar. 2020
Neckargemund, Germany308 contributions57 helpful votes
+1
Was here for official purpose and hence stayed for just a night. The ambience and the staff were good and I guess the place was renovated as it had that new and refreshed interior feels. The place is a bit far from the town center and therefore would have been more delighted if they had more menu options. However the morning breakfast was good. Overall I liked the place for the comfort it provided.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
Responded Apr. 1, 2020
Dear Stay325519, thank you so much for feedback. We are so pleased to hear that your stay was a success and that you were particularly impressed by our staff team and delicious breakfast. We would be delighted to welcome you back to stay with us in Hamburg in the near future. Kind regards, Hannes Dreher, General Manager
Read more
Julienne T wrote a review Feb. 2020
Sicily, Italy93 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
As a meeting planner, it is very rare that I actually get to be in a meeting during my travels. I visited this property in November of 2019 with a MICE Forum and had a truly delightful stay. The newly remodeled hotel is modern and trendy with spacious rooms and a great lobby atrium. I ate breakfast, lunch and dinner and was very satisfied with the creativity and healthy options provided at every meal. Being pregnant meant that the service staff was beyond kind to me and I never once had to get a beverage during the buffet meal. They were so kind. My room was a bit small, but the large bathroom made up for it as I could unpack all of my belongings and spread out. I love the tile in the lobby bar and the meeting spaces were comfortable and creative. Check out my photos on Instagram @eventsbyJuls and find a link to my blog for more about this property!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from GMHamburgCP, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
Responded Feb. 12, 2020
Dear EventsbyJuls, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that you got the chance to experience our hotel as a meeting participant rather than planner! It's great to hear you liked our new modern design and healthy menu options and that you were well looked after by out staff. We hope to see you again in Hamburg soon! Kind regards, Hannes Dreher, General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$93 - US$214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crowne plaza hamburg - city alster hotel hamburg, hamburg crowne plaza
LOCATION
GermanyHamburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
285
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
Which popular attractions are close to Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster?
Nearby attractions include EscapeDiem (1.1 km), TeamEscape Hamburg (1.1 km), and Domkirche St. Marien (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Il Buco, Sagners Bistro Restaurant, and Das Dorf.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Hamburg.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.