We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 756: English reviews
Start your review of Generator Hostel Hamburg
 Click to rate
Dresden
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location, facilities, breakfast and staff are all good and value for the charge. I had good sleep and recovery of my journey, so I will stay in this hostel again if I re-visit Hamburg. Thank you very much.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaverh
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

the location is wonderful, it is just next to the HBF the room is so clean and the bed is so comfort with a reasonable price just one thing is not very satisfied, is that the bath room and toilet of the room are quite small. it was quite difficult to do the bathing

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hostel is located directly across the street from the train and bus stations. Can't get more convenient than that. The breakfast was really tasty and vast. There are plenty of places to hang out on the multiple floors of this hostel. The dorm room, the bed and the pillows were comfortable. At each bed space there was a shelf and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theladylee
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Is basically everything you pay for. We had a private twin room with our own bathroom. And it suited our needs well. Since we don't spend a lot of time in the room we just needed basic, affordable and clean accommodation.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatieMelbourne94
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at this hostel. To start off with the staff were rude and blunt, when asked something they just answered to the point as if they were not interested and forced to work there. They just showed no quality of being a receptionist or the face of the hostel. The hostel was clean and had good amenities. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian R
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. Every feedback is important for us, because we constantly aim to improve our services and facilities. The bathrooms were mentioned often and I agree that they are small. We had limited choice, when we refurbished the hostel, as it is protected under heritage (even the "Beatles" were making music in our building!). Still we...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is a big hostel 7 floors.i was in a 8 person room,it was great the people in with me were very considerate.so I had a heat sleep.the only draw back was only 1 toilet and 1 shower .the staff were very helpful and friendly went the extra mile,so thank u to All staff.you could eat and drink there if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the review. It is good to see that you enjoyed your time in our hostel. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very clean feeling and modern hostel. The atmosphere was pretty good with the new Helter Skelter bar connected right to the hostel. The staff was helpful with suggestions and the beds in the hostel are very comfortable as well! We had a hard time finding very many options for bars nearby though!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey418
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the great review. Helter Skelter has just recently opened and I am very happy that you enjoyed our new bar. Whenever you return to Hamburg, you will be welcome at Generator. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Munich
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very well located with hot and good looking staff. Nice Bar Lounge atsmosphere with cheap drinks as Caipirinha for 5 euros. Also it is worth booking breakfast as it saves money and time...Many bars, restaurant and shopping streets just minutes walking as sightseeing areas as the canals...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruno S
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, many thanks for the nice feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your time in our hostel. You will be always welcome at Generator. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent two nights in a 6-bed mixed room. Rooms were clean, spacious and each bed with reading light, socket and two usb ports and locker for free. Bathroom were unbelievable small (there you have a photo), that you can manage with some work... but imposible for a fat one! Feeling like taking a shower in a plane bathroom! Location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wachsl
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. Every feedback is important for us, because we constantly aim to improve our services and facilities. The bathrooms were mentioned often and I agree that they are small. We had limited choice, when we refurbished the hostel, as it is protected under heritage (even the "Beatles" were making music in our building!). Still we...

Greifswald, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Grossly overpriced. Pubes in the towels. The location is the worst possible side of a road full of smackheads and drunk people. The is virtually no service. They charge you for absolutely everything. The entrance is like an ashtray with always at least two or three people smoking and throwing ashes and butts. Appalling.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro Z
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for the review. I deeply regret that we left such a bad impression. We have immediately reacted on your review and have re-arranged the entrance area. To keep the described people outside we have a good security team on board, taking care of the guests and team. I honestly hope you will give Generator another chance in...

498 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (92)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Eight Person Room (27)
Viewed
Four Person Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Six Person Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Bridge Inn Hotel
#208 of 318 in Hamburg
165 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#69 of 318 in Hamburg
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#51 of 318 in Hamburg
804 reviews
25hours Hotel Number One
#55 of 318 in Hamburg
407 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#27 of 318 in Hamburg
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our fresh, brand new Hamburg Hostel opened in January 2012 and is located in the heart of St Georg, next to the central train station "Hauptbahnhof Sued". Many of Hamburg’s great attractions are on our doorstep, such as the Deichtorhallen, the City Hall and the area of Speicherstadt. We know that Hamburg can be expensive, so unlike many other Hamburg hostels we give you: FREE Wi-Fi Internet, FREE bed linen, central location and en-suite Rooms.All our other Generator Hostels are renowned for their famous late nights at Generator Bar which provide a unique atmosphere, entertaining our guests with DJ nights, Karaoke, quizzes and fancy dress evenings: expect this and many many more fun evenings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Hamburg

Address: Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Price Range: $43 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Hamburg 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Agoda, HRS, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Generator Hostel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Hamburg staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Hamburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet, clean and comfy”
 of 5 bubbles simonpJ3860QC, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make use of the secure lockers too if you arrive early.”
 of 5 bubbles luvleyleah, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had a room on the fourth floor with electrical blinds. Nice”
 of 5 bubbles sirius052016, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Double check everything with the staff. Not the most professional.”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are nicer, however you may be walking up so choose a lower floor”
 of 5 bubbles SarthakNag, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5