We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Generator Hostel Hamburg

AMOMAUS$36*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$72*
US$36*
Great Deal
US$63*
US$63*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Showing 774: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Overall it was good, the dorm room was clean and the location if absolutely unbeatable! Sadly the only thing I was not satisfied was the attitude of one of the front desk staff, only one, others were fine. I was wondering if I needed to take a set of new bed sheet to the room by myself (which is normal...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JY2468
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the feedback. I have to apologize for the experience you have made at Front Desk. That does not reflect the high service standards we have set ourselves and this incident will be reviewed. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

barcelona
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

I booked a double room with private bathroom and it was quite nice and clean. The negative point is the check in procedure. It starts at 14 (a bit late) and you need to wait a slow and long queue. My tip for the organisation would be to make "shifts" so not all the clients queue at the same time,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anhela
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for the feedback. We are currently on new ways to speed up the check in process. Unfortunately we have to stick to some paperwork. That is a legal requirement. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Paris, France
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Excellent location to visit Hambourg. Good welcome and efficiency at the reception desk, taking into account the large flow of travellers at this period of the year. Would recommend especially for young persons concerned with budget.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanbU7510EH
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the review and especially for the compliment about the team. I hope we can welcome you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Sheffield
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I recently visited the hostel before going to Wacken festival. We arrived a little early and was planning to lock our bags in the locker. However, there was not enough lockers at all for all the guests. So we had to sit around for two hours. We asked the lady on the cafe a couple of questions and she refused...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmilyTudor
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for your feedback. I have to apologize for the waiting time and the level of service you experienced. You can be assured that we will follow up on that. I hope you will visit Generator again in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Ok place stop with lads 4 bunk beds in 1 room on suite tiny but adequate for short stay would nt take my wife though Facilities on site good bar open for as long as you want ideal for airport right next to hotel 3.20 euros cost and you can get all day rider ticket 6.20 euros all good really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the review. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I went with three friends for a four day trip to Hamburg and we had a great time staying at the generator. It's very easy to find and located right beside the station, but actually we were able to walk everywhere from the hostel. The staff was friendly, the atmosphere was great and we were able both to have a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 352aninen
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for the this very nice comment. I am especially happy about the note regarding the team. There are many hostels, but our staff makes the difference. It would be really nice if you visit us again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Delft, The Netherlands
Reviewed 7 August 2016

It has the feeling of home, great wifi, unlimited breakfast (to buy), clean room, easy to store your luggage on day of arrival or leave, clean towels, kind staff at reception although it was all the time quite busy, good beers on the tap!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joost V
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the nice review. Whenever you return to Hamburg, you will be welcome in our hostel. Until than I wish you all the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Very friendly staff, comfortable atmosphere, room and bath are small but clean and enough for what you need. The hostel's location is perfect, right at the train station. The breakfast offers a small buffet but is delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nifa95
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for your recent stay and the comments. I would be really happy if you choose Generator also for future stays. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

pune
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

I visited this place just a week back. I had booked the hostel because of its close vicinity to Hamburg HBF... The initially it was good and things worked fine for a day or two. But then one by one things started showing up... The main lift broke down and during my 8 day stay could not run for at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ssp58
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to share your impressions from your recent visit. I deeply regret that we were not able to keep up with the good experience of the first days. We will continue to work on improvements, where improvements are possible. I hope you will give Generator another chance in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General...

Wrexham
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

For the price it's good. Location is easily accessible for transport links etc. Facilities/decor inside all good and modern. Bunk beds are comfortable. The Bad: Rooms are hot and you can barely open the window, rooms can be a bit noisy as city centre locations can be, shower either too hot or too cold no good in between. Advice: Take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LJWrexham
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the review. We have identified the problem with the water temperature and it will be stopped. Hopefully you will chose Generator again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

499 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (93)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Eight Person Room (27)
Viewed
Four Person Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Six Person Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Bridge Inn Hotel
#203 of 318 in Hamburg
167 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#67 of 318 in Hamburg
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel Number One
#60 of 318 in Hamburg
413 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 318 in Hamburg
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our fresh, brand new Hamburg Hostel opened in January 2012 and is located in the heart of St Georg, next to the central train station "Hauptbahnhof Sued". Many of Hamburg’s great attractions are on our doorstep, such as the Deichtorhallen, the City Hall and the area of Speicherstadt. We know that Hamburg can be expensive, so unlike many other Hamburg hostels we give you: FREE Wi-Fi Internet, FREE bed linen, central location and en-suite Rooms.All our other Generator Hostels are renowned for their famous late nights at Generator Bar which provide a unique atmosphere, entertaining our guests with DJ nights, Karaoke, quizzes and fancy dress evenings: expect this and many many more fun evenings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Hamburg

Address: Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Price Range: $50 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Hamburg 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Hamburg staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Hamburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hostel is near the police station so you hear lots of sirens, but you feel safe.”
stevenpP2820UV, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Quiet, clean and comfy”
simonpJ3860QC, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make use of the secure lockers too if you arrive early.”
luvleyleah, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had a room on the fourth floor with electrical blinds. Nice”
sirius052016, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Double check everything with the staff. Not the most professional.”
, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
AMOMA
US$36* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$63
Hotels.comUS$63
Booking.comUS$72
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates