We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Showing 711: English reviews
Catania, Italy
Reviewed 28 March 2016

An EU Hostel for 30 eur without breakfast, size of the bathroom at the rooms (6-8 people) is paltry, not even place to take a decent shower. The host service from part of the employees at the reception, the cafeteria and including the bar was totally careless, besides offensive sometimes. This was the first and last time I hosted in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Equequiel
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the valuable feedback. I deeply regret that we were not able to convince you of Generator Hamburg. You have mention some very important points, that we will have to investigate and improve. I hope you will not turn away completely from Generator and give us another chance in the future. I promise we can do that better....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 March 2016

The hostel was close to the station, comfy beds. Small showers in the room, but this didn't really matter so much. The common areas are nice, it may be hard to meet others as it is a large hostel, but the happy hour is fun :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G5543XOemmap
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the nice review. Would be great to welcome you soon again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

Friend and helpful with good room layout and facilities. Not too far from main parts of city. One thing i would say in the rooms with en-suits removing the wall between toilet and sink and shower would be better make it a lot more roomie. Other then that was a great two day cheap stay for our city break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G4z2a
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, many thanks for the nice feedback. Good to see that we meet your expectations. The bathrooms would not be build the way they are again. Check out our new openings, such as Paris and Amsterdam. In these hostels we have build in by far more comfortable solutions. I would be delighted if you visit Generator soon again. Regards, Sven...

Curitiba, PR
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Huge hostel with standard bed and great location. The shower in the room was too small... maybe the commom bathroom, i didnt get the chance to use it because the ladies' one on my floor was under renovation. The 5 euro breakfast is worth it, considering the fact that a sandwich in the train station costs around 3 euros. Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PriscillaSa
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the nice feedback. I hope we can welcome you soon again at Generator. In the meanwhile I wish you all the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewed 21 March 2016

The place is a pretty good deal but the schools take the hostel atmosphere out of it, it rather looks like a school stay-over. The breakfast is fair, the organisation tight and the place is run like you would expect from a German business.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank waltherw99
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for the review. I hope you will visit us soon again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

Great location to the central train station... But can be very noisy all through the night with sirens and horns. Rooms were very modern and clean, the ones with the ensuites were very tiny toilets and showers, I recommend using the communal larger showers on each floor if you don't want your clothes to get wet... Check in procedure needs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bianca L
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the feedback and also for the critics. We constantly aim to improve our services and facilities. Therefore it is really welcome. We actually work on the check in process to speed it up. I would be delighted if you chose Generator also in the future. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 17 March 2016

The hostel claims to show the TV-series Tatort every Sunday in their common room, but the Sunday evening we were there no one was there to turn on the TV. The receptionists told us only the bartenders adjacent to the hostel can and would do this, but they did not. There was just one younger guy working in the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timo332
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the feedback. I will follow up the issue. We indeed show specials in TV and on Sky and normally everybody is trained on our extensive TV-System in the Bar and on the mezzanine floor. Sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here (February) in a really good location near the main train station, it is very similar to other generator hostels I have stayed in and they are all at a very high standard. Friendly staff, entertainment/activity every night, happy hour, food. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jake M
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Thanks for the nice comment. We are looking forward to a possible next stay. In the meanwhile I wish you all the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Generator is located in the very heart of Hamburg, next to the Main Train Station what makes a neighbourghood a cheeky place from a definition. Tramps, homeless, thieves and criminals, let's face it, that is reality out there. And there is the Generator, probably the safest place around with it's own guards and doormen not letting in anyone suspected, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian_Bialy
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the nice feedback. I would be delighted if we could welcome you back soon. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Reviewed 15 March 2016

Reminded me of the 10 years i spent on Submarines. Cramped, dirty, and full of teenagers on their first night away from mummy and daddy. The pictures are a massive over statement. Poxy little bunks to sleep in. I have moved to another place called the Pyjama Park. 100% better. Don't waste your money on the Generator. It is rightly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for sharing your impressions with us. I regret that you left totally unsatisfied. Still it is good that you tell us about that because that gives us the opportunity to make changes, where changes can be made. I wish you all the best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

483 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Eight Person Room (27)
Viewed
Four Person Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Six Person Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Bridge Inn Hotel
#187 of 320 in Hamburg
160 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#31 of 320 in Hamburg
1,151 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#72 of 320 in Hamburg
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Hamburg Alsterring
#55 of 320 in Hamburg
587 reviews
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#52 of 320 in Hamburg
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our fresh, brand new Hamburg Hostel opened in January 2012 and is located in the heart of St Georg, next to the central train station "Hauptbahnhof Sued". Many of Hamburg’s great attractions are on our doorstep, such as the Deichtorhallen, the City Hall and the area of Speicherstadt. We know that Hamburg can be expensive, so unlike many other Hamburg hostels we give you: FREE Wi-Fi Internet, FREE bed linen, central location and en-suite Rooms.All our other Generator Hostels are renowned for their famous late nights at Generator Bar which provide a unique atmosphere, entertaining our guests with DJ nights, Karaoke, quizzes and fancy dress evenings: expect this and many many more fun evenings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Hamburg

Address: Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Price Range: $39 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Hamburg 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Hamburg staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Hamburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had a room on the fourth floor with electrical blinds. Nice”
 of 5 bubbles sirius052016, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Double check everything with the staff. Not the most professional.”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are nicer, however you may be walking up so choose a lower floor”
 of 5 bubbles SarthakNag, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book as early as possible to avoid $30 a night prices...”
 of 5 bubbles 785samyt, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you can get a bigger room then go for it, the bathroom/toilets are pretty small”
 of 5 bubbles Chris15Leeds, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay