We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Save
Share
Alter Wall 40, 20457 Hamburg Germany
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$190
US$176
View deal
SAVE US$14
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Prestigia.comUS$190
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1219)
Room & Suite (495)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20-07-28 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Updated 20-07-28 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#52 of 339 hotels in Hamburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall welcomes you in the heart of the Hanseatic city. Between the famous harbour and the town hall, only 1 km from the central railway station and 17 km from the airport, Hanseatic elegance meets French savoir vivre. Clear linesand light characterise our 241 rooms and 19 function rooms. Make the most of our exclusive spa area or enjoy refined Mediterranean cuisine in our modern restaurant with views over the Alster canal.
Read more
Room & Suite (495)495
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
River View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
3,157Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,726
  • 931
  • 328
  • 115
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
David Lewis wrote a review Jan. 2021
Frankfurt, Germany674 contributions168 helpful votes
Stayed at the Sofitel during a recent 2 day business trip to Hamburg. Hotel has excellent Covid procedures beginning with the check in and the possibility to order the breakfast in your room or downstairs in the restaurant, where social distancing is strictly enforced. Room was very comfortable and had all of the usual Sofitel touches such as a Nespresso machine and kettle in the room, even during Covid restrictions, which is a nice touch. Breakfast was excellent and served directly to the table as the usual buffet concept is currently forbidden. We managed to hire a conference room on the first floor for a business meeting which was also very helpful in these challenging times. Highly recommended and hope to be back again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Emiel van Dijk, General Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Responded Jan. 31, 2021
Dear Mr. davlew14r, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous ones. Sincerely, Your Sofitel Team Hamburg Alter Wall
Read more
Alpen209 wrote a review Nov. 2020
Zurich, Switzerland37 contributions26 helpful votes
Stayed there for a long weekend in October. Good Covid safety concept. The room is Sofitel standard with a comfortable bed. The marble bathroom adds a nice touch. Good breakfast selection. Check-in in the evening could have been quicker.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emiel van Dijk, General Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Responded Jan. 31, 2021
Dear thuynguyen209, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous ones. Sincerely, Your Sofitel Team Hamburg Alter Wall
Read more
holm37 wrote a review Sep. 2020
Aalborg, Denmark1 contribution
The rooms are really nice and the location of the hotel is perfect to get around in Hamburg. Unfortunately the SPA was closed. This was one of the main reasons we choose this hotel. We where told that it was on their website but I did not see that when I booked. Maybe they should make it more clear......
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastian Werner, General Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Responded Oct. 28, 2020
Dear holm37, Thank you so much for your positive review as well as your feedback regarding the Spa closure. Due to the restrictions of the Hamburge Senate we are not allowed to open our Seagull Spa. A transparent communication is very important to us. That is why we are communicating this information on all our booking platforms, including our main booking website ALL. Apart from that, we are so happy to hear that you had a lovely stay in our centrally located hotel. Our team does whatever it takes to guarantee you a perfect stay with us, so we are more than happy to hear that we could contribute to an overall positive stay with us. We hope we can welcome you again very soon in our hotel. Best regards Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team
Read more
Armine05 wrote a review Sep. 2020
Bielefeld, Germany2 contributions
Since many years our preferred hotel in Hamburg. In the heart of Hamburg with nice Restaurants and shops around. Very good service and rooms. Especially with the Fleet view ones.The quality of breakfast very good as well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastian Werner, General Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Responded Oct. 3, 2020
Dear Armine05, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Read more
Michael Hein wrote a review Aug. 2020
Bad Harzburg, Germany58 contributions44 helpful votes
This is not our first time in this hotel. Our room was basically okay, but with too much furniture. The desk blocked access to the small balcony. The breakfast concept, during the current CORONA situation, I would not rate it at a 5 * level. The display of the various dishes was simple and not stimulating. We have stayed in different hotels during this extraordinary time and I think an a la carte service would be better for the overall standard of this SOFITEL Hotel. The hallway to our room had a not very pleasant smell (somehow a combination of air conditioning, humidity and carpet). We know that differently from the SOFITEL in Munich, for example. So it was really just an average stay for us and not exceptional.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Be sure to book a room facing the fleet. So you have a really nice view of the water. You can...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastian Werner, General Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Responded Aug. 31, 2020
Dear PROTECTHEENVIRONMENT, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your experiences during your stay. We are always working on making our guests' experience at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall even better and in order to achieve that we need your feedback. We don't see this feedback as negative criticism, quite the contrary: we are constantly working on improving our services to ensure that our guests always have an unforgettable stay in Hamburg. Therefore we gratefully accept your suggestions. We regret that these aspects have negatively affected your stay with us. Due to the hygienic and health safety requirements to contain the Covid 19 pandemic, some services in our house are only available to a limited extent. We always try to offer the best combination of protecting the health of our guests and staff as well as the highest possible quality of service. Sometimes this takes some time to find the optimal solution for all challenges. Thank you for your understanding. Nevertheless, we would be very happy to see you again in Hamburg soon. Best regards Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$152 - US$272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sofitel hamburg alter wall hotel hamburg, accor hamburg alter wall, hamburg sofitel
LOCATION
GermanyHamburgHamburg-Altstadt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
241
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Which popular attractions are close to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall?
Nearby attractions include SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Hamburg (0.3 km), St Nikolai Memorial (0.3 km), and Rathausmarkt (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hanoi Deli Rathaus, Ristorante Buon Giorno, and Nord Coast Coffee Roastery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alter Elbtunnel (1.5 km), St Nikolai Memorial (0.3 km), and Wasserkunst Kaltehofe (5.1 km).