We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!EXTRA 5% OFF
Booking.com
US$117
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$117
View deal
Priceline
US$102
View deal
Hotels.comUS$117
TravelocityUS$117
travelup.comUS$115
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (558)
360
Panoramas (11)
Videos (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#60 of 348 hotels in Hamburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English, German
Hotel links
Special Offer:EXTRA 5% OFF

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
174Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
26Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2914Reviews20Q+A75Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,493
  • 968
  • 292
  • 103
  • 58
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
hk0pk3w43m wrote a review Dec. 2
1 contribution
Nice hotel, clean, great location, nice staff. Parkeing in the basement was very good, but small spaces.You could hear people (children) run around on the floor above, otherwise very quiet. Overall very satisfied with the stay!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Karsten S wrote a review Aug. 2021
Virum, Denmark47 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Good rooms, excellent service and easy to access the city by foot. We were a couple staying at Barcelo for 2 nights. Everything went smooth and I dont hesitate to recommend staying here. Be aware that the fitness room is very small!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sascha Füchtner, Geschäftsführer at Barceló Hamburg
Responded Aug. 20, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your stay and your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Please come and visit us again soon at the Barceló Hamburg. Our city is always worth a visit. Thank you, stay healthy and best regards from Hamburg, Sascha Fuechtner | General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Soren7913 wrote a review Dec. 1
Esbjerg, Denmark1 contribution
Excellent hotel at a perfect location. The staff is very kind and the rooms are very clean and Well equipped. We have been using the hotel several times and Will be back again for sure. 5-star ratings from us.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ipaju761469 wrote a review Nov. 2022
1 contribution
we stayed at the hotel for one night, unfortunately the lobby bar was closed, as was the restaurant - it was Sunday evening. the room was very comfortable - with a balcony, the bed was especially good. breakfast was very tasty and plentiful. we recommend this hotel to everyone and will definitely go back when we visit the city again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
behtjes wrote a review Nov. 2022
3 contributions
had problems with my stay (loud music coming from a bar next to the hotel, I asked for a quiet room but it was far from quiet. The staff told us there is a party every friday at that bar... So they knew about the music. We got a smaller room which was less beautiful (there were no other rooms available). There was no king size bed, the a/c wasn't working, the kettle was leaking, safe wasn't working and housekeeping took a roomkey without any notification... At the checkout I asked for a compensation to drive out for free instead of paying for the parking. I wanted to point out all the things that went wrong, but the 'boy' at the desk didn't want to listen, he was just rude. After a few arguments he took the parking ticket, swiped it and smashed it back on the desk and told us to 'leave now'. Very, very rude. 'sorry for the inconvenience' isn't in his vocubalary...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barceló Hamburg
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it is really valuable for us. We are known for having guest-oriented personnel who are welcoming at all times and are fully aware that their interactions with our guests have an enormous impact on the overall holiday experience in our hotels. Therefore, we are very sorry to read your comments on the service you received and commit to addressing any situation that does not follow this goal of making sure our guests feel welcome and looked after at all times. On the other hand, we do our best to create a quiet and relaxing environment for all our guests and allocate them according to their preferences, so we regret if you were disturbed by external factors that are out of our control. Last but not least, we have informed our maintenance department, so they can check the imperfections you describe. Per standard, our rooms are double checked prior to every arrival, by maintenance and by housekeeping, and we apologize if we felt short this time. We will reinforce the procedures with the team, so we make sure it does not happen again in the near future. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity of providing you with an improved stay in future. Best regards, Lola Miranda Cuyás, Deputy Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
msvanh156555 wrote a review Nov. 2022
1 contribution
We have stayed many different hotels in Hamborg and also used this years ago, not the best anymore. We arrived and the bathroom zink was not working and water was running on the floor. Check out was not good
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barceló Hamburg
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are concerned to read your disappointment with the Hotel and the service provided. According to our standards, every room is supervised twice, by housekeeping and maintenance, before any guest stays in. As per your comments, we realize we fall short this time, so we have already reported the departments involved to reinforce the procedure and make sure it does not happen again in the future. Regarding the team, we will continue to work towards modifying this perception through our efforts and service-minded spirit. We hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Lola Miranda Cuyás, Deputy Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lajmidk wrote a review Nov. 2022
Aarhus, Denmark1 contribution
Expensive hotel not good for wheelchairs - Terrible beds - terrible cleaning - terrible parking (25 euro pr day) the parking was so little space that we gave up driving! Broken closet -no help from the staff - 3 days without clean glasses in the room :-( .-(
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barceló Hamburg
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We were concerned by how you felt while staying with us; your comments do not reflect the usual experience we strive to ensure for our guests. Please rest assured that your review will be shared with our heads of department for their information and so that it can be addressed. We are sincerely sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with the cleaning of your room, at Barceló we are fully aware that hygiene and cleanliness are aspects of major importance for our guests to feel 100% comfortable in our hotels. On a future occasion please do not hesitate to inform our reception of any concerns, our team will promptly address the issue and take action in any situation that does not adhere to our established standards. Finally, we are pleased that you had a great stay and appreciated our strategic location. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Sascha Füchtner, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rupinderl0tay wrote a review Nov. 2022
1 contribution
Great hotel and has everything you need. Was around the corner from office and lots of shops. Rooms were good size, neat and tidy. The breakfast times were great and enabled me to have a lie in on the weekend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barceló Hamburg
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Rupinderl, Thank you for your positive feedback. Our hotel aims to provide a truly memorable experience, and it seems we were able to do just that. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best regards, Sascha Füchtner, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simen wrote a review Nov. 2022
Copenhagen, Denmark1472 contributions395 helpful votes
The location of the hotel is perfect. Almost next to the train station and within walking-distance of the city center. Quiet area. We had a superior room which was very nice. We did not have breakfast at the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barceló Hamburg
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad to know you had a great experience with us! We would like to take this opportunity to express our thanks for your kind words about the prime location we enjoy and the transport options nearby. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best wishes, Sascha Füchtner, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LoveToTravelGal wrote a review Nov. 2022
Ventnor City, New Jersey724 contributions261 helpful votes
We chose the Barcelo for the central location and proximity to the train station.We were in town to visit family who live in the suburbs of Hamburg and we were within a short walk to the station. Also we were within walking distance to many of the historical attractions and also shopping areas. The hotel had good reviews on tripadvisor and also the price was within our budget. I want to say when we entered our room we really thought that we we given the wrong room. It was a beautifully modern corner room with an outdoor terrace with a view of the churches of Hamburg. We were not expecting such a wonderful room.I think room #806 must be the best room in the hotel. Everyone we had interaction with from the front desk staff to the breakfast room staff were very friendly & helpful. I would definitely recommend the Barcelo and stay here again if I return to Hamburg.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room 806 in our opinion must be the best room in the hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barceló Hamburg
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is truly rewarding to know that we were able to meet your expectations. Our dedicated team members work hard to ensure that every guest has a comfortable and memorable stay, and your kind comments will encourage us to continue with our efforts. It is also a pleasure to know that our strategic location helped make your stay enjoyable. Thank you again. The entire team look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit. Kind regards, Sascha Füchtner, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$121 - US$218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GermanyHamburgHamburg-Altstadt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
193
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Barcelo Hamburg - UPDATED 2022 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Germany) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Barceló Hamburg
Which popular attractions are close to Barceló Hamburg?
Nearby attractions include Kunsthalle Hamburg (0.2 km), Binnenalster (0.5 km), and Moenckebergstrasse Shopping (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Barceló Hamburg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Barceló Hamburg?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Barceló Hamburg?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Barceló Hamburg?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Barceló Hamburg?
Conveniently located restaurants include SuRolls, Quan Do, and Apples Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Barceló Hamburg?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Barceló Hamburg located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Hamburg.
Are any cleaning services offered at Barceló Hamburg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Barceló Hamburg offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Barceló Hamburg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.