We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Movenpick Hotel Hamburg

Show Prices
#13 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,904 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 413: English reviews
Start your review of Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice location - good service - very good beds. Excellent morning bucket - all what you need ..... :-) It has been a perfect stay - a bit too bad that the Marathon bucket should destroy the overall impression

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank donpP695ZU
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great location, plenty to do and see in Sternschanze itself whilst also being right next to Sternschanze S and U Bahn station if you do wish to visit other districts of Hamburg. The hotel itself is luxurious despite the price, the staff are polite and welcoming and we found no problems with regards to noise or our comfort. A small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ben C
MoevenpickHamburg, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Ben, Thank you very much for oyur stay with us at our historical water tower and your time to give us a review about it. It is always very important for us. We are very glad that you liked the atmosphere of our hotel. We would love to welcome yo back soon again. Best regards, Your Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg...

Sandnes, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfortable, clean well situated hotel in Hamburg. Excellent breakfast buffet to cover all tastes. Special mention to the hotel porter from Argentina who scores 10 out 0f 10 for his service and friendliness :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
MoevenpickHamburg, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Keith, Thank you very much for your stay with us and your time to give us a review. We are very glad that you liked the atmosphere of our historical water tower. We will let our colleague Gustavo know about your compliments. We would love to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Your Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a nice hotel! Near the subway (1 or 2 min walk). And near a lot of touristic places by the subway. The service is very nice and they will try to help you in everything they can. The rooms are clean and modern. I do recommend this hotel!

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gio474
MoevenpickHamburg, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your stay with us at our historical water tower. We are very happy that oyu recomment our hotel and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon again. Best regards, Your Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not here for the beds, unfortunately, but the experience and the environment of the Moevenpick certainly enhances a great workshop experience. Very well looked after by the staff from the outset. Extra equipment was no problem at all. Arrive at the front entrance and there is a very impressive conveyor walkway that takes you up to reception. Expertly served. From...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod H
MoevenpickHamburg, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your visit at our historical water tower. We are very glad that you had a comfortable stay with us and a successfull meeting. We would love to welcome you back soon again. Best regards, Your Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a junior suite on the 15th floor. The windows are locked down and the air conditioning is a joke, it doesn't work. A real shame because the staff are great, the service is great as is the food. I stay here every year in April hoping the temperature in the rooms will improve. It never does. Four nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harley_Wino
MoevenpickHamburg, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your that you choose us for your stay in Hamburg and your time to give us a review about your stay. We are very sorry that your air condition did not work that well. Please be sure that this is not our standard and we will talk about it with our colleagues. We...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a superior room, as I wanted a view. After I was not fully happy with the room I received, I went back to see if another room was available. I had originally asked for a quiet room,away from the elevator. I now asked if they had a room with 3 instead of 2 windows. As it is in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Canis_Family
MoevenpickHamburg, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your stay with us at our historical water tower. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you've suffered at the beginning of your stay. It was our pleasure to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We hope to welcome you back soon! Best regards, Your Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

nice luxurious hotel in the old watertower, very good breakfast with a glass of sekt if you wish. I would surely recommend it. The neighborhood Sternschanze has a lot of nice restaurants and bars and small shops. Hamburg is a city with very different characters in different neighborhoods.

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 230heleenr
MoevenpickHamburg, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for this review about your stay with us. We are very glad that you liked the atmosphere of our historical water tower. We would love to welcome you back soon. Best regars, Your Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg Team

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really liked staying at this hotel. Although only for 1 night, I felt it was a very pleasant place to be. I felt like I was walking inside a cave in the facilites which was really nice. Only downside is the parking facilites which are not that great.

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elisabethv481
MoevenpickHamburg, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Elisabeth, Thank oyu very much for oyur time to give us a reviwer about your stay with us. We are very glad that you liked the atmosphere of our historical water tower. Of course you have the opportunity to park your car in our garage. We would love to welcome you back soon again. Best regards, your Mövenpick Hotel...

Maureen Phillips
Reviewed 21 March 2017

A refurbished waterpower. Close to shops, restaurants and the train - across the street. Very convenient. I stayed for 14 nights on business. It’s interesting and at the same time- a bit grim. The lobby with the foghorn and the dripping water sound effect, is just depressing. The building is impressive and beautiful and it really feels like a missed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tojopop
MoevenpickHamburg, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your time, to give us a review about your say with us at our historical water tower. We are very sorry hat our closet where too small to store all your clothes, we hope you liked our Junior Suite anyway. Please be sure that it is not our standard not to take care...

754 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (418)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (182)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (310)
Viewed
Amenities (57)
Viewed
Classic Room (41)
Viewed
Junior Suite (58)
Viewed
Premium Room (51)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#9 of 318 in Hamburg
1,330 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#17 of 318 in Hamburg
1,382 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 318 in Hamburg
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Moevenpick Restaurant
Moevenpick Restaurant
Cuisines: European, Central European, German, Seafood
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unique for it being built into a former water tower, the Movenpick Hotel Hamburg stands as a trendy and modern hotel in the Sternschanzenpark area. The hotel offers 226 rooms, a Movenpick hotel restaurant and the Lifestyle Bar "Cave". 13 Conference and meeting rooms as well as a fitness and sauna area are also available.The hotel's location is ideal for both business travelers and visitors. Only a few steps away, the metro brings you to wherever you'd like to go. The fairgrounds and Congress Centre Hamburg are all within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Hamburg

Address: Sternschanze 6, 20357 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Sternschanze
Price Range: $160 - $563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Moevenpick Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Movenpick Hotel Hamburg staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Rangiora, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Movenpick Hotel Hamburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a suite if there are 2 of you.”
tojopop, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want a room with a nice view of Hamburg, the 11th and 12th floor is perfect”
Y7331SSjohnj, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms all seem similar, obviously the higher up the better the view”
  • View from my room looking SW towards the Sternschanze neighborhood
D8060QMjasonr, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you can afford it get a suite”
redenuk, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room as high as possible, to get the best view over Hamburg”
Williamaeroe, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5