Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel

Traveller (155)
Room & Suite (86)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, May 4
C$197
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#29 of 334 hotels in Hamburg
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Set in the Portugese Quarter with its many shops and restaurants, these elegant apartments are just a 5-minute walk from Hamburg Harbour. They include fully equipped kitchenettes, flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. The Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel offers stylish, non-smoking apartments with a spacious work area and living room with sofas. The kitchenettes include a dishwasher and a Nespresso coffee machine, and luxury toiletries are provided. Guests can prepare their own meals and there is a supermarket just a 1-minute walk away. There are many cafes and bars in the area. Landungsbrucken Underground and S-Bahn Station is a 5-minute walk away, providing excellent connections to all parts of the city. Hamburg Neustadt is a great choice for travellers interested in restaurants, shopping and city walks. This is our guests' favourite part of Hamburg, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Hamburg! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Highchairs available
Strollers
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Dry cleaning
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Umbrella
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Ditmar-Koel-Str. 1, 20459 Hamburg Germany
Name/address in local language
823Reviews2Q+A35Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 422
  • 324
  • 60
  • 11
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TravellingWizard wrote a review Jan 2020
Bengaluru, India271 contributions70 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our 2nd stay here at Hans Clipper and we thoroughly enjoyed the maisonette apartment with balcony. The kitchen has enough space to move about unlike most other serviced apartments in Europe. The location is excellent and major tourist attractions like Miniatur Wonderland, Maritime Museum, St. Pauli's, St. Michael's etc. are just a few minutes walk away. Although there is no restaurant on the premises for breakfast, you get coupons to a nearby Portuguese coffee shop and you can redeem these any time of the day. But of course, they charge 10 euros per coupon. There is a REWE supermarket just behind the property but beware that it's closed on Sundays.

Landungsbrücken train station is just down the road (0.5 km) and another 2 minutes walk will get you to the ferry point. Hamburg Hauptbahnoff (main train station) and airport are 15 and 30 minutes away and a taxi will cost 12 and 30 euros respectively.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ClipperTeam, Management Trainee at Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel
Responded Jan 23, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your stay with us at the Hanse Clipper Haus. We are pleased that you have chosen our house as your accommodation for your stay in Hamburg and were happy to be your host. Above all, we thank you for taking the time after your stay to reflect and evaluate our house and our team so thoroughly. Your feedback is an important feedback for us, with which we want to develop our house continuously. It is nice to hear that our central location has remained in such good memory. We hope you have taken full advantage of the central location and the walking distance to explore the surroundings to your complete satisfaction. Rest assured that we are always open to your wishes and suggestions. Feel free to contact us at any time! We hope you had an eventful and unforgettable time in Hamburg and look forward to welcoming you again next time. See you next time! We are looking forward to meet you! With kind regards Your Hanse Clipper Haus
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
yourgas wrote a review Dec 2012
Falmouth, Massachusetts55 contributions51 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Urban architectural coupling of glass with steel in down town Hamburg, this lofty place is a true gem. As soon as you walk in the room you get this home city feeling only movies can give you.

Two-story unified apartments with interior staircase leading to the second floor which pertrudes like a balcony inside the room. Bathroom is upstairs right next to the bed featuring a spacious tub- gotta love that.

A wall sized paneled window runs along both floors making the outside visible from any point in this room. Stereo system, flat panel, baroque styled couch with warm lighting all add in making the room unique. Kitchen is small but practical and parking is available by online reservation.

It's very close to the subway, various different restaurants types and cafes. Still, there is cafe downstairs where basic breakfast can be purchased.

The staff is friendly and the neighborhood fairly quiet for its location.

In January 2013 I'll be going there for the 5th time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go for the ''Maisonette Apartments'' they are 2 storie loft style
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daviestarna wrote a review Nov 2019
Victoria, Australia297 contributions94 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 nights and were very happy with our apartment! So nice to have space to move in. Apartment was spotless and all crockery etc provided were in good condition. Location was good, easy walk to main square and waterfront! Definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ClipperTeam, Management Trainee at Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel
Responded Dec 2, 2019
Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you again for your stay at the Hanse Clipper Haus. We were very pleased to welcome you as our guest. We are especially pleased that you took the time after your stay to share our house and your impressions, so that we can constantly work on our concept! Thank you for rating us 80%. Your evaluation is a great praise for our team and the everyday work, which I will gladly pass on to the team. During your next visit, we will also be open to your wishes and suggestions so that you can feel completely at home next time. We hope you had an eventful and unforgettable time and will be happy to come back again! Already today the whole team is looking forward to seeing you again! Best regards, Your Hanse Clipper Haus Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zebratour2 wrote a review Feb 2020
39 contributions49 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
A hotel apartment in need of a coat of paint and an upgrade of the decor. Functional and very clean, but lacking in charm. Situated in a quiet residential area close to the harbour close to the Hamurg city centre
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Ziemann, Geschäftsführer at Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel
Responded Feb 23, 2020
Dear guest, We would like to thank you once again for choosing our house for your last visit to Hamburg. We are particularly grateful for reviews, a feedback like yours is very important for us, because only in this way can we develop our house steadily. The wishes of our guests are a matter of the heart, which is why we will have an open ear for your wishes at your next visit! Already today, the entire team is looking forward to your next stay in our boardinghouse. Until then remain with kind regards Your Hanse Clipper Haus Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter Eugen C wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff in the office does not care at all about their customers. They are arrogant not helpfull.

The hotel smells really bad of paint and restauration.

We will never stay here again and recommend that you find another hotel.

There are plenny of hotels to chose from.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Ziemann, General Manager at Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel
Responded Jan 21, 2024
Dear guest We would like to thank you for your stay and for your subsequent feedback. This is always important to us, as it is the only way we can constantly improve. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you had a bad impression. As January is usually the busiest time of year, many businesses have to carry out necessary work during this period, such as us having to paint some areas. As soon as this work is done, the smell will be gone. We particularly regret the impression of our colleagues on site, as they are normally all very helpful and the well-being of our guests is very important to them. It would be nice to welcome you again to give you a second and better impression. Yours sincerely Your Clipper Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave K wrote a review Jul 2013
Breda, The Netherlands2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The appartments are situated very good and are clean. However we travel a lot and we can not advise these appartments to people who travel with a baby or a child. With big windows, no airco and a noise street it becomes a sauna very quick if the weather is good. If you close the curtains it isn't dark and the bathroom is too small for a baby bed. Thereby the beds are very small and wifi and parking cost you a lot of money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RJButt wrote a review Nov 2006
Sydney AU26 contributions61 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My German partner and I spent 4 nights in this apartment hotel in Hamburg in Oct 06.

It is in a strange but good location--sort of between the harbour and the city. The area itself is lively and features a lot of Spanish and Portugese bars and restaurants.

Well run but a little run down. Designed for business people. Near the R'bahn if that is your thing (I found it terrible).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2006
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cofi01 wrote a review Nov 2019
Caernarfon, United Kingdom85 contributions73 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 5 nights during a break in Hamburg. The hotel is well located in a fairly quiet area. Rooms are spacious and well-equipped, although in need of some redecoration (which I understand is planned for the new year). The only thing I found a little odd was that the rooms have a kitchenette but no dish cloths or tea towels were provided.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ClipperTeam, Management Trainee at Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel
Responded Dec 2, 2019
Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you again for your stay at the Hanse Clipper Haus. We were very pleased to welcome you as our guest. We are especially pleased that you took the time after your stay to share our house and your impressions, so that we can constantly work on our concept! Thank you for rating us 80%. Your evaluation is a great praise for our team and the everyday work, which I will gladly pass on to the team. During your next visit, we will also be open to your wishes and suggestions so that you can feel completely at home next time. We hope you had an eventful and unforgettable time and will be happy to come back again! Already today the whole team is looking forward to seeing you again! Best regards, Your Hanse Clipper Haus Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
T d wrote a review Sep 2019
London, United Kingdom127 contributions145 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Second stay. Not disappointed.
Fantastic place, excellent value for money.
these serviced apartments are clean, airy, comfortable, spacious and extremely looked after.
Very convenient for public transport (river bus & train).
The accommodation is even better than on their publicity material!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ClipperTeam, Management Trainee at Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel
Responded Dec 23, 2019
Dear guest, First of all, we would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for staying with us. We are very pleased that you have chosen our house for your time in Hamburg. We were especially pleased with your evaluation and your valuable feedback, which always helps us to further develop our concept in order to offer our guests an even more pleasant stay. It is a great honour for us that you were 100% satisfied. I am very happy to pass this compliment on to the whole team. We are pleased that our house, the apartments and the location appealed to you and that you felt so comfortable with us. We hope you had an eventful and unforgettable time in Hamburg and would be pleased to be your hosts again during your next visit to Hamburg. We hope to see you again soon! Your Hanse Clipper Haus Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma08_10 wrote a review Dec 2018
Portchester, United Kingdom25 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My son and I stayed two nights here and from the moment we arrived we were comfortable and happy.

The reception staff are brilliant and so helpful. We arrived 4 hours before check in so they took our bags so we could go and explore the city. That’s standard but they also took my number so they could call me if they were able to have the room ready for us to check in early. Great service all round.

When we entered the room we were greeted with soft ambient music playing which made the room so welcoming! The room itself was beautiful, clean and had everything we needed. The beds were so comfy as was the sofa. The bathroom was spacious and the addition of Rituals bath products was an extra treat for me!!

For us the location was bang in the middle of everything we wanted to visit and short walks. If you are eating out it is located in the Portuguese quarter and the road is full of restaurants.

I can honestly say it was the most comfortable place I have ever stayed and can’t wait to come back again. We love Hamburg so I know we will be back and without doubt I will book Hanse Clipper Haus.

Thank you to all the wonderful staff there.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ClipperTeam, Leiter Front Office at Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel
Responded Jan 18, 2019
Dear guest, we are overwhelmed by this wonderful evaluation and would like to thank you very much for this warm words. It has been a great pleasure for us to welcome you and your son to the Hanse Clipper Haus in Hamburg. We are very pleased that you had a wonderful time with us. From the bottom of our hearts we wish you and your son all the best. We are looking forward to welcome you again. With Kind Regards Your Hanse Clipper Haus Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hillbillz49 asked a question Nov 2014
London, England, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
How do I get from the main station to the hotel?
Answer from ClipperTeam
Hamburg, Germany14 contributions
Dear Hillbillz49, thank you for your request. You take from the trainstation Hauptbahnhof every S-Train (overground) in direction to Alexanderplatz, your Station is Friedrichstraße. From the Station Friedrichstraße is this a 5 minutes walk to our apartmenthouse in direction to Französische Straße. We look forward to welcome you and you wish a good journey. Kind regards, Katja Reich, Teamleader Front Office
kp1129 wrote a tip Jan 2024
York, United Kingdom5 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use the machine that doesn’t look like a card device to key code the room key."
Read full review
Sunsetbeach08 wrote a tip Sep 2018
Manchester, United Kingdom192 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask if they have rooms not facing on to the main street."
Read full review
Blozwell wrote a tip Aug 2018
Manchester, United Kingdom39 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"High floor opposite the church for great views."
Read full review
Bruni1941 wrote a tip Dec 2017
Adelaide, Australia126 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"4th floor 405 was very quiet not much of a view."
Read full review
juergen p wrote a tip Oct 2017
Thailand2,184 contributions249 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"anything what you need...."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hamburg area.
PRICE RANGE
C$211 - C$355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hanse clipper haus hotel hamburg, hanse clipper haus hamburg
LOCATION
GermanyHamburgNeustadt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel
Which popular attractions are close to Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel?
Nearby attractions include Hidden in Hamburg (0.4 km), St. Michael's Church (0.3 km), and Rickmer Rickmers (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, dry cleaning, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
Is parking available at Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ola Lisboa, L'Ancora, and Panthera Rodizio.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alter Elbtunnel (0.7 km), St Nikolai Memorial (0.9 km), and Altona City Hall (2.8 km).
All Hamburg HotelsHamburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HamburgHotels near Clipper Boardinghouse Hamburg-Michel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars