We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel

Show Prices
#27 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 502: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
 Click to rate
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent two nights here, it is 1st class all the way, the staff were friendly and helpful, Our room was mid size with tea making facilities, the bed was comfortable and lovely crisp white bed linen, a powerful shower with toiletries our luggage was carried up to our room by a pleasant gentleman. Breakfast was lovely, but there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne J S
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Christoph_Fischenich, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Anne J S, Thank you for choosing Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne and for your sharing your fantastic comment on the occasion of your recent stay. I am thrilled to learn that we fulfilled our aim to anticipate your needs and that you esteemed our amenities and thoughtful details. My colleagues are happy that you praised their service from...

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is a bit old looking and probably needs a good refresh. I wouldn't say it was a 5 star. Don't be fooled by the "by Sofitel". The beds were typical Germany comfortableness, meaning not really comfortable at all and definiitely not Sofitel beds. Reception staff could also be friendlier. However: - The spa area is very clean -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luxxie1983
Christoph_Fischenich, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Luxxie1983, Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your comment. I am delighted to learn that you had a nice stay. On the other hand I regret that you did not like our beds that much. We will discuss your comment about that with the management. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was a great choice for us. Beside the Cathedral and very close to shops and restaurants, an ideal location to explore the city. The breakfast was excellent. The hotel staff made all the difference - Friendly, welcoming, professional and knowledgable, we really enjoyed staying at this Hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4flyingkiwi
Christoph_Fischenich, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear 4flyingkiwi, Thank you for sharing your impressions on your stay at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne. I am thrilled to learn that we have met your expectations and that you enjoyed your time in Cologne. Your praise is well received and I am happy that you appreciated the colleagues’ service from the heart. We are looking forward to your...

Iowa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in town for the weekend and the location of this hotel is ideal for exploring the city. It practically is adjacent to the Cathedral and riverfront. It is very short walk to train station, shopping, pubs, and many restaurants. It had all the amenities of a world class hotel –great spa, restaurant on premise, etc but the service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TMcGuire_95
Christoph_Fischenich, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear TMcGuire_95, Thank you for choosing Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne and for your sharing your fantastic comment on the occasion of your recent stay. I am thrilled to learn that we fulfilled our aim to anticipate your needs and that you esteemed our amenities and thoughtful details. My colleagues are happy that you praised their service from the heart....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is amazing in terms of location. It is literally right next to the cathedral and 3 minutes walking distance from the central train station. It is only 2 minutes away from Heaumarkt Square and tourist information. Apart from the location it is really clean and the breakfast is quite nice and satisfying.(having maple syrup earned an extra point...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AYSIN S
Christoph_Fischenich, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear AYSIN S, Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your comment. I am delighted to learn that you had a nice stay. On the other hand I regret that you did not like our rooms that much. We will discuss your comment about that with the management. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming...

London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel with amazing location for Christmas markets, cathedral and station. Good value for money, clean and very helpful concierge and reception. You couldn't ask for more really...would definately recommend for a weekend break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CSIMaz
Christoph_Fischenich, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear CSIMaz, Many thanks for sharing your fantastic comment on the occasion of your recent stay at our hotel. I am thrilled to learn that we fulfilled our aim to anticipate your needs and that you esteemed our amenities and thoughtful details. My colleagues are happy that you praised their service from the heart. We hope to have the pleasure...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for only one night, but would definitely return. Rooms were small, but we only were in there to sleep. Just a few minutes' walk from the Dom & Romanisches Museum. Breakfast was better than many, but their dinner recommendation ( to walk down to the row of restaurants by the river) left much to be desired. Wish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LizardSC
Christoph_Fischenich, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear LizardSC, Many thanks for sharing your fantastic comment on the occasion of your recent stay at our hotel. I am thrilled to learn that you like our great location and that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am pretty sure during your next stay our concierges will have some nice recommendations for you to go for. We...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is right downtown, by the Phillharmonie, Cathedral and all the major sights in the compact downtown area. On the downside, the rooms are small. I had no stand where I could unpack my suitcase. Since there is no space in front of the bed, the small tv is off to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiddleman_12
Christoph_Fischenich, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear fiddleman_12, Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at the Mondial am Dom Cologne with TripAdvisor readers. I am very sorry that your stay was not entirely to your satisfaction. I sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to prove our hospitality and hope to be able and welcome you back to the Mondial am Dom...

Grimsby, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have been to Cologne many times. I try not to stay in the same hotel when I visit. Each time I visited, I always wanted to try this hotel, but price was always an issue. Manage to get a fair deal this time around. Check in was quick, the room small, but adequate by European standard. Rooms starting to show...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn A
Christoph_Fischenich, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Glenn A, Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at the Mondial am Dom Cologne. I am very sorry that your stay was not entirely to your satisfaction. I sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to prove our hospitality and hope to be able and welcome you back to the Mondial am Dom Cologne some...

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

I am a regular visitor to Cologne (20+ times per year) but this was my first stay at this particular hotel. Located very close to the Dom Cathedral, bang in the middle of the old city, the Mondial ( seems to be known as M Gallery to some) is well positioned. Big underground car parking, easy access to the Rail...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
Christoph_Fischenich, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Stuart B, Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at the Mondial am Dom Cologne with TripAdvisor readers. I am very sorry that your stay was not entirely to your satisfaction. I sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to prove our hospitality and hope to be able and welcome you back to the Mondial am...

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (224)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (97)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 262 in Cologne
1,147 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 262 in Cologne
1,553 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#28 of 262 in Cologne
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel is located in the heart of the old town. Cologne Cathedral, the Rhine, the exhibition center, the shopping streets, a host of museums and other attractions are only a stone's throw away. The hotel has 203 elegant rooms, including 6 Junior Suites, 5 meeting rooms and a ballroom (1981 sq. ft. [184 sq. m]). In the "Reissdorf im Mondial" you can enjoy regional dishes and draft beer in the setting of a modern, Cologne brewery with a spectacular view of the cathedral. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Kurt-Hackenberg-Platz 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel )
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Price Range: $175 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cologne
Accor Cologne Mondial Am Dom
Cologne Sofitel
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cologne
#17 Family Hotel in Cologne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#22 Business Hotel in Cologne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had a view internally so only rooms across from me, I would ask for a view of the Dom but it may be extra. I shoud've asked”
 of 5 bubbles TMcGuire_95, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask a room facing the church / dome”
 of 5 bubbles SamiS910, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a view of the Cathedral. You won't be disappointed!”
 of 5 bubbles Antonia2312, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room 327 for smoking”
 of 5 bubbles ramdrd, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms face an internal space that has some greenery, or the exterior. Internal are likely quieter, external rooms will have views.”
 of 5 bubbles TallTexan75229, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5